We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were at the Regent for two nights and was impressed with the service and our room. It had the characteristic large bathrooms of the Regents, all done in marble, and the characteristic glass door on the toilet room - a pet peeve of mine. The desk area is well laid out with enough outlets for my gear so I did not have to pull out my cube tap:) Internet was spotty (like it is in most of China) and I kept on being bumped off if I did not use my computer for a number of minutes. I think they do this to stop people hogging the bandwidth but I wish they wouldn't as it takes time to log back into their system. The location is good - on a subway stop and minutes (in good traffic) from Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. Staff is friendly, efficient and generally helpful - some challenges with language. This hotel has a lot of competition but as long as they can maintain the facility, it should fare well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are grateful to you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We have taken good note of your comments regarding the internet connection. As you mentioned, the internet connection during most of the month of November has been challenging across China. However, we are currently working on improving our internet connectivity and bandwidth and hope to have improvements in place within the next few months.

Despite this, we are delighted to hear that you have generally enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Regent Beijing once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    357
    55
    10
    7
See reviews for
116
262
67
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel with good location, with subway station just right beneath the hotel. Service was ok but do not compare to those you would normally get in Bangkok. My room was clean and awesome, located at the same floor as The Regent Club, and daily turndown service was available. When checking in, I arrived too early so room was not ready, that is perfectly reasonable, the reception allows me to take a shower at the Health Club so that I could head out again feeling refreshed. During checkout, the reception even escorted me to the taxi. Overall, if given a chance, I would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Comments such as yours motivates us to keep striving for perfection!

We are glad to hear that you would choose to come back to the Regent Beijing on a future visit and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you next to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

A very nice hotel with reasonable price.
Service is ok, sometimes check in a little bit slow. Tried three restaurant, it is ok but not very impressive. Hotel room is nice, like to sleep on the bed, and enjoy the view for forbidden city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have taken good note of your comments and have shared them with our teams.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Beijing once we will have finished our new additions to our food and beverage offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very new hotel, with very good personal service - with the bellboy walking you to your front door. However, this was all expected. What made it special was: the good bellboys will even dash across the road to pick up a SIM card for you, and then configure it :) What gems.

Its location is also good. Don't bother taking the train to Wangfujing! You can just walk :) It's a more pleasant journey anyway.

However, good non-local food in the area was difficult to find, and the inhouse Italian restaurant (Dacappo?) served.. really subpar food. I ordered a tagliotini with tomato sauce. What I got was ketchup bakchormee (if you're singaporean you'd know what this dish is)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have also noted your comments regarding your meal at the Italian restaurant and have shared them with the restaurant manager. In an effort to continuously improve on our food and beverage offering, we have also recently opened a Morton's steakhouse and are currently renovating our Chinese restaurant which will be operated by the reputable Lei Gardens of Hong Kong once it will reopen after Chinese New Year.

We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again at the Regent Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Regent is a modern multi-storey deluxe hotel in the Wangfujing area of the city. It is a comfortable international hotel of the sort to be found in many major cities across the world. You will want for nothing as the rooms are fitted with all mod cons. The food is good. The only thing which could be described as a negative is that you could almost be anywhere in the world when in the hotel. For some this is a good thing. For those seeking a "taste of China" it is not so good. Having said that if yu want a deluxe hotel in Beijing you will not go wrong with The Regent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Regent Beijing and sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us. Feedback such as yours is what motivates us to keep striving for perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a great hotel for our family's first trip to Beijing. The staff was friendly with several English speaking attendants at the concierge desk and the club breakfast was key to keeping our young kids' sightseeing energy high during the days. The hotel was beautiful inside and was centrally located close to the Forbidden City and Tiannanmen Square. Since we upgraded to the club level (mostly for the breakfasts), our room was very large, with two largish double beds, a couch and desk, a big bathroom with a full size bathtub, full size separate shower and nice view. The only negative is the pervasive smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby and elevators.

Room Tip: If you have Western-oriented children, upgrade to the club level. It's a better deal than payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family have thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are currently working on special touches and additional services for our younger guests which we should be rolling out sometime in the coming year. We hope you may have the chance to try these out if you come back to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location is excellent. We ended up in a larger room due to an air conditioning problem for which they were very apologetic. It was a large room with a floor to ceiling view and a couch- really nice. Bathroom was also very spacious with tons of closet and drawer space.

The lobby area makes a great impression but I agree with others that they need to have more English speaking staff- I always saw 4 or 5 stationed at the concierge desk but with limited English speakers. I also felt that the food options were very limnited and the restaurtants do seem like awkward afterthoughts. Therer is a new Mortons due to open soon in the hotel. This lack of dining options is relfective in that there was no dining information in the hotel guide as the section has been removed. This is really the main drawback that I found- I did not feel that guests got any information as to where you could eat, hours, menus etc...

Lots of security staff in lobby and near elevators. Buffet breakfst worth every penny (our was included with our room). I would stay here again and recommend it as an elegant option in a great location.

Room Tip: try for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have also noted your comments regarding our need to improve the level of English and the choice of restaurants. We organize continuous English lessons on a weekly basis for all of our team members with direct guest contact and monitor their progress to ensure the level of English improves over time. Since your recent visit, we have opened a Morton's steakhouse and are currently renovating our Chinese restaurant which will be operated by the reputable Lei Gardens when it reopens sometime after Chinese New Year.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#18 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
#277 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;