We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Save Saved
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location is convenient to many restaurants, and is adjacent to the subway station. I was fortunate to spend 6 days at the Regent, and will difinitely stay here again. I highly recommend the workout/spa facilities, which are amoung the best of any hotel in which I have stayed. The room is large (with plenty of closet space), and includes a large bathroom.

The buffet breakfast includes both Western, English and Chinese options. I also commend the Regent on their pastry bar.

Room Tip: Pick a higher room, Beijing is a very busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us!

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    353
    54
    10
    7
See reviews for
115
259
67
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, excellent spacious room, free WiFi like everywhere in China, fantastic breakfast with full buffets of European food, Chinese food, fruits, and even a sushi bar. In addition, it's near a busy shopping street with lots of great food, so you don't have to eat at the hotel. The only problem was the first night: we were tired and decided to have dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. It is Italian and ridiculously overpriced: we paid $11.50 for a bottle of plain water, and there was no choice.

Room Tip: In China, A/C is controlled by the government, so if fall weather is very warm, take a room looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Regent Beijing and have taken good not of your feedback which has been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager of Daccapo, our Italian restaurant, so that he may look into the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is located right next to a subway station and within walking distance to Wanfujing. There also very good Pekin duck restaurants opposite to the hotel. The service is good with free arrival minibar as welcome drinks. The staff are also polite and helpful. The room is spacious and the bathroom is huge. However, the hotel lacks the Beijing character as some other five star hotels nearby as it is rather modern in the western style despite some Chinese decor in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon and become your home away from home in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at Regent Beijing for business purpose. It is at the center of Beijing. The decor is modern yet you could see a touch of Chinese antique everywhere, from the room to the hall way, which brings the authentic sense of a place. The extensive view through the ceiling-to-floor window is fabulous, day and night. For a business traveller, the room is ample for work and relax. The service was great as well, I once pushed a button for an ironing service at 7pm on Sunday and requested the suit shall be ready at 5am the other day. They made it. The bathtub was amazing as well. It was big and deep enough to soak oneself in to relieve the stress of business travel. Highly recommend to anyone is planning to travel in Beijing.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a executive room. They also have impressive suites with Ming Dynasty style rosewood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are delighted to know that we have delivered on our promises during your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing.

We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and for recommending us.

We sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon once again whenever your travels bring you next to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff are very helpful and friendly and they speak good English. The service provided was very impressive from arranging a private tour for us to making reservations at Da Dong, the Peking duck restaurant. They even arranged a birthday cake for my sister on her birthday and it was quite a surprise. Fresh fruit was refilled everyday and not to mention complimentary water and snacks.

The room itself is spacious and clean, I like the fact that windows can be opened as it allows some "fresh" air during the day. Do remember to close the windows while asleep as air pollution's just notorious in Beijing.

The hotel's very close to Wang Fu Jing, like 10 - 15 minutes walk, depending on how fast you walk. There's a subway/metro station at the basement called Deng Shi Kou so it's easy for sightseeing if you're traveling by subway. There're some nice restaurants nearby, but many of them requires a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have shared your positive feedback with our teams to show them how their efforts pay off in the end!

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your opinion. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel was great. Rooms, food, service was excellent. English-speaking staff was helpful. Room had great modern decor. The club lounge however was lacking good quality food for breakfast. It is better to dine at the restaurant below which had at least 30% more variety.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken good note of your comments regarding the breakfast selection at the Regent Club Lounge. We have currently switched to an a la carte menu with items made "a la minute". We will later switch back again to a buffet style breakfast. Please do note however that whether we are offering an a la carte or buffet breakfast in our lounge, our team will be more than happy to assist you if you would prefer something which you do not find on the menu or buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were at the Regent for two nights and was impressed with the service and our room. It had the characteristic large bathrooms of the Regents, all done in marble, and the characteristic glass door on the toilet room - a pet peeve of mine. The desk area is well laid out with enough outlets for my gear so I did not have to pull out my cube tap:) Internet was spotty (like it is in most of China) and I kept on being bumped off if I did not use my computer for a number of minutes. I think they do this to stop people hogging the bandwidth but I wish they wouldn't as it takes time to log back into their system. The location is good - on a subway stop and minutes (in good traffic) from Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. Staff is friendly, efficient and generally helpful - some challenges with language. This hotel has a lot of competition but as long as they can maintain the facility, it should fare well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are grateful to you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We have taken good note of your comments regarding the internet connection. As you mentioned, the internet connection during most of the month of November has been challenging across China. However, we are currently working on improving our internet connectivity and bandwidth and hope to have improvements in place within the next few months.

Despite this, we are delighted to hear that you have generally enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Regent Beijing once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#18 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
#278 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.