We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a vacation in heart of business district.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Beijing Financial Street to your Saves list
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.11 Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100033, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #59 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great stay for a vacation in heart of business district.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was a family vacation with our two kids and we really enjoyed our 6 nights stay.
The service at check-in was warm and thoughtful, and this remained throughout the rest of our stay. It maybe an unusual thing to notice but there's a particularly pleasant scent that greets guests in the hotel lobby that my daughter and I took to. Rooms were large, functional and elegant; beds and sheets were very comfortable.
In terms of amenities, the highlight for the kids was the indoor pool - it's of a good size and certainly sufficient for lap swimming. The Steak Exchange must offer one of the best steaks in town and the Chinese restaurant, Zen, served great Hong Kong cuisine.
I found the location to be convenient enough. It's right off the 2nd Ring Road and just a couple of blocks from Chang'An Ave which takes you right to the Forbidden City/Tiananmen Square, WangFuJing, etc and the heart of the city.
We took a private tour with a local guide (located through tripadvisor) on the first two days to visit the more popular attractions. The hotel Concierge was very helpful in completing our Beijing experience by offering suggestions of a more insider/local flavour which included cooking classes, cultural performances, trip to an artist village (798) and farm visit.
I'll certainly be back if in Beijing whether for business or pleasure.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Simon L,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed TripAdvisor review of your family's recent stay with us. The guest experience is something we take very seriously and we very much appreciate you being our guests. While we are delighted with your very positive comments about the design and service of our hotel, and pleased that you enjoyed your sightseeing in Beijing.

We would like to thank you once again and we can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    241
    42
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
58
47
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

There are 2 hotels in Financial Street - Westin and Intercon. Having stayed in both Westin is definitely the newer hotel but Intercon continues to provide reasonably good service and large comfortable rooms. What I enjoyed most on this trip was the indoor heated swimming pool which was about 20m and provided a decent workout.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear keiragopi,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and thank you as well for highlighting the service our staff provided you. As you mentioned, our indoor heated swimming pool is adjacent to the sun terrace which is a great place to practice tai-chi or yoga. The health centre is at the same floor, offers a broad range of cardio-vascular and weight machines. Why not have a try on our I·Spa which is also on the 6th floor, provide a unique, comforting urban spa in Beijing, indulge in a wide range of refreshing pampering, and healing therapies from the professional treatments next time.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this property for 5 nights. Nice hotel with great cleanliness. However located in the financial district. Not too convienient for tourists as major attractions were quite far away from the subway. Breakfast was okay with a reasonable variety.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Weept,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the InterContinental Beijing Financial Street and for the positive comments about our hotel service and facilities. We were especially pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and we were able to make good recommendations during your stay.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel six times in the last five years. As noted in other reviews, the location is not great if you are a tourist but the hotel is a five minute walk from a Metro station. Cabs are also easy to secure at the hotel but, depending upon where you end up in the city, it can sometimes be difficult to get one to return you. The service is what you would expect at an InterContinental. The staff is quite good; their English excellent. The concierge team is particularly good. As for the food, the breakfast/lunch buffets are very good and recommended, but pricy. The in-house restaurants are of a high quality. One small criticism: the staff, especially the restaurant waiters and the cleaning crews, will often ask you to fill out service review cards. I understand and appreciate the reasoning behind this, but it is a bit odd to be asked six times during my last stay (three days in duration) to fill one of them out.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear PhillipA,

Thank you for using TripAdvisor and posting your experience for others to share.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good experience at the InterContinental Financial Street, and we will certainly pass on your compliments regarding your positive experience to our team.

We truly appreciate your support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I'm sure the location is great for a business trip, right in the middle of the Financial district. It's not really bang in the tourist area, although right next to the subway station, and taxis are cheap (as long as you insist on the meter!). Our club room was large and well appointed, club privileges were okay, however not the best intercon breakfast I have experienced - room for improvement there. We had a treatment in the spa, which was great - and the complimentary late check-out was very much appreciated. All in all we were very happy with our stay.

We tried a couple of restaurants for dinner, Capital M at Tiananmen Sq - food was average, and not worth the money, views were great. However, would highly recommend Da Dong at Nan Xin Cang Plaza, a little difficult to find but worth it, Duck is the best in Beijing - but also everything else on their menu looked amazing and wish we had gone there both nights rather than Capital M!

Room Tip: As with any intercon - get a club room, there is no alternative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Stephen_Booth,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and in particular highlighting the service our staff provided, found the amenities we offer in our hotel of great value to you.We will certainly share your comments with our team. Meanwhile we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Besides that the restaurants inside the hotel are also a smart choice, our signature restaurant is the Steak Exchange Restaurant & Bar, renowned as a heaven for meat lovers, while ZEN is one of Hong Kong’s most awarded culinary experience, a take on contemporary Cantonese cuisine. A view overlooking the bustling city makes Monsoon the ideal modern café for dining with friends and family over open show kitchen.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and was very well taken care of. I had the Capitol Suite which is very well appointed and it was perfect as I also had my family with me. All staff speak good English. Location wise, it is quite ideal if you work around the Financial District and there are some good restaurants just within 10 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Gunal,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and in particular highlighting the service our staff provided, found the amenities we offer in our hotel of great value to you.We will certainly share your comments with our team. Meanwhile we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was my second visit to the Financial Street location, usually preferring to stay at the Beichen Intercontinental because it is newer and has better views. As a PCR Royal Ambassador member, was pre-upgraded to the Elite Suite on this point redemption stay, which turned out to be two inter-connected guest rooms (each complete with a tub and separate shower enclosure), but only a King bed in one of the two rooms, and a living room / dining room set-up in the other. Both bathrooms are windowless and do not have televisions in them, but are very spacious. In addition to the room upgrade, we were given access to the Club Lounge, which had excellent offerings in the morning and in the early evenings, all with first-rate service. The service experienced over the 4-day stay was in general very professional, better than the experiences I have had with the Intercontinentals in cities like Shanghai, Hong Kong, and Seoul. The location is just inside the second ring road, and is a short walk from the subway station. If this is a tourist trip to Beijing, there are more convenient locations for sightseeing ease as Beijing’s traffic conditions can be quite unbearable and this location is not directly adjacent to any tourist sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Rm_1272,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to InterContinental Beijing Financial Street! We always appreciate hearing from our valued PCR Royal Ambassador guests; we

very much appreciate your loyalty and we were pleased to be able to offer you an upgrade during your stay.

Our whole teams were delighted to read of your positive experiences. We strive to deliver exceptional service and are pleased to read that we have met this expectation.

As you mentioned, we enjoy a convenient transportation and superior geographical location, our walking distance to many attractions is very popular, just minutes away are the White Pagoda, Xidan Shopping area; It’s also easy for leisure guests to reach famous historic heritage sites such as the Forbidden City, the Summer Place and Lama Temple etc. Our Concierge team will be very pleased to provide you with the map and the exact location; meanwhile we also provide travel car rental service. Traffic jams are a characteristic of large cities; also it has become the focal issue that the society pays close attention to. Warm tips: The traffic is busier during rush hours so it’s better to go out in advance or choose subway.

We would like to thank you for stay with us and also thank you for your continued loyalty to IHG.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

Address: No.11 Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100033, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
#48 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#331 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MULTI-AWARDING WINNING HOTEL, InterContinental Beijing Financial Street is situated in the center of Beijing's prestigious financial and business district. The hotel is recognized by Earth Check as Silver Company 2011 and awarded by 《Travel + Leisure》as top 100 Best Hotels in Greater China 2011.A contemporary, 18-storey building of modern design and traditional Chinese art set it apart, as does its ideal location. Just minutes away are Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing Shopping area, the Central Government Administration, and several International shopping centers. It's also easy for leisure guests to reach famous historic heritage sites such as the Summer Palace, the Forbidden City, the White Pagoda Temple, and the Lama Temple. An ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.