We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Save Saved
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 5,118 hotels in Beijing
sydney, aus
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel, enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst attending a conference. My Deluxe room was a good size, was well appointed and pleasantly furnished. Lots of complimentary bottled water was provided which was much appreciated. The bulk of staff speak some English but not all which was a bit of a challenge at times (my Mandarin needs work...) Some visitors may find breakfast a challenge, I found it best to stick to the Chinese breakfast - unsurprisingly this was better than the Western offer but may not suit all palates.

Yina on the Concierge desk was an absolute stand out. She really took the time to understand my needs and I had an exceptional day exploring Beijing as a result (armed with her hand drawn maps which were surprisingly accurate). She was a delight to deal with.

I'd absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to business and leisure travellers alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us!

We continuously strive to improve the levels of English spoken by our team through continuous English training courses taking place every week for different levels.

I have also shared your compliments with Yina to thank her for her ongoing hard work and efforts in assisting and delighting guests such as yourself.

We thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    346
    53
    9
    6
See reviews for
111
250
65
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Regent Beijing Hotel is an impressive and elegant five star hotel. We always felt comfortable and secure at this hotel. Of course, the service was outstanding, just as one would expect from a hotel of this class. Yet its rates were very reasonable. We took time planning this trip – our travel dates, the airline, the tour company, and the hotel we selected. Each of our selections turned out to be superb. The exquisite Regent Beijing Hotel is one of the finest luxury hotels in Beijing with its location is close to the Forbidden City (Palace Museum). It has been voted one of China’s top ten hotels. Its exterior is designed in a classic yet contemporary style, while inside it has just a touch of the oriental that gives it glamour. What’s more, were its gorgeous rooms that looked as if they were right out of some picturesque magazine of top hotels in the world. The first thing you notice upon entering is its spacious entry with the surrounding columns, and the artwork spread about you. You receive a wonderful greeting from all the staff from the bellmen to the registration desk to the bellboy. This always makes you feel more at home, especially when in a foreign country. Moreover, here you get great service as well. Service that is what we want most when we travel!

The food at the hotel was delicious. The Kiwi Collection (unrelated to the hotel) lists the hotel as one of the most popular culinary delights in the world, and they are right (http://www.kiwicollection.com/blog/top-10-culinary-hotels/8914). We ate at its new Morton’s Steakhouse, a U.S. favorite, which was great as usual. We were impressed not only the scrumptious food, but the great service at the restaurants as well. Try Lei Garden, its Michelin award winning and top Asian dining destination restaurant with its Cantonese style cuisine. It is described as “the dining hall of celebrities” because its accolades are all about the best in fine dining – not to be missed. Again service was the accent. We didn’t get a chance to eat at Daccapo, with its traditional Italian hospitality and contemporary Western cuisine.

By the way, they have a fabuluas indoor pool!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again when your travels bring you next to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very nice hotel. The rooms are big and comfortable, with great bathrooms and floor to ceiling windows with a view (in the hazy distance) of the Forbidden City. They also give plenty of free bottled water and an initial complimentary minibar.

One standout is the pool and gym. The indoor pool is huge in comparison to most hotels I have been to and lends itself to swimming. There is also a good jacuzzi, cold pool, sauna and steam room area in each changing room.

Location is also good with some restaurants within easy walking distance (see separate reviews for them).

Breakfast was included and was excellent.

There are a couple of negative points, though in reality they are only minor. One is the price of wine in the bar (and the inconsistent measurements), the second is that whilst we had a free minibar, it was not restocked (a bugbear of mine - you pay the same rate each night, therefore surely the minibar should be restocked each day?). However, if this is all there is to complain about the hotel is doing well!

Would consider staying here next time in Beijing (but as there a lot of good 5* hotels in the city, will depend what offer I can get).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sparing a moment of your time to share your thoughts no your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We were very glad to hear that have enjoyed your stay with us overall.

We have taken good note on the inconsistent measures served when ordering wine and have shared it with our Food and Beverage team so that they may brief their service team accordingly. The price of the wine however is at par with what other 5-star properties will charge in Beijing.

With regards to the minibar, you may replenish it daily if you wish to at an additional cost. For our guests staying 7 days or longer however, we do replenish it free of charge every 4 days.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon. Hopefully with clear blue skies so that you may see the Forbidden City in its full splendor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband saw the positive reviews and booked this hotel, we went for an upgraded room which includes an amazing buffet breakfast and access to the executive lounge.

The executive lounge gives you access to Internet facilities and free soft drinks. ALSO they have this thing called 'cocktail hour' where they serve hot and cold finger foods and an array of wonderful desserts. I have never seen such attention to detail, it really is an amazing experience!

Even if you don't upgrade to the executive suite just make sure you get the breakfast option -you will be soooo glad you did!

If you didn't know, the Hotel has a spa which is open until 1-2am, it is a 5* hotel so it's not cheap for a treatment but it's a nice treat (you are on holiday afterall!)

There are a few places to eat in the hotel but I would highly recommend the Tenderloin Steak -It still makes my mouth water thinking about it.

There is a McDonald's walking distance but from what I can remember, you an order McDonald's and KFC for delivery!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to hear that we delivered on our promise once again and that we may now consider you part of our extended family of repeat guests.

We most certainly also look forward to welcoming you back once again to the Regent Beijing soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My 3rd stay at this hotel. Love the rooms in the hotel - beds are good, big rooms, large comfy bath towels, plenty of room in the cabinets for the clothes.
Only down turn this time was the breakfast - it was good - that is not the issue. The issue is that it used to be much better!!! Seems like they have cut back on the breakfast, and also started to charge for it as extra. 3 years ago it was included in the rate, and had much more to offer.
Good taxi-service
We upgraded one day - which included for instance breakfast and access to the lounge. The lounge had free drinks and snacs from 6-8PM - this was ok, but we opted to not do the upgrade for the rest of our stay.
Did not try the spa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us and even more so for your continued trust in our hotel!

Our rates have indeed increased over the past three years, following the market trends for 5-star hotels in Beijing. To give our guests more flexibility on their choice, our lowest available rates do not include breakfast as we found that not all our guests need to have breakfast included in their room rate.

We have taken good note of your comments no the breakfast selection and have shared it with our culinary team. However, we have overall improved our breakfast selection and this has been reflected in the guest feedback we have been receiving lately.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again for a 4th visit when you return to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We actually had reservations at the Park Plaza, but on check in we were informed they were overbooked & were changing us to the Regent their sister hotel. We were a little upset, not knowing where or anything about the Regent. But then they walked us out the back door, across the alley & into this beautiful lobby. We were put into a room on the 7th floor w/a floor to ceiling window over-looking downtown Beijing. The hotel is a couple blocks from Wangfujing walking street & not far from Forbidden City. So it's a very convenient location. We upgraded our reservation to include breakfast, which was excellent. We really enjoyed our 1 night stay & would definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Beijing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Regent Beijing!

We were glad to hear that despite your initial surprise at the move, you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you would choose to stay with us on your next stay in Beijing.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I wouldnt really be able to tell you why this hotel and not some other. It is good enough, nothing to complain about, but at the same time nothing memorable about it. It seems there is a new trend or replicating hotels and if you visited one, you visited them all. This hotel is close to some shopping street, but in reality, there is nothing you would shop there, so I see no point in staying here and not anywhere else? It is also rather expensive, including outrageously expensive food and massage.

If you just walk towards the pedestrian shopping street, there is a very good restaurant called Peace hotel (yes, reads hotel but it is just a restaurant), it is the very first restaurant on the left hand side while you walk. The best Sichuan food we had so far.

If you came for the Great Wall and Forbidden City, you might as well stay anywhere reasonably close to Tien anmen square, where by the way, there is not much to do.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We were sorry to hear that although you had an enjoyable stay, you found no difference between our hotel and other similar hotels.

We continuously strive to differentiate ourselves from other hotels and strongly believe that our product is different from other 5-star hotels in the area. The contemporary Chinese decor of the rooms, the glass pane separating the bathroom from the room as well as the floor to ceiling windows are just some of the unique features of our guest rooms.

The Forbidden City is reputed to be one of Beijing's main tourist attractions due to its historical and cultural relevance and all the closest 5-star luxury hotels close to it are within the same area as our hotel. You will not find other hotels much closer than ours and certainly none other with a subway station within the same building.

We have also been hard at work at improving the selection of our restaurants with the addition of two internationally recognized restaurants such as Morton's and Lei Garden. Our all-day dining restaurant, Cafe 99, also offers a wide international variety and one can have a meal for about RMB 240. I'm afraid you will not find meals to be cheaper in any other international 5-star hotel in Beijing.

We do hope however that you will return to the Regent Beijing on your next stay so that we may show you that we are not just another 5-star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Family Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
#288 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.