We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Plaza Wangfujing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Wangfujing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Wangfujing to your Saves list
Park Plaza Wangfujing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 5,485 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Park Plaza Wangfujing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Park Plaza Wangfujing after looking at reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Located behind the Regent (which most taxi drivers know the location of), we found the Park Plaza to be the perfect hotel for our 6 day stay in Beijing. The concierge staff, in particular, were stand outs and helped to make our stay seamless and well-organised. While not all of them had perfect English, they were very willing to either help us or find someone who could. We booked train tickets to our next city through them within hours of checking in and did not hesitate to ask for advice or assistance for anything for the rest of our stay. We also used the hotel's subway cards, instead of purchasing one-use tickets at Dengshikou station, located less than 200m away. Our deluxe room was big enough for two (tall) people with large suit cases. The bathroom had a bath tub and shower head with good water pressure (very important after a windy day sightseeing!). The only complaints we have would be that the restaurant staff were a bit lazy, and did not seem to want to serve people who had not purchased the pricey breakfast upgrade (we hadn't felt the need as there was a Starbucks across the courtyard, but on one occasion wanted a more substantial meal). Also, we suspected that the cleaning staff had smoked in our room as they had serviced it, as we returned on two occasions to a definite odour. As mentioned earlier, the hotel is located close to the city's efficient (albeit crowded) subway and within walking distance to high-end shopping district of Beijing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    754
    91
    12
    10
See reviews for
455
766
217
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a great location. The metro is right behind the hotel. Don't be fooled by the upgrade. Be weary of night staff that try to charge you if you arrive early with fake talks with the manager when clearly there was no one else on duty. Eventually they allowed us to check in early with our 11 month old daughter free of charge but it was a hassle and the room was two single beds and freezing. We were also told we couldn't change rooms for 2 nights to a superior king which we had booked. When we went down during the day the desk staff was wonderful and upgraded us to the club floor. Much better. The bed is a little uncomfortable but it was very clean and located near malls with great restaurant selections.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Within walking distance of many tourist attractions. Solid accommodations - Clean rooms, and friendly staff.there is strain station right downstairs and a Starbucks literally right in front of the hotel, if you are craving coffee or looking for a quick bite to eat before touring. There is also a Chinese bakery across the street if you wanna snack on local pastries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on a business trip and I can say the reviews here helped me decide between this hotel and the Crowne Plaza. Because the Crowne Plaza reviews mentioned great location but dated decor, I decided on the Park Plaza...great decision!

What I liked:
1. Staff was VERY helpful! Everyone had a smile on their face and was always willing to assist you. They made you feel important.

2. The hotel was ultra modern and the room was great. Nice size with all the amenities. Clean too.

3. Hotel is located in a nice area and there's a small convenience store just a 5 min walk away. As everyone has stated, Starbucks is directly across the main entrance.

4. Bank ATM is in the Jinbao Center, also directly across the main entrance and adjacent to starbucks.

5. Taxi's are easy to get and the Bellman are extremely helpful.

6. Not everyone's English is great, but they try very hard. They're always willing to find a staff member who has better English skills to assist them.

What I didn't like:

1. I didn't see any western-style restaurants in the immediate area. I know you're in China, but when your plane arrives late, it's kinda nice to have the familiar :)


I wanted to walk to Wangfujing street but it was raining that day. I understand that it's a short walk, as is the Forbidden city. I didn't use the spa, pool etc so I can't comment on those. I really loved this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! And I'm uber picky so that says a lot :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Found the Park Plaza to be an excellent hotel for service and ammenities. Staff was very helpful in arranging dinner reservations, tours and transportation. House keeping was constantly checking that our need were met. Hotel is located behind the larger Regent Hotel and on a side street which keep the rooms quiet. Accomodations were modern and everything was clean. Spend three day here and love each day. Hotel was within easy walking distance to the Wangujing shopping district and its unique night market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

love it the moment i step in. Although it is a biz hotel but it gives u that kind of warm homely feeling - the staff are friendly & helpful. Accessibility is good and there are a lot of eateries around and within walking distance there are some shopping complex etc. will return during my next trip....a nice alternative for a big chain biz hotel =)

Room Tip: My room 1011 - pretty close to the lift, If you prefer a quieter room, u may wanna pick room located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glorious Midwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am so appreciative of other Tripadvisor reports for swaying me to choose the Park Plaza for our first Beijing experience. Spent five nights and had a great time. The staff works very hard to get things right, and as others have remarked, the concierge desk especially is helpful and attentive. We booked the deluxe King and it was absolutely fine, did not feel a need to upgrade. It was nicer than most rooms we've booked in New York. The only issue we encountered was being put on a floor that had renovation, and when I notified the front desk about the noise, they moved us to the business floor (top floor) immediately. A beautiful room, and thoroughly modern bathroom. Did not pay extra for the inclusive breakfast but did order the "American breakfast" a couple of times, which was reasonably priced at 80 RMB and very nice. The hotel thoughtfully comped us a courtesy breakfast for the inconvenience of moving midstay.

I would recommend this especially to the newcomer to China, for location, facilities, and also quiet. Good restaurants nearby, a plus. We did have the concierge arrange a private driver to the Great Wall and were very pleased with that service, in a recent-model VW Jetta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Beijing
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#16 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#149 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.