We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a longer stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing to your Saves list
Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing
4.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.15 Haidian Middle Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China (Zhongguancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 59 Reviews
Little Canada, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place for a longer stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. It was very roomy with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. The second bath was an unexpected bonus. The kitchen was stocked with enough plates, utensils, glassses, pans and appliances. It was great to have a washing machine and dryer so we didn't have to pack as much. We had a TV and DVD player in both the living room and one bedroom, with cable and satellite. The walk to the Subway took about 10 minutes, but wasn't bad. There were plenty of restaurants within 2 blocks and a CarreFour and WuMart also within walking distance. The pool was very large. It did close for maintenance the last week we were there. The breakfast buffet was filling, but not extraordinary. The glass walls on the master bedroom bathroom walls took some getting used to. We never waited very long for elevators. We thought the value was very good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuanyuan-monica, Owner at Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Many thanks for you choosing our residenc and such positive feedback. Warmly welcome and looking forward to seeing you soon in SZGC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
2
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I have been staying with my family here for almost two months. On the very first day when I moved in, I noticed that the internet was extremely slow and flaky. I notified the front desk immediately and they promised to resolve the issue ASAP. After one week, I didn't notice any difference, so I called again and was told that the issue could not be resolved any time soon. It's been two months now and the internet is still extremely slow. My VPN got disconnected every 2-5 minutes and I cannot get any work done at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at the Somerset Zhongguancun over the Christmas holidays and chose these serviced apartments because of the proximity to our son's university. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment to give our son a break from residence life and treat him to some "home cooked" meals. We were very happy with all aspects of the hotel: the service, size of the suite, amenities for cooking and doing laundry, access to supermarkets and other shopping. We opted to include breakfast with our stay and the staff was very good to provide us with some small amounts of ingredients such as spices for our own cooking.
Though not central to many tourist attraction, the metro is just a few steps away and RMB 2.00 allows you to use the whole system.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

check-in:
efficient and smiling staff attended to our luguage and rooms. the experience was pleasant but a tad too long.

room:
we had a 2 bedroom suite. not as spacious as the ascott beijing but good enough for the 4 of us. there's a balcony from the master bedroom. there's almost more television channels in this apartment.

breakfast:
very disappointing with no egg station, no wholemeal bread, only white bread, sad-looking pastries, salad, fried noodles and other chinese food that's bland and oily.

location:
convenience stores and many food joints just round the corner or a street away. although this apartment is further form the city, it was only 15mins ride from summer palace. catching a cab was difficult, so you will need to walk out to the main street to get one. if you are ok with bus and trains, they are close by as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

A very well serviced hotel. The only con is the location. There is not much around except for a 7-11. Cab drivers also seemed to have problems finding it. The front desk staff is very very nice and helpful. They also speak english, which is helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Service was pretty good. The room itself wasn't very clean or maintained (1 bedroom executive). There's a glass divider between the bathroom and main bedroom for this size room, so it's horrible when you have visitors that need to use the restroom. There was mold growing all over the wood that's part of the glass dividing wall, because the caulking to the tub leaked. They fixed the caulking but the mold was still there. The covers won't stay on the cushions correctly, they slide around. They claim 75 square meters for this size room, I don't see it, it's closer to 60 from my measurement. Their 60 is more like 45 from the one I saw (but didn't measure). When asked they claim they're advertising the room sizes according to the engineering diagrams of the building and not true floor space. I still don't see 15 square meters being eaten up by exterior walls. They also keep the swimming pool freezing cold (which is odd becuase chinese seem to have an aversion to cold).

Overall, not the 4 stars they claim to be, and i think there's false advertising for their room sizes. It's maybe 2.5 or 3. stars. Complaining after you sign the contract meets blank faces, once you sign you aren't going to get a room change. The location is pretty good though, close to subway line 10 (which is 2rmb to any station in the city). Really, Chaoyang is where all the major malls and entertainment is and that's on the other side of Beijing, so you'll spend a lot of time on the subway or spend a lot on cab fair to get there if you stay here (around 40RMB each way between Haidian and Chaoyang from my experience). The Olympic park is just off of subway line 10, so I'm sure this was convienient during the Olympics. Basically, i think for the price there are better options both in quality and location.

  • Liked — friendly housekeeping staff
  • Disliked — room quality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing

Address: No.15 Haidian Middle Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#305 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset ZhongGuanCun is in the heart of Beijing’s prime high technology zone. It is close to offices, retail malls, the Tsinghua, Renmin and Peking universities, Haidian Theatre and Medical Centre. Somerset ZhongGuanCun offers a warm and stylish home with many recreational facilities and business support services. Its one and two-bedroom apartments feature a spacious living/dining room, fully-equipped kitchen, home entertainment system and high speed broadband access. A video intercom system and 24-hour securities provide a secure living environment. Doing business at the residence is easy with the wireless internet (WiFi) zones and efficient Business Centre. Somerset ZhongGuanCun is ideal for utives and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Enjoy the swimming pool, gym, Jacuzzi and sauna rooms. Join in the networking gatherings, city explorations and sports activities. Experience Somerset’s signature Heartware service – always caring and striving to exceed your expectations. We appreciate your individuality and tailor the residence to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing Hotel Beijing
Somerset Zhongguancun Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Zhongguancun Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.