We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel! Well run and kept.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Maple, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel! Well run and kept.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Regent is located at the heart of Beijing in one of the best areas of the city, amongst many top International and Chinese/HK hotels.

Location is simply great. With easy access to dozens of highly rated restaurants, a few high end shopping malls 2-10 minutes walk and subway access.

There is an excellent Irish Bar (Moly Malone's) right across the road with some good entertainment on weekends. 1949, Da Dong and Quanjude are all few hundred meters away as well. If you feel like a steak, you can try the recently opened Morton's Steakhouse inside the hotel!

The hotel is generally kept in pristine condition. Staff are helpful and assistive. The GM of the hotel is an extremely experienced gentleman and a delight to chat with.

The Executive Lounge has a very Japan-esque design with clean modern lines. The breakfast area there has beautiful tall glass windows giving magnificent views.

The rooms are of similarly high quality. HVAC does seem inadequate with dealing with Beijing's cold winters given the large windows in the room so better ask for a portable heater.

Overall very happy with this stay as Regent held it's own up against the other fine hotels in area and will be getting our business again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your compliments with our teams to thank them for their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    386
    62
    14
    7
See reviews for
126
294
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Came across The Regent in August while looking for the subway. I've always liked Regent hotels, so I booked my December stay at The Regent. It was an excellent and seamless experience from the pre arrival emails, the airport pickup, a great room on an upper floor with a smog free view (the weather responsible for this), and convenient location. Great staff, from front desk, concierge, currency exchange, restaurants, and lobby lounge. i am a pretty picky traveler and all that i can fault is the lack of a jogging map which had a folder but no map. I just booked another stay for my March trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Regent Beijing.

We are delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the end of our China vacation. Truly a 5 star hotel.

Excellent service, clean rooms, nice amenities. The location is great. Close to get to all tourist must-sees. Close to Wangfujing shopping area, night markets, and subway line.

Be sure to go to the night market and get some interesting food.

We walked about 15 minutes and reached an entire street covered with lanterns and many many restaurants. So good!

Nice pool facilities to boot! A great way to relax after a chilly day in Beijing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts with us.

We are glad to know that we have delivered on our promise and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a positive experience at this hotel. From check-in through check-out the service was friendly and mostly efficient. The room as expected was high quality and comfortable with top amenities. This stay was booked as part of a river cruise so room selection wasn't much of an option. I would recommend getting a high floor room if possible. Although the noise wasn't bad on the 10th floor, there is a major roadway outside and some traffic sounds could be heard through the window. The breakfast buffet seemed comparable to similar hotels the big cities of China.
The only negative, and it was pretty minor, happened in the lounge where the service on 1 of 2 nights there wasn't very attentive. On the other hand, the first night the waitress was very attentive and did a great job. The hotel is in a good location and it's easy to get to public transportation and the historic sites.

Room Tip: Recommend a high room and one away from the main roadways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you have, overall, enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noting the slight inconsistency with the service in our Regent Club Lounge. We have shared this with our team and hope that you will find the service much improved should your travels bring you back to Beijing in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed on vacation, the 5 star hotel has attractive prices (around 1000 rmb per night), a good location close to Wangfujing shopping area, on top of the subway line. The service was excellent, concierge helpful and spoke a good english. Suggested for business and leisure, rooms are spacious. Get a high floor because it can be noisy, and you will have a wonderful forbidden city view.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are extremely glad to hear that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Most of thing with this hotel is great, with clean broom, big lobby, many tv channel, good location and good services at recep. However if you are coming during winter you are unable to adjust the aircon. This room can be very hot and stuffy try imagine a room without aircon. You can open the window at a 15degree angel, however if that day the wind hppened to be strong it will blow and shuts the window while you are a sleep. It is not so recommended if you are a light sleeper like me that afraid of hot. This area got no breakfast except the highend Starbucks which all other reviewers had mention too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts no your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you were generally happy with your stay.

We have taken good note of your comment regarding the air conditioning. It is in fact true that we do not run our air conditioning system during the winter months as temperatures usually fluctuate between -5 and -18 degrees celcius. However, if you prefer for your future stays, I would recommend our rooms on the other side of the building (garden view) which have less direct sunlight during the day and are therefore usually cooler rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location is convenient to many restaurants, and is adjacent to the subway station. I was fortunate to spend 6 days at the Regent, and will difinitely stay here again. I highly recommend the workout/spa facilities, which are amoung the best of any hotel in which I have stayed. The room is large (with plenty of closet space), and includes a large bathroom.

The buffet breakfast includes both Western, English and Chinese options. I also commend the Regent on their pastry bar.

Room Tip: Pick a higher room, Beijing is a very busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us!

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: 99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#33 Family Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Business Hotel in Beijing
#226 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.