We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 5 stars luxury hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Beijing

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83A Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 USD Credit
Ranked #29 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
HK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real 5 stars luxury hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will feel important when you start entering the hotel. The counter staff are very attentive and explain all the details. The hotel decoration is elegant, the room is very comfortable. Good size siwmming pool, unfortunately haven't try the gym and spa. The buffet breakfast is quite good but the chinese tea is not warm enough (normally people prefers hot chinese tea). A real luxury hotel that near a big shopping mall, those good restaurants and the subway station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    109
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
37
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

How can you describe perfection? This was clearly the best hotel stay that my wife and I have ever experienced. From the time we arrived in the lobby to the time we left, every detail of our stay was perfect. The room--huge and beautifully appointed, the facilities--outstanding, the service amazing. (For example: We were offered tea during check in, which we did not have time to finish--the process was so swift. The server accompanied us to our room and presented the tea to us there.) The breakfast buffet is an event: international andChines selections perfectly prepared. The location of the hotel in ideal: we walked across a garden to an upscale shopping center, restaurants, train station... I rarely effuse, but this hotel blew me away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while at a conference. Good hotel, with attentive service and handy location.

One complaint, the food at the buffet in main dining area is well below 5 star standards, avoid! Food was left out too long and lacked taste.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I started to stay at Ritz after my company require us to use corporate hotels (Ritz is very close to our office). Generally speaking, the location is ok. It's not far to Guomao (only 1 metro stop and 5 minutes by taxi), but getting a taxi at rush hour could be a headache. If you go to Beijing airport by the second airport express way, you are less likely to get stuck in the bad traffic in the East 4th Ring Road. It's conveniently located next to Huamao and Shin Kong Place, where you can find lots of quick eat options and good restaurants. Decro of the hotel is standard Ritz decro. Service is good and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for about a week in Ritz Carlton Beijing I really appreciated the attention to the limitless details.

I asked the concierge to make a reservation at Duck de Chine. Beyond doing the revers action, the concierge suggested ordering 2 Peking ducks for the 8 of us. He was right that 1 will not be enough.

The second little detail is the toothpaste they provided when the room attendant saw that my tube was almost empty. I could have asked but she was a step ahead of me.

The one detail the Ritz should pay attention to is the breakfast. The 5 days we stayed there, the breakfast buffet essentially offered the same menu. They could have changed it everyday.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is in the CBD of Beijing not near all the tourist attractions, so with Beijing traffic especially on the weekend when everyone in Beijing is allowed to drive getting anywhere takes at least twice as long as you would normally expect even compared to Sydney traffic. A subway station is about a 1min from the hotel and it cost just 2 Yuan for a train trip... you need to look very hard on the ticket machine to find the ticket info in English.
tip: you need to make sure you know your station and exit details as those details are not in English.
The staff were ok, it was a real mix, some were very nice but some of them especially a manager at the desk was really grumpy.. never saw him smile at all, the ladies in reception and staff at the concierge were all lovely.
A tip for catching Taxi's in Beijing, most of them refuse to use the taxi meter when they see you are a foreigner, even do it to some locals in touristy spots or if it is raining, some cab drivers won't even stop when they see you are a foreigner, I’ve been told that's because they can't speak English so they don't want to stop. So be prepared to negotiate a price before you get in.. the price can vary quite a bit and the price sky rockets when it rains. To give an idea of cab prices we paid, from the Ritz to the silk market, we paid anywhere from 30yuan to 50 Yuan. we paid anywhere from 80-120 Yuan for a trip from the hotel to Wangfujing street (the place to go for a mega shopping centre including the new Apple store and a night street market with food that includes a real cultural food experience..fried scorpion anyone??).

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were nice. with a nice big bed, study table and the bathroom has a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a great hotel with a wonderful staff and unequalled service in Beijing, however, the food in the Executive Lounge is very weak. For and additional cost of RMB 500 per day a hotel of this quality could do a much better job with its lounge food. The selection is poor and even the quality of the products is sub-standard. The breakfast in the main restaurant is much better at a fraction of the cost. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Beijing

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz
Beijing Ritz-Carlton
Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Beijing
#22 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Family Hotel in Beijing
#394 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing is a 305-room luxury hotel, situated in Beijing's Central Business District. The Hotel is an integral part of China Central Place, a complex featuring business towers and an upscale shopping mall. The Hotel offers luxurious oversized rooms, a Spa and fitness centre, extensive meeting and conferencing space all surrounded by garden landscaping, a beautiful amenity in the central city. Dining options include an Italian restaurant, Cantonese all-day dining a lounge and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.