We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not central and rather a hotel for the Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Beijing

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 5,168 hotels in Beijing
Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good, but not central and rather a hotel for the Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the RC Beijing for 6 nights in January 2013. There are many traits of a 5-star hotel here, but I would not say it lives up to the usual Ritz-Carlton standards.

I do not agree with the numerous comments on the location of the hotel: It is not at all located in the centre of Beijing. It has a metro 5 minutes away from it but to be quite honest: There is nothing worse than taking the metro in Beijing: It is ridiculously overcrowded no matter what time it is (nothing like what you could imagine). The alternative, taking a taxi, is a pain, too: Either you don’t get a taxi at all or they turn the meter off or something similar. The shopping mall next to the hotel that others mentioned already – I found it rather useless, except for the restaurants, maybe. If you seriously came to Beijing to do shopping at Gucci’s and Prada’s at higher or similar prices than in Western countries, that might although be your place to be. And unfortunately, there was a construction site next to the hotel which made it hard to sleep during the night.
I’d probably prefer a more centrally located hotel next time, even though distances in Beijing are huge and you’ll have to take means of public transport anyways.

The lobby is fantastic with fresh flowers and a warm welcome including a cup of Chinese tea. But at the first contact with the hotel staff you notice what I’d say is the biggest problem of the hotel (I experienced the same thing in the Ritz-Carlton in Shanghai by the way): Pretty much all of the employees lack sufficient English skills. Of course I do not expect to chat with the chambermaid or the waiter, but a minimum of communication (which then again includes gestures of courtesy you might expect in such a hotel) would be very important. Even with the concierges, I struggled to find easy English words in order to make myself understood. It appeared that they preferred to offer me organized tours rather than giving me useful tips. However, the staff generally seemed very keen to help with anything – just the communication was a problem.

The rooms are spacious with excellent beds and a large bathroom – everything you need is there. The breakfast is very good, too: A variety of Western and Chinese food. The spa area is very good.

The Ritz-Carlton in Beijing is a good hotel – but I’d say it’s a hotel for the Chinese. As everywhere in China, English is a problem. And this takes already a lot of the pleasure away staying in a 5-star hotel. Also, you might find the Chinese customers (which definitely make up the vast majority) rather disturbing to some extent: They smoke all the time, they’re noisy and pushy at the buffet – I even had to deal with a Chinese shouting at his phone right in the middle of the spa. Besides, everything else is pretty neat (lobby, rooms, spa, breakfast) – nothing to complain about. The location is not the best.
Depending on the price, I’d come back. But if you pay 200$ or more, you might be disappointed. Do not expect the same Ritz-Carlton standards you might encounter in the US/Europe or simply outside China.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    112
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
39
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I took one night here to rest up after a whirlwind business excursion up north. I absolutely love the traditional old world Ritz -- much more luxurious than the new "modern" model that leaves me rather cold and not feeling pampered. The leather chairs, overstuffed chairs, rich colors, etc., all made for a wonderful 24 hours respite. Chose Club Level and thought food was quite good -- ordered breakfast off a menu, but also enjoyed the buffet. Staff were very attentive and friendly, welcomed my guests to the hotel as well. I enjoyed a dinner buffet in Aroma where the food was fresh and creative. Access to the JW Pool was a great plus as well. The airport car was wonderful with greeting at the jetway and personal escort through security to the lounge outbound. I will be back in a few months and will most certainly make this my hotel of choice. (I have usually stayed at the JW next door, but the Ritz hooked me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything was truly perfect during our overnight stay at the Ritz Carlton (Huamao), staying in a very well appointed suite. Very courteous, friendly and knowledgeable associates at reception upon check-In, very friendly housekeeping staff, attentive and gracious wait-staff in the buffet restaurant (featuring a very well appointed breakfast), well-trained gym attendants, not to mention friendly and professional parking attendants (which is quite rare in China), as we drove our car to the hotel. The hotel facilities are everything you can expect in luxurious properties, in a grand style (yet not overdone as it is often the case in this part of the world), the suite was very comfortable, lights and curtain switches easy to use and locate, great connectivity available to any possible electronic device (computer, iPhone...), and all in perfect working order. Internet connection was a little slow, but in line with Beijing's average connectivity at the moment. Gym is very well equipped with the latest from Technogym, and swimming pool is also perfect for lap swimmers. The only drawback would be Beijing's notorious heavy traffic which at peak times makes access to the hotel quite challenging. The property is however a great location when you conduct business in the Central Business District and Huamao areas, and is walking distance to a lots of great (luxury) shopping opportunities, including the famous Shin Kong Shopping Mall.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite which was obviously very pleasant. Views are not very exciting (either East or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the moment we stepped off the airplane till we were ticked and checked in our luggage to leave we were spoiled and taken care of like we were royalty. We arranged to be picked up at the airport and imagine our surprise when there was someone waiting when we stepped off the place. He escorted us thru the airport transfer train, customs and luggage pick-up and out to our waiting car. We were whisked to our room when we arrived at 2:00 A.M. and were told we could complete the check-in in the morning. The Hotel is beautiful, the accommodations superior but you expect that at a luxury hotel. It is the staff that is exemplary. Our every need was anticipated. We have been to Ritz Club Levels all over the world this one is the absolute best. The manager and her staff are truly exceptional at providing information, support and genuine feelings. They put their hearts into the job and it shows. When you return from and outing they say Welcome Home and they mean it. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay on the Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will feel important when you start entering the hotel. The counter staff are very attentive and explain all the details. The hotel decoration is elegant, the room is very comfortable. Good size siwmming pool, unfortunately haven't try the gym and spa. The buffet breakfast is quite good but the chinese tea is not warm enough (normally people prefers hot chinese tea). A real luxury hotel that near a big shopping mall, those good restaurants and the subway station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

How can you describe perfection? This was clearly the best hotel stay that my wife and I have ever experienced. From the time we arrived in the lobby to the time we left, every detail of our stay was perfect. The room--huge and beautifully appointed, the facilities--outstanding, the service amazing. (For example: We were offered tea during check in, which we did not have time to finish--the process was so swift. The server accompanied us to our room and presented the tea to us there.) The breakfast buffet is an event: international andChines selections perfectly prepared. The location of the hotel in ideal: we walked across a garden to an upscale shopping center, restaurants, train station... I rarely effuse, but this hotel blew me away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while at a conference. Good hotel, with attentive service and handy location.

One complaint, the food at the buffet in main dining area is well below 5 star standards, avoid! Food was left out too long and lacked taste.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Beijing

Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Business Hotel in Beijing
#22 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#35 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#58 Family Hotel in Beijing
#393 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, is centrally situated in one of Beijing's most thriving business area - China Central Place, the hotel is 30 minutes from the Beijing International Airport and offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. In the classic timeless and elegant Ritz-Calrton style, the hotel, designed by HBA design consultants, features 305 well-appointed guest rooms and six exquisite award winning restaurants and bars including Barolo, serving authentic Italian Cuisine; Yu, serving fine Cantonese Cuisine; Aroma, serving international cuisine throughout the day; The Ritz-Carlton Bar; The Lobby Lounge and The Davidoff Lounge. Other exclusive facilities include The Ritz-Carlton Spa, fitness centre, indoor pool with balcony, 1,100 sq.m. meeting and conference space, 648 sq.m. ballroom and the only wedding chapel inside a hotel in Beijing.Behold the Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, architecture and decor classically inspired. Whether from the full-bodied taste of Ritz-Carlton traditional afternoon tea or a refreshing spa treatment, your senses are entranced by experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.