We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Barbados
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a fabulous luxury hotel, located within walking distance of great international brands, excellent restaurants and an easy access to all of the Historic sites in beijing. Their concierge arranged all of our dining and their recommendations were excellent. they also arranged a car and guide to take us everywhere . she spoke excellent english and gave great overviews of our tours.we had just completed a 34 day cruise which ended in beijing. and the 4 days spent in beijing was the most pleasant. surprise as we had no expectations. we had a problem first day with the heat which made the room uncomfortable. no arguments they moved us immediately and upgraded us with a larger room and complimentary breakfast..Hotel pricey but well worth it ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sparing a moment of your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that we were a positive influence on your holiday as a whole! I have personally thanked our Concierge team for a job well done once again.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    358
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
118
265
68
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights on our first trip to Beijing. Hotel is located near several other luxury hotels in an affluent area of the city. There's a subway station adjacent to the hotel which makes it easy to get around town. Because we ate in Chinese restaurants for lunch whilst touring, we dined at the hotel restaurant in the evenings. They offer several western dishes, which makes for a nice break from Chinese fare. Service at the hotel was excellent. Rooms are large with floor to ceiling windows offering great views of Beijing life.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Regent Beijing and that we have once again delivered on our promise.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Review: Regent Beijing

I wrote a detailed review but somehow lost it when my hotel internet connection was lost, so here's trying again...

We spent three nights at the Regent Beijing in an executive room. We chose the executive room because we are two adults and a six year old, and the size of the room, the bed (superking?) and the availability of the executive lounge (complimentary breakfast; complimentary drinks and nibbles at various points in the day; complimentary alcohol-free drinks all day) make it a relatively economic proposition.

The staff were all pleasant, smiley and accommodating. In the lounge, most were attentive, especially with our daughter.

The indoor pool was a hit with our daughter. It was beautifully designed, with a cascading wall. Personally, I found it a little dark, but it was definitely spa-worthy. We didn't try the spa and fitness centre, but it looked inviting.

The weekend breakfast in the lounge (complimentary with an exec room) was a fabulous buffet with the possibility of eggs cooked to order. The dim sum were the best we have sampled anywhere on our trip thus far, and the other items were all fresh and beautifully displayed.

The bathrooms were Home & Garden magazine-worthy. The bed was uber-comfy. The room all looked and felt very clean. The only tweak I would have made from a design point of view would have been a mirror in the bedroom --- there is only one in the bathroom and at the front door.

Location was excellent.

We would definitely stay here again.

Now, for the areas of development...

* the standard of English among staff (and particularly those in the exec lounge) was not always what I would expect of a Western standard hotel.
* they offer complimentary shoe shine..but could not deliver. My daughter's shoes were scruffy and we needed them for the theatre so sent them out. They came back unpolished. We sent them out again, and one came back polished and the other with polish on it but not buffed. I think this is a training issue. They probably think they have to offer shoe shine as a 5 * hotel (and I think this is right) but they clearly haven't trained their staff.
* turn down was far too early .... as early as 330pm one day and 5pm another.

All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: See what the price differential is for an exec room with lounge access. Definitely excellent value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken good note of the constructive comments you made. I have shared these comments with our Regent Club Lounge Butlers as well as with our Housekeeping team and we have planned some additional shoe shining training.

Fluency in English is unfortunately a general issue in Beijing as it is not always easy to find staff with a good level of English. We are aware of it and have ongoing English training programs of different levels for all of our staff. The improvement is constant but also takes time.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Beijing for the first three nights of a recent mini tour around China. It would have been four, but our flight out on the intended day had been cancelled. Despite the late cancellation policy, the Regent were happy to not charge for the full stay after seeing the cancellation paperwork from the airline. Despite many negative reviews on the front of house staff, I found the service to be excellent at all times.
The rooms are too hot, many people seem to note that! The default setting should be lower, but crank the fan up on the air con, lower the temperature setting, open a window it's fine. To be honest, Beijing was very cold whilst we were there and it was quite nice coming back to the warmth.
The location is great. My wife and I always like to walk to city attractions, experiencing the locality on the way. Its about a 20 minute walk from here, through a pedestrianised shopping street until the expanse on Tiananmen Square opens up on you - a magnificent sight indeed. Its very easy to get a taxi from the hotel and they are ridiculously cheap, but plenty of restaurants are just a short stroll away. There is a Starbucks right next to the hotel too, which suited us fine for breakfast on all three mornings.
As many people have noted, the hotel is literally on top of a subway stop which is great for travelling in from the airport, although as seems to be normal the airports are quite a way out of Chinese cities and so it will take a while to get in/out whichever way you do it. Going out, we went on the train so it was just a 20 minute (and about US$5) taxi to the main train station.
This is a nice, clean hotel - well located and with few faults but the room temperature. Its most likely not the best in Beijing but it's price stands out as being very reasonable. We'd stay again, no problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay whilst staying with us at the Regent Beijing.

As you have well stated, we are optimally located in the center of town, making certain sites such as Wangfujing shopping street, Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City accessible by foot while other sites can be easily reached by subway using the station located underneath the hotel.

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon when your travels bring you next to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Regent Hotel March 28 for 6 nights. We got to the hotel after 1am our first night and had an issue with our room's thermostat but Thomas, the manager and Lincoln at the Front Desk more than made up for our inconvenience. They went above and beyond and continued to check on us through our stay. The service and food are top notch. Breakfast buffet is excellent with many choices we didn't find anywhere else during our 2 week trip around China (including the incredible Pennisula in Shanghai). I would highly recommend this hotel. We typically stay at Ritz Carltons or Pennisula hotels but would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and have great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing.

We are glad to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay and that we have delivered on our promise.

We have shared your comments with our staff and personally complimented both Thomas and Lincoln for a job well done.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again when you return to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good hotel in a great location which is within easy reach of main tourist sites. There is also a subway (tube) within a minutes walk, which is a great way to get across Beijing very easy to use, super modern and very cheap. We used this to get to both Silk market and also to the Temple of Heaven; the night market is also within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are large and well decorated with large comfortable beds and the room was very clean. Complementary water provided throughout our stay and there is also coffee and tea making facilities in the room. Buffet breakfast was of a good standard. We did not try the restaurants in the evening as they seem a little expensive but there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from with a short walking distant. The staff were helpful and eager to assist when needed. The only problem we had was with the air conditioning which was not functioning correctly during our stay which meant the room was too hot. In the end we rectified this by keeping the windows open. Overall we would be very happy to stay at this hotel again. We would have rated it as excellent if we had not had a problem with the Air Con.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing!

We are delighted to hear that your stay, overall, was a positive one and have shared your comments with our staff to thank them for their efforts.

We have taken good note of the issues you mentioned with the air conditioning. We have been experience great temperature fluctuations this spring with temperatures often ranging from 5 to 20 degrees Celsius within the same day. This presents some issues in trying to maintain a stable temperature deemed comfortable by all our guests residing in the hotel. We have activated our air conditioning system since April 1st but have not set it on full power yet due to these temperature fluctuations. The good news is that seasonal temperatures seem to be settling in and we are moving away from these fluctuations, which in turn will make it easier to maintain a much more stable and comfortable temperature throughout the hotel.

For cooler rooms, we do recommend to choose one of our north-facing garden view rooms as these are subject to fewer hours of direct sunlight during the day and therefore feel much cooler.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,india
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is very well located and close to the forbidden city and other attractions. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The rooms with a view of the forbidden city are a little noisy as the hotel abuts a busy road.The concierge desk staff (with the exception of one man who was unsmiling and curt ) are knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, especially a girl called Yina who really went out of her way to help with suggestions. Overall a good choice.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the forbidden city can be noisy with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We were delighted to know that your recent stay with us went so well and have thanked Yina, our Chief Concierge, and her team for the great job they did once again.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back when your travels bring you next to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Family Hotel in Beijing
#32 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Business Hotel in Beijing
#283 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.