We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English elegance in the center of Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Beijing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Beijing Hotel to your Saves list
Raffles Beijing Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“English elegance in the center of Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very elegant, Very professional and welcoming greeting upon arrival. Business center not that efficient, to few computers. The rooms are awesome, Big and beautifull. Located perfectly for eveningwalks to Tiananmen Square, and Wangfujing shopping Street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Tina,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Accolades of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.


Kindest regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    260
    89
    35
    10
See reviews for
208
403
72
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Raffles Beijing Hotel is an excellent choice. The service, room and location is ideal for exploring Beijing. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. I hope to take my family here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Nathan,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive comments such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us here in the Wangfujing district in which our hotel is located at.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and you family to Raffles Beijing Hotel in the not too far future.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I specifically booked a room in the old part of the hotel. It was magnificent. The stairway from the lobby went all the way to my room in grand splendor and I was on the ninth floor. Each floor was as lovely as the next. I walked the stairway once and then used the elevator. The floors in my room and the hallways are high gloss wood with beautiful carpets. The decor was perfectly fitted to the era and style of the room. The bed was a dream, linens and pillows that were much better than mine at home. The marble bath, tub and shower were spectacular. I rarely dine in my room but did so twice because the room was so elegant and the room service was superb. (Plus it was really really cold outside) I have never had such delicious in room dining. John, the Ambassador, was such a welcome sight when I came back from a long day of sightseeing. He gave me many good practical tips which proved to be very useful. I felt as if I had a friend in Beijing which was comforting. Only complaint, the room got a bit warm at night and there is not thermostat in the room. Get your breakfast included, such a great buffet with foods from around the world well worth the price.

Room Tip: A view out the front was very nice, higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Juliette,

First, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor and on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us. I was delighted to read that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and I will certainly share your positive remarks with John Spooner, our Raffles Ambassador, our culinary and Room Service team as well as with all other colleagues.

On the other hand, Juliette I was disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced with the heating system. Unfortunately, heating and air-conditioning is centralized and beyond our control, which should not be an excuse but just an apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I hope that this challenge will not prevent you of staying with Raffles Beijing Hotel in the future.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After we finished a 16 night cruise on Diamond Princess our tour company had booked us into Raffles Beijing. Everyone was so obliging and helpful it made our 2 night stay most enjoyable. As previously stated by another person around the Hotel was in lock-down because of the important meetings that were taking place. However it possibly made us feel more secure in a foreign country!! Everything was great in the Hotel and its position was excellent for Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Thanks to all the Staff for making our short stay a Highlight of our first visit to China.
Ralph and Judy Chick----Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Ralph and Judy,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing!

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent cruise on Diamond Princess. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel and we are very happy that you felt your stay was one of the highlights of your journey. Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Raffles because of the great location and great reviews. Our stay in this hotel did not start on a great note, but was made up for by tremendous service. As other reviewers have mentioned, you really need to see what room they are going to put you in before you accept it. We got put in a room to start that was very warm and in second building of the hotel. There was no way to control the temperature and the room seemed like it needed a renovation. After a discussion with the manager, she moved us to a suite which was top notch. The rooms were night and day. The suite had the traditional "Raffles" feel. The first room we saw did not. I have to still give the hotel five stars based on our experience and the great service from management, however, I could see how many people will not rate this hotel 5 stars going forward depending upon what part of the hotel they stay in and what room they stay in.

The location of the hotel is simply the best in Beijing. You turn one direction and you are in front of the Forbidden City. You turn the other direction, you are on Wangfujing street, which is notorious for it crazy night market full of exotic foods. Also, there is great shopping and great food in that area. The metro is a 3 minute walk. The location is impossible to beat.

Of all the hotels we stayed in China, the service at Raffles was the best. The language barrier was a non issue. The Raffles Ambassador John was super helpful and friendly. He helped my wife with questions about where to find medication, etc. The concierge set up a lovely trip for us to the Great Wall. Really tremendous service.

The breakfast was top notch and the food in the Writer's lounge was tasty.

This is a five star property without doubt, but make sure to get a room that you will like and will not detract from the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and your positive comments regarding our service, location and the friendliness of our colleagues. On the other hand, we were disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced with your room assignment.

As mentioned in a few of my responses on this page Raffles Beijing features two buildings; the heritage building which comprises of 94 colonial style rooms and suites and which compliment the design and historical feel of the Lobby and Writer’s Bar and the auxiliary building in which 77 rooms of contemporary design are located. It really depends on personal preference which room each individual guests likes to stay in.

We also noted your positive remarks about John our Raffles Ambassador and our food & beverage offerings at the all-day-dining restaurant East 33 as well as the Writers Bar. We will share your comments with John, the Executive Chef Christian Rose, our Concierge and their respective teams and we are certain comments such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Location: Excellent. Two blocks from Forbidden City, one from Wangfuging st. and a metro station. Even if you choose to stay in another hotel, I would not stay anywhere else.

Rooms: enormous and very comfortable although little outdated - I believe they have renovated rooms, but we stayed on an old one. We had a room close to the elevator on the back of the main building (on the second floor, I guess) which was a bit noisy - a strange continuous and annoying noise coming from the wall that sounded like the air conditioning but louder.

Service: Outstanding. The hotel employees are extremely cordial and nice. The Hotel Embassador, Mr. John Spooner, dedicated a great part of his time to advise us on places to visit and even helped us solve a problem with a tour guide that forgot about his appointment with us.

Restaurant: Try the Hot Pot. We loved it! I guess they serve it on Monday nights.

Access from Airport: If you are carrying luggage, take a taxi. It will cost you close to CNY100. It´s not Worth the hassle of taking a train and then changing to subway later. Some metro stations have no escalators and the trains are usually crowded.

Access to Great Wall: We went to Mutianyu part of the wall. Great place! go up by cable and down sliding. There are differente ticket booths for the cable and slide. Make sure you buy the tickets for the slide before going up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us.

Here at Raffles our goal is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. Certainly, location meaning the close proximity to Wangfujing, the Forbidden City and other sightseeing highlights of Beijing is very important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our personalized services extended by John Spooner our Raffles Ambassador.

We have also noted your comment regarding our winter hot pot promotion and are very happy to learn that you enjoyed it. We offer hot pot on Friday and Saturday night at our all-day-dining restaurant East 33.

Again, thank you very much for your detailed report and should you return to Beijing we would love to welcoming you back to Raffles!


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel exudes old world charm for those who like it, with modern comfort. The suites are well appointed with amenities that will pamper a tired mind in the hustle and bustle of Beijing. Its location is ideal for visiting TianAnMen and the Forbidden city, as well as the WangFuJing shopping area. The service staff are not particularly friendly, but are elegantly measured and polite. The only problem I encountered during my stay last winter was about the heating in the suite. It was too warm for comfort, and I could not find any temperature control. The service staff offerred me a fan which I declined as it would make much noise. I resorted to open the windows slightly to let a little of cold air in to moderate the heat. Overall, it is a very good hotel that I may return to.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. Unfortunately, the room temperature is centralized and beyond our control which should not be an excuse but an apology for any inconvenience caused.

We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#53 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#16 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#43 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#32 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Beijing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Beijing Hotel

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#7 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#233 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Beijing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting Oriental refinement and French élan, Raffles Beijing Hotel epitomises refinement and exclusivity. Established in the early 1900s, this luxury Beijing hotel was then proclaimed as “the only deluxe hotel in the Far East”. A century on, guest rooms and suites draw inspiration from the golden age of travel but are technologically enabled with discretion for 21st century living. Personality Suites pay homage to luminaries from the hotel’s fabled history while Raffles Inc Business Rooms cater to business travellers on the move.Indulge in gastronomic delights at this Beijing hotel. Innovative French cuisine takes centrestage at the elegant Jaan Restaurant which recalls the glamour of the 1920s with glittering chandeliers and its original timber dance floor.The vibrant East 33 meanwhile offers international fare and the popular weekend Seafood Extravaganza.Ideally situated at the crossroads of famous Chang An Avenue and the district of Wangfujing, Raffles Beijing Hotel lies in the heart of the prestigious business and commercial districts, a few minutes from historical attractions such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, the Silk Market, and modern marvels such as the ‘Water Cube’ National Swimming Centre and ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic Stadium which captured the world’s imagination during the Summer Olympics of 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Raffles Beijing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Beijing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.