We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #14 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on a business trip and I can say the reviews here helped me decide between this hotel and the Crowne Plaza. Because the Crowne Plaza reviews mentioned great location but dated decor, I decided on the Park Plaza...great decision!

What I liked:
1. Staff was VERY helpful! Everyone had a smile on their face and was always willing to assist you. They made you feel important.

2. The hotel was ultra modern and the room was great. Nice size with all the amenities. Clean too.

3. Hotel is located in a nice area and there's a small convenience store just a 5 min walk away. As everyone has stated, Starbucks is directly across the main entrance.

4. Bank ATM is in the Jinbao Center, also directly across the main entrance and adjacent to starbucks.

5. Taxi's are easy to get and the Bellman are extremely helpful.

6. Not everyone's English is great, but they try very hard. They're always willing to find a staff member who has better English skills to assist them.

What I didn't like:

1. I didn't see any western-style restaurants in the immediate area. I know you're in China, but when your plane arrives late, it's kinda nice to have the familiar :)


I wanted to walk to Wangfujing street but it was raining that day. I understand that it's a short walk, as is the Forbidden city. I didn't use the spa, pool etc so I can't comment on those. I really loved this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! And I'm uber picky so that says a lot :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,078
    600
    68
    10
    8
See reviews for
351
614
168
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Found the Park Plaza to be an excellent hotel for service and ammenities. Staff was very helpful in arranging dinner reservations, tours and transportation. House keeping was constantly checking that our need were met. Hotel is located behind the larger Regent Hotel and on a side street which keep the rooms quiet. Accomodations were modern and everything was clean. Spend three day here and love each day. Hotel was within easy walking distance to the Wangujing shopping district and its unique night market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

love it the moment i step in. Although it is a biz hotel but it gives u that kind of warm homely feeling - the staff are friendly & helpful. Accessibility is good and there are a lot of eateries around and within walking distance there are some shopping complex etc. will return during my next trip....a nice alternative for a big chain biz hotel =)

Room Tip: My room 1011 - pretty close to the lift, If you prefer a quieter room, u may wanna pick room located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glorious Midwest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am so appreciative of other Tripadvisor reports for swaying me to choose the Park Plaza for our first Beijing experience. Spent five nights and had a great time. The staff works very hard to get things right, and as others have remarked, the concierge desk especially is helpful and attentive. We booked the deluxe King and it was absolutely fine, did not feel a need to upgrade. It was nicer than most rooms we've booked in New York. The only issue we encountered was being put on a floor that had renovation, and when I notified the front desk about the noise, they moved us to the business floor (top floor) immediately. A beautiful room, and thoroughly modern bathroom. Did not pay extra for the inclusive breakfast but did order the "American breakfast" a couple of times, which was reasonably priced at 80 RMB and very nice. The hotel thoughtfully comped us a courtesy breakfast for the inconvenience of moving midstay.

I would recommend this especially to the newcomer to China, for location, facilities, and also quiet. Good restaurants nearby, a plus. We did have the concierge arrange a private driver to the Great Wall and were very pleased with that service, in a recent-model VW Jetta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was probably one of the best in value for money for a short weekend stay in Bejiing. Very nice rooms, nothing to complain about. Walking distance to the Forbidden city and even shorter to the major shopping street (although this is big chains only, not really attractive. Subway close by as well.
Many online rates are without breakfast, which is about 150 RMB in addition, but has a great buffet and omelet station. Alternatively, their is a Starbucks right in front as you exit the hotel.
Since we arrived late at night with all neighborhood restaurants closed, we ended up ordering burgers in the lobby bar, which were actually great. Bar service is a bit difficult, due to inexperienced staff, but you get this in many cities in China.
On regular times though there are some nice Chinese restaurants walking distance as well. Highly recommended overall

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On a recent trip to China, we stayed in both a large mid-priced hotel like the Park Plaza and a smaller, more intimate one like the Shichahai Shadowart in the hutongs. Yet, if service is the differential factor, then the Park Plaza wins hands-down over the small hutong hotel.

We had a comfortable stay in the Park Plaza. We upgraded to two suite rooms that came with a king bed and a sofa bed, which also included a buffet breakfast, free drinks and snacks at happy hour. Service from everyone - chambermaid to reception staff to concierge and doormen - was excellent. One of the doormen went out of his way to the main road to hail a cab for us. Some offered advice on transport connections, sights etc. All were helpful. I can understand why the Park Plaza consistently gets high ratings.

The buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious. My youngest misses her daily glasses of milk! Apparently milk tastes much better there than back home!

The hotel is also very well-placed. Just 10min walk to Wangfujing. The subway is just behind the hotel. From the hotel's back door to the subway entrance, the walk is less than 50m. From there it is easy to access most parts of Beijing. Further up the main drag of Dong Bei road is a strip of shops, boutiques and eateries, more for locals and priced accordingly but no less interesting - for us, even more so than Wangfujing which is touristy, commercialised and a strip of malls featuring the same brands back home.

Room Tip: take the upgrade. Its worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for five nights back in August this year. We booked a twin room which easily fitted two adults in one bed and two kids in the other bed.

The location was great, an easy walk to either the subway or down to the Wangfujing area for dinner.

Taxi's were never a problem.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#17 Business Hotel in Beijing
#211 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.