We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #14 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great base in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On a recent trip to China, we stayed in both a large mid-priced hotel like the Park Plaza and a smaller, more intimate one like the Shichahai Shadowart in the hutongs. Yet, if service is the differential factor, then the Park Plaza wins hands-down over the small hutong hotel.

We had a comfortable stay in the Park Plaza. We upgraded to two suite rooms that came with a king bed and a sofa bed, which also included a buffet breakfast, free drinks and snacks at happy hour. Service from everyone - chambermaid to reception staff to concierge and doormen - was excellent. One of the doormen went out of his way to the main road to hail a cab for us. Some offered advice on transport connections, sights etc. All were helpful. I can understand why the Park Plaza consistently gets high ratings.

The buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious. My youngest misses her daily glasses of milk! Apparently milk tastes much better there than back home!

The hotel is also very well-placed. Just 10min walk to Wangfujing. The subway is just behind the hotel. From the hotel's back door to the subway entrance, the walk is less than 50m. From there it is easy to access most parts of Beijing. Further up the main drag of Dong Bei road is a strip of shops, boutiques and eateries, more for locals and priced accordingly but no less interesting - for us, even more so than Wangfujing which is touristy, commercialised and a strip of malls featuring the same brands back home.

Room Tip: take the upgrade. Its worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,064
    593
    69
    9
    9
See reviews for
358
617
169
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for five nights back in August this year. We booked a twin room which easily fitted two adults in one bed and two kids in the other bed.

The location was great, an easy walk to either the subway or down to the Wangfujing area for dinner.

Taxi's were never a problem.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I had 3 nights stay here after moving from our first hotel which was book by someone else for us which was not good at all... I found it on trip adviser and saw great reviews and booked one of the delux suite online through elong.com. We were very happy with the choice.
Large clean nonsmoking rooms, comfortable and soft bed, and great breakfast Buffet, and in the heart of wangfujing!

They staff were awesome, very helpful. One night we had some thai food delivered to our hotel but the restaurant forgot our rice, the hotel staff call the kitchen for us and 5 minutes later we had rice at our door!

We were so impressed that we stayed here again after coming back from a week long trip to southern china. Also they have afternoon tea buffet every day around 5pm with wine, you can totally bypass dinner if wanted to.

The only thing is that some taxi driver doesn't seem to know where it is, so make sure you ave the address with you.

Room Tip: Get the delux suite and book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had been here in 2007 and loved it. Brought my family this time and everyone loved it. It is worth it to upgrade to club room, you get an happy hour and a breakfast well worth it. It is ver well located and the price is unbeatable,

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

3 of us stayed in a suite here last year, it was a good experience overall.
The location was great, we took a number of night walks around the neighborhood and it was easy to find everything. Breakfast was included in the deal and was great.
I was also impressed with front desk service, everyone was super helpful, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I had 4 nights at this hotel last week and we could not have been happier with our accommodation.
We chose to go Club Class and our breakfast was included in our package so we did not find our stay expensive. For the extra money we paid it was definitely worth it. The breakfast was outstanding with eastern and western cuisines well catered for.
The Club Class evening fare was great with nibbles and drinks every night from 5.30 to 7.30. With 2 dishes of hot nibbles, 2 salads, a fruit platter and 2 sweets plus drinks in the restaurant we made this our evening meal. As we usually had had a meal whilst on tour at lunchtime, the light choices were more than adequate at the end of the day with a drink as well .
Our room was large and spotless and we used the wi -f i in the Club Room on a couple of occasions. The staff went the extra distance to make our stay comfortable even though language was sometimes a barrier
The one thing I would complain was the heating being too warm in our room but we alleviated that by opening the window a little.
The other was not the fault of the hotel and that was the weather. It was bitterly cold and made touring pretty uncomfortable if not rugged up properly. I would love to go back to Beijing again but at a different time of year, by choice, either April - May or September. I too would definitely stay at the Park Plaza again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed there with my wife during our China trip. I mean, yes it was a decent hotel. However, in comparison to the other hotels the price we paid was not cheap. But the service we got was not as good as we expected.

First of all, the room was not as clean as it should have been. Second, almost noone in the hotel is able to speak English. If you are running a hotel of this type you should make sure that your staff speaks English!!! Just to ask a pair of scissors, I had to act like a pantomim-actor to describe it to the different people I talked to. My wife also asked for cotton (to remove the make up) but I was unable to pantomim-act cotton so we could not get it:)

Anyway, the location is not bad and the overall hotel is not bad however, for the money we were paying, we were expecting a bit more I believe. Overall: 3.5 / 5.

As a comparison: My hotel in Shanghai was almost half price of this hotel but I think I would prefer staying in the hotel I stayed in Shanghai, even if the two were the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#17 Business Hotel in Beijing
#211 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.