We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Be sure to have high tea.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Beijing to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Summer with You
Ranked #11 of 5,485 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Be sure to have high tea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed an extra night as part of a 15 day Uniworld trip throughout China. Uniworld usually picks great hotels, and this was certainly one of them. We particularly enjoyed having high tea in a wonderful, living room-like setting off the main lobby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    135
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
64
15
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have never been disappointed at a Ritz Carlton and this was no exception. Their attention to detail is the best in the business. The ambiance, the flowers in the lobby, the rooms, the staff, the spa, the health club, and the dining options were all super. We arrived early in the day and our room was not ready but they offered to let us use a another room to rest. When we travel we usually stay in small local places but if one is going to stay in chain, this is the one to use. Even the location, in the middle of downtown was convenient to other attractions and a local market which is worth a visit. The only caveat I would offer is that if one is not on a tour, arrange your own day trips using Frommers as a guide. Having the well meaning concierge act as an intermediary only complicates things. I had a nice conversation with one of the assistant managers and that night she left me a note and a tiny panda which I unpacked at each subsequent stop.

Room Tip: I do not think you can have a bad room at the Ritz but if there is a problem you can be sure that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and decided to take an extra day to take a tour of the Great Wall. I asked the hotel to arrange the tour for me, figuring that the Ritz would put its guests on really nice tours. I should have realized when they told me that the price was only about $60 for a full day with meals, that the tour would not be very nice. It turned out to be a Chinese government state run tour. The van picked me up in the morning and picked up some travlers at other hotels as well. The tour guide mumbled through the same speech she must give to tourists each and every day, with zero enthusiasm or interest. Our first stop was a state-run jade factory. We were taken out of the van and marched through the factory where we saw a few artisans at work and then ended up in a huge room with very pushy sales staff. I ended up buying a few over-priced items that I probably could have gotten in an outdoor market for 1/4 the price. As soon as the purchases were completed, we were marched back to the van. After about an hour in the van, we reached the Great Wall. Of course, it was amazing and beautiful, but also completely packed with tourists. After a 1 hour stop at the Wall, the next stop was lunch at a state run "restaurant." We pulled up to an enormous building with dozens of tour buses out front. Our guide said that it was her lunch break so we should just go inside and eat. The bathrooms were holes in the ground (although a very nice bathroom attendant did show me the way to the one, hidden, normal bathroom). Lunch was terrible. We were each allocated one tiny glass with one drink. Again, I was able to find a way to pay for extras, but it wasn't easy. This was followed by more forced shopping and an afternoon of site-seeing in much the same fashion as the morning. One would think that the Ritz would put together something better for its guests, but I guess the vestiges of Communism remain, even for guests of the Ritz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great room....very quiet, very quaint, luxury..my choice to stay in Beijing. Room is very very nice. Bed is great, comfortable. Bathroom is awesome, towels, wash clothes, etc. are great. I will ALWAYS stay here in Beijing given the choice, you should too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had an excellent experience during our stay at the Ritz Carlton. Fantastic property, Efficient and friendly Staff, Good Location. The service levels were superb. The room is spacious. The restaurants nearby in the China Central Mall are very good and worth trying. The Dimsum at the Chinese restaurant on the 6th Floor of the China Central Mall were lip smacking!!! Excellent Stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had been to this hotel in August last year ... Though I have been to many luxury hotels before and after, nothing compares to the experience of Ritz! I had always expected the facilities and ambience to be good but the best part was the service ... we were on a business trip and we were a large group but people in the restaurants, lobby and even fitness centre remembered and called us by our names ... extremely helpful staff ... as we were not used to the food there, the chef asked us our preferences and prepared a few Indian dishes for us daily in our week's stay ... such small things go a long way in making the stay memorable!

I would like to mention Paula Minn, Kaili Fang, Iris and Sebrina who were excellent at their work and very helpful whenever we needed something!

I dont think I'll look for any other hotel when i visit Beijing next!!! You'll have to visit it to experience it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is located on the East side of Beijing at the 4th ring road. This means long cab rides to get to most places elesewhere in Beijing; walking is just not an option. The hotel is in the midst of a large, very high end shopping complex that is anythng but Chinese in character, unless we are talking about the new obsessions with international fashion luxury brands and showing one's wealth. The hotel itself is very comfortable. Rooms ar large and well appointed, although showing the effects of some wear and tear. Staff are very pleasant, most speak at least some English and all are helpful. The concierge desk is extremely well run. Hotel restaurants are very expensive and serve good, but not great food. Business services at the hotel are good, as are meeting room facilities.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Beijing

Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#8 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#313 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, is centrally situated in one of Beijing's most thriving business area - China Central Place, the hotel is 30 minutes from the Beijing International Airport and offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. In the classic timeless and elegant Ritz-Calrton style, the hotel, designed by HBA design consultants, features 305 well-appointed guest rooms and six exquisite award winning restaurants and bars including Barolo, serving authentic Italian Cuisine; Yu, serving fine Cantonese Cuisine; Aroma, serving international cuisine throughout the day; The Ritz-Carlton Bar; The Lobby Lounge and The Davidoff Lounge. Other exclusive facilities include The Ritz-Carlton Spa, fitness centre, indoor pool with balcony, 1,100 sq.m. meeting and conference space, 648 sq.m. ballroom and the only wedding chapel inside a hotel in Beijing.Behold the Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, architecture and decor classically inspired. Whether from the full-bodied taste of Ritz-Carlton traditional afternoon tea or a refreshing spa treatment, your senses are entranced by experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.