We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buy not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good buy not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having spent 1.5 weeks at The Regent Beijing, I can say this is a pretty good hotel which has the potentially to be exceptional.

Location - The Regent is located in a ritzy CBD area and is directly above Dengshikou station on line 5. This make it easy to get around to most of the major attractions in Beijing. A taxi from the airport is around 70 yuan and the hotel offers a pickup service for 600 yuan. Near the Regent are a swap of other top quality hotels including the Park Plaza, the Peninsula etc. As its a pretty touristy area, prices are higher accordingly. 10 mins west is Wangfujing st and the myriad of shopping centres and the famous (or should I say infamous) street market offering delicacies that only tourists would try - tarantula, crickets, worms, eels - more on this in a separate review. To give you an idea of the location, on the ground floor is the Rolls Royce and Bentley dealership.

Foyer and front of house - grand, sparkly and impressive. Good concierge although the standard of english varies. Very good reception staff and money exchange. All in all top notch.

Rooms - we stayed in a premium twin room and it was nicely furnished and had everything you could think of and maybe some more. It was a good size and had a separate bath and had very good water pressure. The windows open to allow natural smoggy ventilation. Our initial room was not he16 th floor and had great views over the Jinbao intersection. We had a lot of fun watching the near misses, skill and craziness of Beijing traffic. The bedding was super comfortable and the pillows very soft. The room was a bit dusty and is was clear some areas had not been vacuumed for some time - especially around the curtains.

The room was quiet and light, but over the first couple of days we noticed the room temperature rose to about 26 degrees c and wasn't adjustable. Apparently the hotel is centrally heated and you cannot individually control the room temperature. Like other reviewers when we asked about it, we were told to open the window during the most polluted days on record in Beijing. The solution is to turn the a/c off completely. We changed rooms and unpacked. Unfortunately they moved us from a non smoking room and floor to a non smoking floor but a smoking room?. We repacked and changed rooms again. The last room faced the south towards the Park Plaza - it was quiet but lacked the street view. Wifi was patchy. Whilst the room layout was the same and was slightly cleaner we experienced some more issues - lack of daily vacuuming, some brown stained and patchy silicone sealing around the bathtub and toilet, the shower wouldn't drain properly if you had a long show and we lost power twice whistle boiling water. At least they had a kettle in the room! One other thing which I found quite annoying is that the room attendants enter the room quite quickly after knocking on the door - I had some near embarrassing moments rushing to the door. In the end we left the do not disturb light on

Food - The daily buffet breakfast was good but not great. The asian selection was much better than the western selection. Service was attentive and possibly too quick - they cleared away dishes the moment we left the table to get some condiments even before we finished them! They need to slow down the otherwise very good service. In room dining was ok but a bit expensive even at international standards. We ate at the Italian restaurant once and ordered two mains - they were the size of entrees and it cost us $60AUD.

Overall - for what we paid, I think we did well. It could be a great hotel, but we could only rate it very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you did overall enjoy your stay with us.

We have also taken good note of the issues you highlighted and have discussed them with the relative departments to avoid a recurrence of such issues. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again the next time your travels bring you to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    363
    59
    12
    7
See reviews for
124
276
69
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The reasonable price that I paid for four nights made me apprehensive, but I was amazed by a highly responsive staff, a very well-appointed room and an excellent location. The daily breakfast is really good. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank your kind review.

We are very pleased to know that our team's efforts have turned you into an additional member of the Regent Beijing family! We very much look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you next to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Regent is located at the heart of Beijing in one of the best areas of the city, amongst many top International and Chinese/HK hotels.

Location is simply great. With easy access to dozens of highly rated restaurants, a few high end shopping malls 2-10 minutes walk and subway access.

There is an excellent Irish Bar (Moly Malone's) right across the road with some good entertainment on weekends. 1949, Da Dong and Quanjude are all few hundred meters away as well. If you feel like a steak, you can try the recently opened Morton's Steakhouse inside the hotel!

The hotel is generally kept in pristine condition. Staff are helpful and assistive. The GM of the hotel is an extremely experienced gentleman and a delight to chat with.

The Executive Lounge has a very Japan-esque design with clean modern lines. The breakfast area there has beautiful tall glass windows giving magnificent views.

The rooms are of similarly high quality. HVAC does seem inadequate with dealing with Beijing's cold winters given the large windows in the room so better ask for a portable heater.

Overall very happy with this stay as Regent held it's own up against the other fine hotels in area and will be getting our business again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your compliments with our teams to thank them for their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Came across The Regent in August while looking for the subway. I've always liked Regent hotels, so I booked my December stay at The Regent. It was an excellent and seamless experience from the pre arrival emails, the airport pickup, a great room on an upper floor with a smog free view (the weather responsible for this), and convenient location. Great staff, from front desk, concierge, currency exchange, restaurants, and lobby lounge. i am a pretty picky traveler and all that i can fault is the lack of a jogging map which had a folder but no map. I just booked another stay for my March trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Regent Beijing.

We are delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the end of our China vacation. Truly a 5 star hotel.

Excellent service, clean rooms, nice amenities. The location is great. Close to get to all tourist must-sees. Close to Wangfujing shopping area, night markets, and subway line.

Be sure to go to the night market and get some interesting food.

We walked about 15 minutes and reached an entire street covered with lanterns and many many restaurants. So good!

Nice pool facilities to boot! A great way to relax after a chilly day in Beijing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts with us.

We are glad to know that we have delivered on our promise and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a positive experience at this hotel. From check-in through check-out the service was friendly and mostly efficient. The room as expected was high quality and comfortable with top amenities. This stay was booked as part of a river cruise so room selection wasn't much of an option. I would recommend getting a high floor room if possible. Although the noise wasn't bad on the 10th floor, there is a major roadway outside and some traffic sounds could be heard through the window. The breakfast buffet seemed comparable to similar hotels the big cities of China.
The only negative, and it was pretty minor, happened in the lounge where the service on 1 of 2 nights there wasn't very attentive. On the other hand, the first night the waitress was very attentive and did a great job. The hotel is in a good location and it's easy to get to public transportation and the historic sites.

Room Tip: Recommend a high room and one away from the main roadways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you have, overall, enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noting the slight inconsistency with the service in our Regent Club Lounge. We have shared this with our team and hope that you will find the service much improved should your travels bring you back to Beijing in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed on vacation, the 5 star hotel has attractive prices (around 1000 rmb per night), a good location close to Wangfujing shopping area, on top of the subway line. The service was excellent, concierge helpful and spoke a good english. Suggested for business and leisure, rooms are spacious. Get a high floor because it can be noisy, and you will have a wonderful forbidden city view.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are extremely glad to hear that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: 99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#29 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#33 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Business Hotel in Beijing
#277 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.