We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personalised service at Raffles Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Beijing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Beijing Hotel to your Saves list
Raffles Beijing Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent personalised service at Raffles Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Raffles during November 2012 when all the Chinese dignitaries were staying next door and Beijing was in virtual lock down up to Tienanmen Square.

I was greeted upon arrival by John the General Manager, a fellow Aussie and Sydneysider. He was lovely and we chatted over tea about where to visit and what has changed since 2006.

The room was very large and beautifully re-furnished and the staff were lovely and greeted me by name.

Its a short walk to Tienanmen square and major tourist areas.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Hardman,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing while here during the National Congress and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

At Raffles our philosophy is being an “oasis for the well-travelled”. Hence we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the personalized services our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team extended to you. We will share your remarks with John and we are convinced that comments like yours will encourage John and his team to further enhance their services.

Mr. Hardman, thank you for recommending Raffles Beijing Hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back!


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    223
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
168
340
61
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiba, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First class experience. Even the cheapest room here is worth every yuan. Nearby high end shopping areas at tourist sites. Be sure not to miss the writer's bar. Also, the congee breakfast room service is recommended. Had trouble fetching a taxi from the hotel - be sure to reserve one in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your time with us.

It is for sure extremely rewarding being considered one of the best hotels you ever stayed at.

We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
822 reviews 822 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
1,108 helpful votes 1,108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice and convenient location not far from a few attractions including Tienanmen square and Forbidden City.. The hotel seems to be connected with other buildings and you can pleasurably stroll, shop or window shop. One of us was familiar from years ago with Raffles Singapore and constantly stressed that the Beijing one one was even classier. Older building but beautifully maintained. Service great. The bar area allows for relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us and I would also like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through our unfailing way of behaving – the personality that people see. Everyone working at Raffles behaves consistently, every minute of every day, to deliver what our guests expect from us.

Hence, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive such positive and encouraging remarks. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Again, thank you for recommending Raffles and we are very much looking forward to the opportunity welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Raffles has an old world charm and excellent service. The room I was given was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and quite large though a little noisy as it looking out over Dong Chang-an. For an old hotel, it is quite well maintained but the thing that sets this hotel apart is the service. The staff here went out of their way again and again to make things as easy and as comfortable for me as possible, and did so with a friendliness that is uncommon in Beijing's hotels. There was none of the "I'm too busy to deal with you" brush-offs of the neighboring Grand Hotel, nor was there the forced coolness of the staff at the Opposite House.

The location is excellent for many of the Party buildings, Tiannanmen, shopping on Wangfujing, the Foribidden city. Of the hotels in the area, I would recommend this one above the others I've stayed in (The Grand Hotel and the Peninsula) if only for the service. The breakfasts and lunches I had at the hotel were good. The massage was okay. I didn't try the pool or the spa. I used their transportation services twice (once to take me to a dinner a party in a hard to find location, and once for the airport) and both the drivers and the hotel staff who arranged it were nothing short of perfect.

If you're happy to forgo the lavishness of the Grand Hotel's buzz, the basement grotto and shopping mall, I'd suggest you'll have a better, more relaxed, time here

Room Tip: The room I had faced Dong Chang-an, a very busy street. I'm not sure if there are rooms on the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your review on TripAdvisor and the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us.

At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.

Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and an even bigger compliment is that you felt better taken care of than at our friendly competitors next door.

We will certainly share your report with all other colleagues and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice all of them to further improve their services. In addition we have noted your preference of a room to the back of the building in your guest profile.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

LOVE THIS HOTEL. Great location, great service, great rooms -- just great all around. BUT, be careful of the full-figured man walking around the hotel lobby. I think he is a concierge or maybe an "ambassador". On the Sunday morning, my Asian (this is important) friends met me in the lobby as we had hired the hotel car to take us to the Great Wall for a day of exploring. However, the rudeness from this employee was un-acceptable. My friends made the mistake of stopping at Starbucks (they are now everywhere in Beijing) and brought their coffee into the hotel. He was pacing around like he was walking on hot coals and told employee's and other guests how rude it was for them to bring coffee into his lobby! Really? He actually said "how rude of these Asians"! In the 1920's perhaps it was "wrong", but it's 2012 and I realize that this is a five-star hotel but he could have pulled me aside and we could have left straight away. But, no, this drama filled man (possibly an unemployeed actor) pulls a hissy-fit all over the lobby -- trust me, everyone knew why he was carrying on! Everyone! I was mortified and thankfully, my friends had no idea what he was talking about as when he pointed to me, I quickly got them out of the hotel. A shame. I have spent nearly my entire career in the luxury hospitality industry and this is the first time that anyone has made such a fuss over a cup of coffee. Really?

Room Tip: Get a room facing the avenue but don't bring anything into the lobby of the hotel like a cup of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor and on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us. I was thrilled to learn that you love our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

On the other hand, I was disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced with John Spooner our Raffles Ambassador. I would like to clarify though that our Lobby not only serves as such but also is an additional outlet called “La Vie” in which we serve drinks and snacks. I am convinced this is the reason that caused the misunderstanding. I am certain you will agree that it is very common practice in lounges, restaurants, bars, etc. that it is not appreciated for guests to bring in food and/or beverages. Also the multiple usage of a Lobby as a waiting area and restaurant is very common. Many hotels nowadays even use their Lobby to serve breakfast. This all should no be an excuse but just an explanation and apology for the misunderstanding and inconvenience we caused your outside guests.

We will address your concern accordingly in order to prevent a similar event from reoccurrence.

We hope that this incident will not prevent you of staying with Raffles Beijing Hotel in the future. Please reach out to me personally whenever you are back at Raffles Beijing in order for me being able to discuss the matter in further detail with you.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was very happy to see my itinerary include this hotel on a recent business trip. I had stayed here once before, as part of a Mayoral delegation to China. The service is second to none, making the beautiful surroundings feel even better. This is a true safe haven in busy Beijing, being on the main road, close to areas like Wangfujing St and Tiananmen. I certainly felt that a significant period of service history in the Raffles tradition was on show. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast buffet has all you'll need. The Executive Club floor was small, quiet and useful for the one or two meetings we held there. Very happy to recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Mark,

Warm greetings from Beijing!

Mark, we are delighted to learn that our services and facilities as well as the location of Raffles Beijing exceeded your expectations during your stay with us during your last business trip. We have noted your positive comments about our rooms, breakfast and the Club Floor and we are extremely happy about your words of praise. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing, be it for business or pleasure.

Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October. We were greeted on our arrival by a cup of tea and the head concierge/manager, John, who referred to himself as Uncle John. He proved to be a real gem and immeasurably helpful during our stay. When we were shown to our room we discovered that it was directly across from the elevator. When we expressed our reservations about the noise factor, John helped us get a new and nicer room. He made reservations at restaurants for us, and one evening when it seemed the reservation might not work he walked us 3 blocks away to make sure we got in . Now that's service! He was also helpful with tips for getting around Beijing, things to seek and things to avoid. Our room was beautiful, but the internet was not so great. It seems like that's the usual in China, although after our stay the hotel sad that they were improving the internet connections. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, and the service excellent. There's a business center which will let you print your boarding passes for free, but will charge a small amount to use their printers for other purposes. The hotel has an excellent location, with lots to see within a short walk. All lin all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had an inside room. It doesn't seem like a room facing the street gets you a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Raffles Beijing Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the personalized services our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team extended to you. We will share your remarks with John and we know that comments and accolades such as yours will encourage John and his team to further enhance their services. In addition, we have noted your preference regarding room location in your guest profile and are happy to assign you a room away from the elevator next time you are staying with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffle Beijing Hotel.


Kind regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Beijing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Beijing Hotel

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#15 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#282 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Beijing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting Oriental refinement and French élan, Raffles Beijing Hotel epitomises refinement and exclusivity. Established in the early 1900s, this luxury Beijing hotel was then proclaimed as “the only deluxe hotel in the Far East”. A century on, guest rooms and suites draw inspiration from the golden age of travel but are technologically enabled with discretion for 21st century living. Personality Suites pay homage to luminaries from the hotel’s fabled history while Raffles Inc Business Rooms cater to business travellers on the move.Indulge in gastronomic delights at this Beijing hotel. Innovative French cuisine takes centrestage at the elegant Jaan Restaurant which recalls the glamour of the 1920s with glittering chandeliers and its original timber dance floor.The vibrant East 33 meanwhile offers international fare and the popular weekend Seafood Extravaganza.Ideally situated at the crossroads of famous Chang An Avenue and the district of Wangfujing, Raffles Beijing Hotel lies in the heart of the prestigious business and commercial districts, a few minutes from historical attractions such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, the Silk Market, and modern marvels such as the ‘Water Cube’ National Swimming Centre and ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic Stadium which captured the world’s imagination during the Summer Olympics of 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Beijing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Beijing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.