We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay in Beijing at the Raffles Was Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Beijing Hotel

Save Saved
You added Raffles Beijing Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Beijing Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 5,168 hotels in Beijing
bridgetown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Stay in Beijing at the Raffles Was Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent. Could not fault the Hotel.
staff Excellent. Room was spacious. Perfect. Quiet even though we faced the main road.
Air conditioning great. the bathroom was a good size separate shower.
In such a busy city it was a welcome relief to go back to your room.
Enjoy a drink at the bar.
Breakfast Fantastic.
Staff were very helpful and made you feel very Special. Highly recommended
Loved it.
Peter from Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Peter,

On behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us and I would also like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through our unfailing way of behaving – the personality that people see. Everyone working at Raffles behaves consistently, every minute of every day, to deliver what our guests expect from us. We at Raffles are thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful.

Hence, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive such positive and encouraging remarks. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. We will certainly share your report with our culinary brigade at East 33 Restaurant as well as all other colleagues and, we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will encourage them to further improve their services.

Peter, once again, thank you for recommending Raffles and we are very much looking forward to the opportunity welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    204
    73
    29
    8
See reviews for
158
307
54
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were amazed at the personal touch that was extended to us at the hotel, where all the staff seemed to remember our name. The hotel was very clean and the room very spacious. The location was a very short walk to the Forbidden City and Tienanman Square. Also close was the easy to use metro system and the hotel staff and "John the hotel ambassador" are very helpful with teaching you how to use it. Every member of staff was worthy of a good reference for their cheerful assistance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We agree that location and the condition of facilities are extremely important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. We are in “the people business” after all. Hence, we were happy to read that you felt that Raffles offers the best location in terms of restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions however, we were even more delighted to learn that you enjoyed our personalized services. We will share your positive comments with John and all of our colleagues and are convinced remarks such as yours will encourage all of them to further enhance their services.

We certainly are very much looking forward to welcoming you again.


Warm wishes,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Although the exterior and lobby of Raffles Beijing Hotel are impressive, the room amenities seemed grudging--no razor package, one small vanity package, one small bar of soap, 2 pouches of instant coffee, 2 small bottles of water and one towel each. When we came back from our first day of site-seeing, a dirty coffee cup and an empty take-out cup were still on the coffee table. The only thing that had been replaced in the bathroom were the toothbrushes, which we didn't really need. On the plus side, our air conditioner was now working (after having spent the first night overly hot) and when we let the front desk know we weren't happy, an employee arrived to clean up the coffee and add to our supplies. Still, at these prices, one expects rooms to be well-appointed. On the up side, the location is perfect for seeing all the popular destinations and within walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square as well Wangfujing Pedestrian Walk. Cindy, who welcomed us to the hotel, worked quickly to solve our problems and answer any questions we had.

Room Tip: Building 7 rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and your positive comments regarding the friendliness of our colleague Cindy. On the other hand, we were disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced with our Housekeeping department. We will certainly share your experience and disappointment with respective department head in order to prevent a similar incident from happening. Regarding the amenities I would like to add that we do offer shaving kits including razors and shaving cream as well as additional amenities upon request.

Again, thank you very much for your report. Only with candid comments such as yours are we able to further improve our facility and services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the 7th floor and the room is very luxurious. Sleep like a princess and it has a very comfy bed. The staffs are friendly and speak understandable English and very helpful too. The hotel has a walking distance to the famous shopping area, the Wang Fu Jing Street. We managed to had our Peking Duck dinner at one of the well-known Roast Peking Duck Restaurant just nearby the hotel at Wang Fu Jing Street. Overall, I made a right decision to stay in this hotel although its quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.

At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.

Therefore, we were thrilled to learn that our service and facilities as well as the location of Raffles Beijing Hotel exceeded your expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Raffles Beijing Hotel is not only situated in the perfect location for the leisure traveller, but once you enter, you are officially in a new luxurious world. Everything from the flowers in the entrance to the decor inside the rooms, Raffles is truly an unforgettable experience. You have a hard day of site seeing and moving around the wonders of Beijing all within a short cab ride away. Then you come back and feel as if you have just entered a new destination where you can relax and feel pampered. Definitely my new favorite hotel in beijing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We agree that location, decor and the condition of facilities are extremely important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the overall experience at Raffles Beijing Hotel and that we exceeded your expectations.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back.


Kindest regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stop looking, the very best location possible. outstanding service by a friendly English speaking staff that truly give you a welcome feeling. A very short walk to the most popular destinations and shopping in the area. The hotel and staff will put the most timid travels at complete ease. If you're not sure what to choose from the concierge service is outstanding with helpful hints and English maps. If you eat breakfast get the breakfast package you might stay till lunch. Western food that tastes like it should with a huge buffet. I travel regularly to the Far East for business and was thrilled to find this Gem. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Stuart,

We would like to thank you and your family for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we very much appreciate you having taken the time to submit your detailed report about your experience to TripAdvisor.

What you have described in your review is exactly what we strive for. Our philosophy is being an “oasis for the well-travelled”.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your culinary experiences at East 33. Our Executive Chef and his team are working hard on striking the right balance between Chinese and Western fare and positive feedback such as yours will certainly inspire them to continue their efforts.

Again, thank you very much for your accolades and sentiments; we are thrilled being considered a Gem.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm wishes,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just come back from 2 weeks in China, and booked months ahead, choosing Raffles Beijing on-line for a good price. You never know if the place will match the pictures on the web, but when I walked through the door, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The hotel is gorgeous and my suite was lovely. I had a great stay. The welcome was almost overwhelming in its friendliness and helpfulness (Jayden and Jack). Concierge was great (David, Gavin), lovely guy named Rain in the Dining Room. Had great cocktails in Writers Bar and snacks, although one day an afternoon tea took 30 minutes to arrive, which was not good. Raffles Ambassador John Spooner was brilliant, an inspired move on Raffles' part to engage an English speaker (Australian) to assist English speaking guests. The hotel is in a great location, on the same street as the Forbidden City, Tian An Men Square, Temple of Heaven. I would recommend this hotel to all. I was travelling alone and everyone could not have been more attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

On behalf of my entire staff I would like to express my personal gratitude for you staying with us and the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us.

Certainly, location is very important however, at Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. Therefore, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will certainly share your letter with Jayden, Jack, David, Gavin, Rain and Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.



Kindest regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raffles Beijing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Beijing Hotel

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#13 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Business Hotel in Beijing
#16 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#332 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Beijing Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting Oriental refinement and French élan, Raffles Beijing Hotel epitomises refinement and exclusivity. Established in the early 1900s, this luxury Beijing hotel was then proclaimed as “the only deluxe hotel in the Far East”. A century on, guest rooms and suites draw inspiration from the golden age of travel but are technologically enabled with discretion for 21st century living. Personality Suites pay homage to luminaries from the hotel’s fabled history while Raffles Inc Business Rooms cater to business travellers on the move.Indulge in gastronomic delights at this Beijing hotel. Innovative French cuisine takes centrestage at the elegant Jaan Restaurant which recalls the glamour of the 1920s with glittering chandeliers and its original timber dance floor.The vibrant East 33 meanwhile offers international fare and the popular weekend Seafood Extravaganza.Ideally situated at the crossroads of famous Chang An Avenue and the district of Wangfujing, Raffles Beijing Hotel lies in the heart of the prestigious business and commercial districts, a few minutes from historical attractions such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, the Silk Market, and modern marvels such as the ‘Water Cube’ National Swimming Centre and ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic Stadium which captured the world’s imagination during the Summer Olympics of 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Beijing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Beijing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;