We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location everything else is bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Central Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added City Central Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Central Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.1-5 Beijingzhan West Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #619 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“great location everything else is bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel as it was part of a tour, and later transfered to a king room with ensuite. both rooms were bad. hygiene seems to be an issue in china, mouldy bathrooms are the go and this place has it all. beds were hard, staff very unfriendly. biggest issue is the lack of ventilation in the rooms with no windows or natural source of light or air. shared bathrooms are okay but be careful you dont get scalded as the water temperature is not consistent.
i would not stay here again, im sure its possible to find a better guesthouse in beijing for the same money. location is the redeeming feature here with the beijing railway station across the road and line 2 metro line outside the hotel. still, look for something else as this is not a pleasant place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    115
    57
    17
    2
See reviews for
6
17
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the first stop for me on a group tour throughout China. The rooms and beds were very clean but very hard and incomfortable (even for China). We had shared bathroom and shower facilities which were also cleaned every morning.

The carpet in the hallways should be removed as it is quite dingy and brings down the feel of the place. The lounge area could also use some brightening up to make it more inviting. The hotel did offer a fairly cheap breakfast which was convenient, and the location is across from the train station.

The front desk staff were not very friendly or helpful and the cleaning lady would yell at you to get out of the bathroom while she was cleaning.

This was the worst accommodations that I stayed in throughout my travels in China and if I returned to Beijing I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find as across road from Beijing MTR. We booked a deluxe double and it was very comfortable. Rooms large and well serviced. Large bathroom too. Wifi was good (sometimes would drop out but could always retrieve) . The bar on third floor was good for making OS phone calls. The tours on offer in the lobby at the tour desk were excellent - recommend the Great Walk Muyitan with no shopping as had 3 hrs to explore and walk the wall, yummy lunch transfers and entrance paid as well Amy who was a wonderful guide, this made it a great day! Awesome sight!!!
Directly accross the road a large building - shopping centre with large super market on basement and one floor full of eateries so very convenient after all day out sight seeing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in this hostel in two different nights. The first night that I checked in, it was 4 am and I was tired and kind of disoriented so I didnt know how to open the door to my room ( i got a dorm bed). i called in the reception and she sent a lady who looked grumpy and irritated at the fact that maybe I might have disturbed her from her very sound sleep. While I was following her to the door, I heard her saying s ething like some sort of complain like as if I was a total Idiot for not being able to open the freaking door. So for customer service, I didnt really like them at all. However, I must say that the location is excellent! It's right next to the exit A of the subway station line 1 and it is in front of the Beijing Railway Station too. There are many food chains around the hostel ( kfc and the like) so its not really a problem looking for a place to eat. The hostel has got great shared toilets too. It's very clean and the heating system is excellent. The hallway is making so much noise whenever people would pass by. Im guessing the whole thing is made up of wood. Even the walls of the rooms are thin too. I hope that they will improve their customer service though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

One word to describe this place, convenient. Everything is around 100m radius. Food, from street peddler, coffee shops and fast-food. Beijing railway station is just opposite can see from my room. Literally if i throw a stone from my room window i could hit the entrance to the subway.

The price is a bit high for a hostel, the price for a room without bathroom is the same with a budget hotel with attached bath.

Room Tip: If you don't mind take the non window room as the windowed ones are near the mainroad facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nothing special about this place and the vibe is terrible. Toilets are average too. But it is really convenient (close to supermarkets,metro and train) and the buffet breakfast (Chinese &western) is 18rmb. If you just want a bed for the night, then go for it. But otherwise, there are better, less depressing, places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent location, just a door step away from subway and train station. There's a lot of mini market and food store nearby; including KFC and MacD.

Room is clean. There are 2 type of toilet; one with transparent wall. So if you are staying with friends, make sure to request for room without transparent wall. Daily comb, toothbrush and toothpaste are provided as well.

Staff is ok; only if you know how to speak mandarin. Check in and check out slow due to only 2 staff at the counter.

Free wifi internet but very slow. The kitchen is dirty; don't ever think to have breakfast there.

Overall, a value added place to sleep for such a price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Youth Hostel

Address: No.1-5 Beijingzhan West Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #619 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Central Youth Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your City Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Youth Hotel Beijing
City Central Youth Hostel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Central Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.