We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel booked as part of our Viking River Cruise, absolutely excellent. Spent 3 nights there, wish we'd had longer. Took us 'til 3rd night to find pedestrian area of city which was buzzing. Great indoor flea market which was much more interesting than all the expensive top class car showrooms etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us!

We're glad to hear that you had such a good time.

Hopefully we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    385
    61
    14
    7
See reviews for
126
292
73
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We checked in at this hotel after our cruise and what a surprise. We had five star service on the cruise and it continued at the Regent Beijing. The lobby is so beautiful and will knock your socks off. If you even look like you have a question or need something, an employee will be there to assist you. We entered our Executive Level room and again, another wow. All of the things you would expect in a five star- big flat screen, high quality sheets and towels, unreal décor, fridge with some free beer and stuff…on an on. In the morning you can use the Executive Level on Floor 17 for breakfast which is made to order or go downstairs for the buffet. It is fantastic and no complaints. In the evening from 6:00 to 8:00 pm there are free cocktails and food up there. All top quality liquor, wine and beer.

Great coffee at the hotel, however, there is a Starbucks next door and many restaurants within walking distance. We are from Los Angeles area and basically, you are in the “Beverly Hills” area of Beijing with all high end restaurants and shops. You are also close to the attractions that you are there to see or if on business, probably the businesses are in the local area.

Recommendation:

If you want a fantastic tour of the sites like the Great Wall, Tianemen Square, etc, use China Odyssey Tours – they are a five star operation and check out their 1,000 five star reviews on Trip Advisor. We could not say enough good about them as they are perfect.

Get the Executive Level package for a little more. You can store your luggage for no charge if you are going on a tour to another city and coming back in a few days and staying with them again, which is very convenient.

Know your drink prices at high end places near the hotel prior to ordering-a friend got stung for $40 US for a glass of Champaign at Morton’s Steak House next door!

Room Tip: Get the Executive Level package
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to share your recent experience with us!

We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and took full advantage of our Regent Club Lounge. We have shared your compliments with our entire team to thank them for their continuous efforts as they are the ones who make it all possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again to the Regent Beijing when your travels bring you next to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Perfect location especially if you want to buy a Bentley - there is a dealership right in the hotel. Large room, beautiful bathroom with glass wall into bedroom. Morton's and Lei Garden (best dim sum in a China) restaurants are right in the hotel. There is also a Chinese and Thai restaurant as well as a lovely breakfast buffet. Malls and shopping right there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us!

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the exquisite dim sum at Lei Garden.

Just to clarify a few points, we do not have a Thai restaurant in the hotel, although one is located in Jinbao Place just across the street. And whilst there are obviously various Chinese restaurants in the vicinity, Lei Garden is in fact our Chinese restaurant serving mostly Cantonese specialties. And although buying a Rolls Royce or a Bentley in the hotel lobby will not be possible anymore, it will soon be possible for you to buy an Aston Martin. More a matter of personal taste I assume...

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon once again at the Regent Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Unbelievably comfortable rooms - everything worked perfectly and felt very luxurious. The location is great. The staff make the place, however. They are incredibly thoughtful and helpful and definitely go out of their way to make your stay a wonderful experience. Be sure to make a reservation that includes breakfast - they accommodate all tastes and the food is scrumptious. The desserts in the cafe are yummy, too. But the staff made it one of the best places I've stayed in a very long time.

Room Tip: I booked through a travel agent, so I paid full price, but if you book through a service like expedi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share some of your thoughts on your recent stay with us!

We are delighted to hear we have once again delivered on our promise and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our team made it all the more memorable. We have shared your comments with our entire team to thank them for their ongoing efforts.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon to the Regent Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location is fantastic. The staff are super friendly. The rooms and the bathrooms are spacious and the furniture looks great and the many drawers and storage space in the room. The breakfast was very good and the service top notch. Would stay there next time in Beijing, no question!

Room Tip: Try to grab a drink or two at the lobby bar and listen to a very good live piano player at the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your opinion on your recent experience at the Regent Beijing!

We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of the vicinity to the many local attractions. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back once again soon on your next visit to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really liked the central location of this nicely maintained hotel. It's an easy walk to the famous night food markets, a wide variety of shopping, and the Forbidden City. We appreciated the daily bottled water, the electrical outlet that fit our American gadgets, refreshed linens, adequate space and storage, and a restaurant buffet with plenty of choices. The Morton's inside the hotel has great cheeseburgers, too! The hotel arranged our limo to the airport when we departed and it went without a hitch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time I stayed in the hotel for business purpose. But the first time was more impressive.

The hotel location is the best highlight, just a few minutes walk to Beijing famous Wangfujing area, 15 minutes drive the Chaoyang business district, a Starbucks is just nextby.

For every stay, I have to say that the hotel lobby is stunning. It offers the hotel style I like the most, modern hotel charmingly mixed with Chinese culture. The lobby lounge is very bright, overlooking to its own garden and I was always impressed for every time staying there, they offers a lot of space to get as much natural light in the most expensive land area of Beijing central. There are also some very old style Beijing furniture are displaying at the lobby, the big square stone wit flowing water on in the center of the hotel. It is a harmony combination, impressive for every single guests.

The room is spacious with elegant design. Compare with the last year stay, I found that some wrinkles, the lacquer tissue box and remote holder need to be replace. It looked old and not at good condition for me. I did not have chance to use the TV but it seems small in comparison with the room in total. The view of the room is awesome. One thing needs to be mentioned here, the room offers a very nice bathtube and to be honest it was very enjoyable for me.

The hotel staffs speak a lovely English and speedy attend to my requests. It took a few minutes for check in and check out. Actually, I though they youngerized the FO staffs. The old ones I met last year actually catered the service better for me, escorted me from me room downstair to the hotel entrance to talk with the taxi driver to bring me to a local place. Wow, it was so touching. Also, I saw her quietly picked something small piece of paper on the floor and moved to the trash. The new younger staffs I met this year are more speedy but I prefer the old ones more.

One more thing, the hotel executive lounge and benefits deserved for every single buck I spent. The alfresco lounge view is absolutely awesome where you can see both the old and the new things blended in a foggy, sunny or city lights at dawn. They serve very finest wines and champagnes, quality breakfast with a la cart menu, even I could order a beefsteak. But I was more on the main restaurant since I really fancy for dimsum and this hotels has the best dimsum counter ever time; very satisfied for breakfast time.

A very good hotel in general and it could be better with some small change. Recommend for both leisure and business purposes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience on your return stay with us.

We were glad that you generally enjoyed your stay here with us and have shared your compliments with both our teams to thank them for their efforts.

We are currently refurbishing the tissue boxes and remote control holders in the room. I am sorry to hear that you had a room which we haven't yet managed to get to yet. This is an ongoing process and we expect to have finished all the rooms shortly.

We would like to thank you as well for your loyalty and choosing to stay with us every time you come to Beijing. We are very proud to be able to count you among our extended family of return guests and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: 99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#33 Family Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Business Hotel in Beijing
#235 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.