We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location! Just in front of the Best Roasted Duck in the World!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #14 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Manila
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Location! Just in front of the Best Roasted Duck in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good location. Just a few minutes walk to Wangfujing and just across the famous Dadong Roast Duck, probably the best duck in the world. Taxi from Airport at around 80RMB. Rooms are OK, good wifi. There's a door at the lobby to exit towards the subway station. The Manager was very helpful regarding our Visa problems and extended help by making calls. Buffet breakfast is standard and is OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,081
    601
    68
    10
    8
See reviews for
352
616
168
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Almost across the famous DaDong Roast Duck Restaurant.
Walking distance to Wangfujing Road where big department stores and restaurants are located.
WIFI in the room.
Buffet breakfast is ok... but nothing great.
Rooms are big.
If it is your first time in china it is best to book with travel agency to arrange transfers from the airport to the hotel.
Make sure you have address of hotel in Chinese.

Room Tip: Always make sure you have address of hotel in Chinese. Rooms facing starbucks is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at Park Plaza. The location is excellent, walking distance to Wangfujin Shopping Street, a metro station next door. Service is good. They even sent me an email after I checked out to double check if they should keep a cap I left over in the room for me to pick up when next stay. The room is not spacious but comfy enough for a business trip. Gym is not great though. Value for money in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The accommodations were very nice in this hotel and the room was very clean. There is a Starbucks right next door which really came in handy for grabbing a breakfast sandwich and coffee before we started our day.

The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars is because I felt it was slightly over priced. The food, laundry and other services were outrageously priced even by U.S. standards. I don't mind paying for good service, but considering the cost of these services anywhere else in China it just made you feel like a sucker. Additionally, it's in a beautiful (but very expensive!!!!) part of town so you pay top dollar for anything in the area, so keep that in mind.

Last note has nothing to do with this hotel, but in the same plaza they have a Morton's and I want to warn any Morton's lover to avoid this restaurant. We have eaten in several Morton's in the U.S. and this was nothing like it,just terrible. We each ordered the filet and it was $100 each and completely inedible! We were so grossed out by the quality of the food and $450 later left starving. Avoid this restaurant if you stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best thing is the price. I paid about $120 for a very nice room with king bed. I'll keep this short...the hotel is great. The staff are super. I love a hotel that not only respects a Do No Disturb sign but is very helpful in getting me new towels and soap when I come looking for it after telling them to leave me in peace. The rooms are very spacious and luxurious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have a lot of friends who choose this hotel when they come to Beijing . This hotel has very good location . 5 mins to the subway line 5 , 10 mins to wangfujing street , 5 mins to Jin bao place where you can find famous Da dong roast duck restaurant on 5th floor .but there's no swimming poor .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a solid hotel for a reasonable price in a nice part of the town. Would definitely stay here again - my colleague and I chose this one to extend our stay after a work visit. I'd normally go for a more adventurous place and would have tried a Hutong, but having worked for an entire week, we chose to opt for a classy chain hotel. Clean and decent sized rooms, helpful and friendly staff.

Just some advice if this is your first trip to Beijing: I read somewhere in one of the reviews that a taxi from the airport is USD 100. This is WRONG. We had spoken with some Chinese colleagues before and new that the trip from the airport to the park plaza is around 100 yuan (~15 USD). Be aware of this, as the moment you step out of the airport, people would come up to you and tell you that it's 700 yuan (that's the max we were offered) or 300 yuan. Don't take these ones! Make sure you queue in the official line (if in doubt ask one of the girls at the information stand next to the taxi line to point out an official one to you) and take a taxi that has a meter !! We paid around 90 yuan all the way to the Park Plaza. Call the hotel before you arrive and ask them to send you the address in Chinese (have them take a picture of their business card.

Generally, while in Beijing, always make sure that the taxi has a meter. Despite being alert, we were scammed and lost 100 yuan (despite my previous experiences in other countries, I was not quite up to this one): Long story short, keep these things in mind:

(1) Be careful when you take taxis close to tourist attractions (Forbidden City, Silk Market, Pearl Market)- I guess this is a no brainer, but still.

(2) Make sure that the taxi has a meter (it starts at 13 yuan)

(3) Be suspicious if the taxi does not drive you right up to the entrance of the hotel - ours dropped us in front of the Regent, the Park Plaza is just behind the Regent. So we kind of thought it was ok, it is not!

(4) Remember what the note looks like which you hand to the driver. If he does not want to accept it (and it comes back with a missing corner or sth similar), be suspicious! Especially if he eventually accepts another note and hands you that one back.

(5) Always ask for a receipt and remember the taxi number!

(6) If things get heated (he refuses to drive you up to the hotel entrance, etc), I'd recommend preparing your camera silently in your purse and take a picture of the license plate the moment you get out.

I am not saying that all taxi drivers are dishonest, but there are a few bad seeds everywhere, so simply be prepared and keep these things in your mind

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#17 Business Hotel in Beijing
#212 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.