We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuandixia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuandixia Village

Cuandixia Village
about 100 km W of Beijing, Beijing 102309, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 97 Reviews
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Originally known as Cuan Di Xia, this is a hillside village of well-preserved Ming dynasty houses.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Cuandixia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Drive westwards from Beijing for about 2 hours and that will bring you around the hills and rivers. Hidden around the hills is a forgotten land called CuanDiXia. If you are not amazed by the reconstruction of Beijing Forbidden City or Tiantan, do come here for a feeling of ancient China.

A small little village constructed in a hidden valley with piled up stones and masonry to build houses. Take a walk in the village and the hill opposite to get an aerial view as well. If you are adventurous, try to taste the local village delicacies. Nothing exotic but simple dishes. Be a village for the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    45
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the antidote to Beijing's pollution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've been to Chuandixia twice already and I'm planning to go again. The first time I was with some friends and we were literally running away from Beijing,sick of it's chaos and polluted air. In Chuandixia we found some rest and some beauty to appease our eyes. The buildings look original for the main part, and the atmosphere is awesome. It's possible to walk up the mountains all around the village and explore the surrounding countryside. Highly reccomended. Oh, and this is not for a one-day trip, stay there one night to fully appreciate the experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“fascinating examples of northern Chinese traditional houses, and good food too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had asked to see examples of traditional domestic housing, rather than merely historical monuments and were not disappointed when our guide took us to Cuandixia. The village is on a steep hill - walking the whole place could be difficult for some. While the village is becoming increasingly devoted to tourists, and has fewer resident families than before, we did visit one house where the current family has lived there for 5 generations. The traditional layout of simple rooms around a courtyard, and the brick beds with heating underneath (via fires stoked from outside) were fascinating. The family fed us a very good lunch cooked on a traditional outside stove, as well as on a more modern small range in a lean-to kitchen. The family's choice of decor, which showed their devotion to Mao and what they believe that the Revolution had brought them in benefits was very interesting. There is a modern bathroom facility at the bottom of the village. It is clear that the government wants to convert this to a much larger tourist attraction - go before it becomes Disneyfied!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“living history tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Cuandixia Village
This stone village is one of the last stops on the ancient silk road into Beijing. Two and a half hour drive from Beijing, it is an easy one day tour, with plenty of time to visit a section of the stone paved silk road, and several other local villages along the way as well as driving through a strange and mystical lava tunnel. In these towns you can see the living history of China, locals chatting around teapot fires outside their homes. Cuandixia is a classic feng shui walled village, designed to keep out wandering spirits as well as marauding bandits. The charming courtyard homes layer up the side of the mountain linked by an intricate network of steps and lanes. Here you can dine on patio overlooking the river winding below. If you have time, well worth spending a night in one of the charming B&B to really feel the lifestyle of the past. Visit this town in the spring time, when the apricot and peach orchards flowering in April, and you will love driving through the Sea of Blossoms covering the hillsides. I recommend the private tour guide, Great Wall Peter, iampeter518@foxmail.com who took my partner and I on several day trips outside Beijing, avoiding the crowds and seeing a lot of the real China with the benefit of his local knowledge and easy, no rush approach. At 700RMB for the day, certainly well worth it for a rare and genuine experience of China.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The trip that is worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

In this review, I would mainly like to clarify and correct some information regarding how to gett to Cuandixia from Beijing via public transport:

1. Go to Pingouyan subway station (the western terminal of line 1)
2. Take bus 892 (not 929, this is not working on this route anymore) to the city called Zhaitang. The price for this journey costs 6 RMB with your subway card or 16 RMB when paying the cash to the driver.
3. In Zhaitang, take a taxi to Cuandixia. We were two and paid 20 RMB/one way. Do not pay more than 10 RMB per person.
4. When entering the village, you will have to pay 35 RMB/18RMB if you are adult/student, respectively.
4. The last bus back from Zhaitang goes at 5 pm.

About the place:
Cunadixia is a beatiful village settled in between mountains around. We spend around 4 hours going around. I would recommed you to check the houses, do not hesitate to go in, the people are very open and kind. Do hike around the place, just catch any path you see and go up. Do not miss the hike to the top of the highest hill around, a view from there is spectacular.

All in all, this is a great one-day trip which cost us 50 RMB in total and totally let us forget about polluted and crowded Beijing. Go there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuandixia Village also viewed

 

Been to Cuandixia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuandixia Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.