We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best and the worst” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hebei Hotel Beijing

Hebei Hotel Beijing
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hebei Hotel Beijing
Save
You added Hebei Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
A11 Cheniandian, Andingmennei, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Ranked #1,351 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 31 Reviews
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best and the worst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

A charming traditional courtyard hotel in a central location. The dark side is getting the choice of room right.
The smaller rooms are relatively cheap - about 600RMB, but they are not for the faint hearted: smelly drains, basic shower onto the floor in the bathroom, window open and insecure or locked shut - no security grill, plaster dropping from the walls, little storage space (no wardrobe). We started with 3 beds in the room, but there was literally no room to walk!
One of the staff has basic English, but if she is not on shift, it's sign language.
After unpacking, and discovering the room's hidden problems, we asked to move another room. We were shown a delightful courtyard suite at a much higher rate - 1200RMB. We were told we could move the next day which we did, but we are pretty sure it was vacant at the time. So - all the preliminaries were rather unpleasant.

Having got to the courtyard suite, we were extremely happy, as this was very well equipped, two large bedrooms, large sitting room, all with airconditioning and TV, a nice bathroom, and a water cooler. Outside each of 3 suites look onto a lovely courtyard with a delightful water feature.
You feel as if you are staying as you might have hundreds of years ago, and you are so deep in the Hutong, there is almost no noise, and you are still close to many attractions. Overall a great place to stay.

For others intending to come here, check the room before you pay, and before you move in so you can jump to plan B, if your first choice isn't what you want for the price.

It seems little has changed from other reviewers a year ago.

  • Liked — Courtyard setting
  • Disliked — Check in borders on deceptive
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Originally I tried to book at the Bamboo Garden Hotel, based on the great reviews in Trip Advisor, but it was full so the extremely helpful woman, Wendy, at the Bamboo Garden made a reservation for me at Hebei Hotel. Before arriving Wendy & the people at Hebei were very helpful in assisting me to book a car/driver & guide and a car from the airport. They were not very expensive & I would suggest doing this as the hotel is not that easy to find.

This is what they call a Courtyard Hotel & is down a Hutong (narrow lane in a local neighborhood). When we turned off the main road into the Hutong, I got very nervous as this was more local than I had imagined. But when we pulled into the driveway we were pleasantly surprised. This is definitely NOT a 4 or 5 star hotel, it is basic and functional and in a great location. The desk staff speaks limited English, but were extremely helpful and freindly. The room (standard size) was small for 3 of us with the extra bed, but we didn't spend much time there so it didn't matter. The room could use a coat of paint & the shower has no walls, it's just part of the bathroom. I would ask for a room away from the parking area and front desk, 2nd floor would be ideal. Being in a neighborhood you do not get traffic noise or construction noise (both things I'd been warned about in Beijing). We looked into one of the larger rooms (a suite I think) & it was very nice & huge and more recently renovated, so if you might want to upgrade to a better room.

The streets around the hotel are narrow and local. It is an easy walk to the main street which is not a far walk from Jing Shan Park, Bei Hai Park or Hou Hai (lots of bars & restaurants). It actually would not be too far to the back entrance of the Forbidden City. If you take a taxi, have them drop you off on the main street & walk the Hutong into the hotel, as we got caught in traffic along the Hutong that held us up probably 20 minutes. The people along the Hutong are extremely friendly and helpful. We found all of Beijing to be this way.

There is breakfast, but it is Chinese, although you can get eggs & the oatmeal is made with coconut milk & very thin. I would suggest getting a guide & car to visit the Great Wall & actually we ended up using one the entire 3 days we were there. It is not that expensive & definitely helps you maximize your time. Traffic in Beijing is terrible & the hotel is not near an underground station.

Again, this is a basic hotel in a great location. You will get the feel of old Beijing & how the local people live. It was charming, but simple. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Liked — Location - local atmosphere & close to tourist attractions
  • Disliked — Stadard room was small and very basic. Needed some renovation.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just came back for a 3 day stay in the Hebei Guest House.

The location is indeed very good! Tucked away in an old Hutong (old part with small meandering alleyways) and difficult to find, the surroundings are definetly charming and much more authentic than in any other 5 star chain hotel.
Within walking distance you find the Forbidden City, TianAnMen Square, WangFuJin and the Houhai Bar area.

The hotel has three buildings. The rooms in the two newer buildings have virtually no old charme and go for around 350 RMB and 650 RMB.
In the back of the newer buildings are two lovely courtyards and several suite type of rooms are opening up to it. These rooms are significatly more expensive, the rack rate is about 1200 RMB and 2100 RMB, but I reckon there is some room for negotiations.

We were a group of 5, and booked a triple and a double. When I made the reservation I was recomended to take the 650 RMB room, since it would be more spacious and sufficient and convenient for the triple.
However when we were shown to our rooms, they were very small and in the triple a very uncomfortable cot had been squeezed between two single beds. After that unfortunately no space was left for 3 people to stand in the room not to mention to put the bags somewhere.

About one meter in front of the windows was a several meters high concrete wall, so the rooms were very dark, disgustingly smelly and the plaster came down the walls. The room was dusty and grim, black undefinable stuff was stuck on the floor under the sink in the bathroom and the toilet was broken.
When I asked to see another room they showed me some sort of suite with a bed with a golden/ light green headpiece which had a big grey stain where obviously people usually lay their head...

The hotel could be very nice with it's location and old buildings, but it is not only overpriced but unfortunatley totaly neglected and has just not the right value for this kind of money. I had the impression the owner sees the opportunity to make a fast buck with all the tourists wanting to stay in an old fashioned Courtyard Hotel.
The rooms urgently need to be cleaned properly, a facelift and some renovation. Broken things were just not fixed or only very provisonal and amateurish.

The place does have a lot potential, a shame that it hasn't the right owner who appreciates it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

We booked two rooms for our party of 5. We wanted reasonably priced lodging that would give us an Asian feel, rather than a Western feel. We also wanted a location within walking distance of the Forbidden City and Tien. Square. The Hebei Guest House was clean and comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful. Although they spoke some English we had a fluent Chinese speaker in our party and so did not do any communicating in English. They are happy to arrange airport or other transportation for you, but the price is much higher than if you made your own arrangements with one of the abundant cab drivers on the street. The guest house is in a traditional hutung neighborhood which is enjoyable to walk through on the way back after a busy, noisy day in the city. I would stay there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hebei Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebei Hotel Beijing

Address: A11 Cheniandian, Andingmennei, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,351 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Also Known As:
Beijing Hebei Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hebei Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.