We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal with kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HWA (Apartment) Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HWA (Apartment) Hotel to your Saves list
HWA (Apartment) Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   No.130 Xidan North Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 589 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good deal with kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

A good deal, esp for the weary traveler who would like to cook his/her own food -- serviced apartments with kitchens and living rooms. Right in the middle of the mall district, in case you need a new outfit. You can negotiate price a bit with the front desk. Tell the driver you are going to the "Xidan Shangchang" but prepare for the fact that if you're heading south on Xidan Bei Dajie, the driver can't turn on the side street where the hotel is actually located, so you may have to cross the pedestrian walkway to get there yourself, bags in hand. Some road construction in front of the building is not audible from the room. The "fitness center" is a couple of machines, ping pong tables, squash court and a decent pool.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    49
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Lovely large apartments with a nice balcony in a very central location, close to a subway and about 20 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and Tianamen. Surrounded by shopping, restaurants and bars.

As others have said it was difficult to be understood; not so much at reception, more so in the locality since it is not really a tourist area. We struggled even to buy a hot cup of coffee one morning. Pointing seemed to suffice for the rest of the time. The apartments are also quite difficult for taxi drivers to find and we got out at the subway station most times and walked the short distance back.

The traffic in the vicinity was horrendous, as they were preparing for the Olympics, it may well have settled down by now. It was about a 20 minute walk to Tianaman Square and a bit further to Wangfujing, the main tourist area.

The breakfast spread didn’t look very nice – quite greasy, but we just stuck to toast and coffee. Also the pool area was in the basement and a bit gloomy, not somewhere you would want to spend a lot of time. Neither of these really mattered to us.

It was great having the extra space of an apartment, and no doubt a very good choice for families, but I think next time I would perhaps choose to be closer to the tourist sites.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

very nice value hotel in a great location. if you are looking for a decent, clean, safe hotel in beijing that is also relatively inexpensive, then this is it. not exactly close to tianamen sq, unless a 30minute walk is good for you.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — arrived at 1.30am and they wouldnt let me check in until 8am!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stayed at the HWA Apartment Hotel during the Beijing 2008 Olympics as any of the big-name hotels cost an arm and a leg! This is a nice, no frills hotel. If you're not expecting too much, then you will not be disappointed. Even the breakfast buffet is quite decent.

Just be sure to get a business card from the front desk so you can get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Believe me, not a lot of taxi drivers know this place!! Get clear, written directions!

I can't comment too much about the English skills of the front-desk staff. I was able to converse with them in Mandarin, but I would imagine that their English is pretty minimal since HWA is not one of the bigger hotels - so just be prepared!

  • Liked — Ktichen, breakfast buffet, good value considering the time of year
  • Disliked — a bit lifeless and sterile
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

First of all, let me say, that I want value. Not the cheapest, not the best, but something clean and safe, the best for the money, and something that fits my needs. With that criteria, the Hwa is a great bargain. If you need a swimming pool, fancy restaurant, and glitz, this isn’t your place. If you want something nice, this is a great deal.

The Hwa is a small establishment with registration on the first floor and rooms on the 9th, 10th, and 11th floors. (We don’t know what’s on the other floors, but probably some kind of business.) There’s a courtyard and restaurant on the 9th floor. The breakfast is a buffet with mostly Chinese food, but also bacon, eggs, and some cereal. It’s good food although sometimes the food isn’t very hot. At 15 Yuan apiece (just a bit over $2 when we were there in May 2008), it’s a real bargain.

Since this is an apartment hotel, our suite has a living room, small kitchen area, bathroom, and a separate bedroom. There’s even a balcony with a little table and chairs, and it overlooks the courtyard. Not fancy but way above “adequate.” The furniture is a little worn, but most of it looks very good and it’s quite comfortable. The TVs have CNN International, plenty of Chinese channels with things ranging from rock music, shopping, golf, and movies, to news. There are some other channels with German and French, but sometimes English shows up those as well as on the otherwise Chinese channels, possibly depending on the time of day. I think there are 68 channels in total. The TV in the bedroom seems to have some channels different from the one in the living room.

The plumbing is fine and the water is hot. There is a DVD player (which works) and a washing machine in the bathroom which either doesn’t work or we don’t know how to use it. There is free internet access using LAN for our computer via an Ethernet cable which we were given at the front desk. There is a safe in the room. There is even a live plant in our bathroom (a pothos), and it looks better than the ones I try to grow at home. The towels are thick as are the lovely bathrobes.

Neither the bed nor the pillows are what we have at home, but we were pleasantly surprised by both. The bed is quite hard but amazingly comfortable. The pillows are able to be bunched up or flattened down to meet our needs, and both my husband and I were comfortable with them.

There apparently is a fitness center on another floor, but we never went there, so I can’t comment on that.

Most of the staff at the registration desk speak only a few words of English but there always seems to be one person on duty who speaks fairly good English. During our time there that gentleman helped us out getting taxis and also arranged a full day taxi tour for us which we had requested. Overall the staff is helpful and pleasant.

It’s easy to get to the Hwa from the airport. International arrivals all come into Terminal 3 at the airport. To save money and see the city on the way in, get the brochure that shows which shuttle bus to take the from the airport, and take it to the end of the line at Xidan. It’s a short 5 block walk to the hotel. By the time you read this, the train from the airport will be up and running, but you’d have to make a couple of connections to get to the Xidan stop. If you don’t want to schlep your luggage over the street, take a taxi.

By the way, even though their address is listed as 130 Xidan Avenue, the hotel is really on Tang Zi Lane, 3 short blocks north of Chang An, and a little east of Xidan Avenue, on the north side of the street. We were afraid we couldn’t find it, but they have a sign out front on a dark green awning, visible from the corner of Xidan and Tang Zi.

Beijing is quite spread out, but this hotel is about as central as one can be, so location-wise, it’s a good choice. The area is very lively and seems to be most popular with teenagers. There are several department-like stores which seem to cater to teenage tastes and they are crowded with teenagers.

Overall we couldn’t be happier with this hotel. If you want a good place to stay and the kind of amenities we want, this is it. I highly recommend the Hwa.

  • Liked — The great value
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Hot sure whether to rewiew the HWA as a hotel - essentially it's an appartment that offers all the benefits of your own living space but no luxury you would associate with a hotel.

We reserved a VIP 2 bedroom suite (at the cost, why not!) and got exactly what we expected; two comfortable bedrooms & bathrooms, a sitting and dining area and a fully equipted kitchen (including microwave).

Reception in the appartment is small and functional and not especially quick - make sure you're not in a hurry when you're checking out.

Room comes equipted with a pc and broadband connection which is useful for catching up on international news (and internal chinese news - everything on the tv is censored, including CNN being blacked out every time China is mentioned.)

Beds too soft for my liking - unusual for asia. Good space in room and good bathroom attached with shower over tub - only for those of 1.6m and under though...

Kitchen had washer/dryer which was fantastic after 10 days travelling aroud China - just a bit difficult to work out the settings in Mandarin!

Housekeeping was poor - cleanliess levels reminding me more of home than a hotel!

Fresh fruit provided every day - regardless of whether the previous day's had been eaten. We ended up with a small mountain of oranges and apples - perhaps we could have sold it at one of the markets?

Appts have pool and "gym" in the basement - basic is probably an overstatement. The changing area / showers are in a poor state of repair. There's also a snooker room and a couple of table tennis tables.

HWA is in the Xidan area with loads of malls and food courts hearby - no shortage of shopping / eating for those whom need a western hit ( Within two blocks there are three McD's , two KFC's and 4 Starbks!). Lots of street stalls for snacks immediately outside.

Main entrance is 5 mins to Xidan metro or 20 mins walk to Tian'anmen Sq / Forbidden city. Taxi rank outside for quick escape anywhere (assuming you've escaped the grasp of reception)

HWA is not a hotel - it's an appartment which you useas a base while travelling Beijing and its environs - but a good value appartment that does exactly what it claims.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

This is an apartment style business hotel in the Xidan shopping area...the hotel is near lots of shops and fast food restaurants and a 10 min walk to the nearest subway...I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget looking for a hotel that's in a good location. There is also a taxi stand right outside the hotel. The rooms are apartment style so they are very big (like a one bedroom apartment). The front desk staff can speak English and can help you with all the basic questions you need...breakfast is included and so is internet access (both very useful)...there is also laundry facilities where the washing machine is free but you have to pay $1 for the dryer...you have to buy your own detergent yourself from outside the hotel. The hotel itself is in a shopping arcade...there is a 24 hr McDonald's and a regular KFC within 1 min walk of the hotel...I recommend this for picky eaters...the hotel and room itself was very clean. Room service cleans the room everyday and when I asked for more towels they happily brought those. (Also when I locked my key card in the room I went to the front desk and they told me to go back and wait outside my room where someone promptly came to open the door for me) The breakfast served was a mix of western and Chinese offerings...it does a good job of staring your day on the right foot...if I was to go back to Beijing again I would definitely stay here again for its good location and great value.

  • Liked — Free breakfast, free internet, good location, 24hr McDonalds nearby, clean room
  • Disliked — Very basic service, not a luxury hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HWA (Apartment) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HWA (Apartment) Hotel

Address: No.130 Xidan North Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 589 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HWA (Apartment) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your HWA (Apartment) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwa Apartment Hotel
Hotel Hwa Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HWA (Apartment) Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.