We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Redwall Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Redwall Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Redwall Hotel Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #944 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Terrible - avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Signs in the lobby : No drugs and Do not take prostitutes to your room made us dubious about being booked in for 4 nights and our doubts were confirmed. This hotel is running down fast and we felt sorry for its overworked staff who try to help but are permanently exhausted. It is dirty - there were mouse droppings in our room - which smelt musty - and the tablecloths at breakfast were never changed so covered with spills and crumbs. The food was barely edible. The rooms had "ensuite bathrooms" with the loo actually in the shower area - we complained and were shown that most of the rooms were the same design until we made so much fuss that they found a room where the loo was immediately next to the shower area with no door so the whole bathroom flooded under the curtain but at least the loo was outside the shower curtain rather than inside it. We should have moved hotel but we'd pre-paid as part of a complete tour and it would have taken up our sightseeing time....
Overall: don't believe its website and don't go there!

Room Tip: Don't go there at all - that is the only way not to get a smelly dirty room. We even ended up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    163
    130
    56
    29
See reviews for
31
70
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel stank from bad atmosphere. The girls at the front desk where rude, it seemed like nothing is included in the price of the hotel and the overpriced room acts only as a way to make you buy more things in the hotel. There was no WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby that had only 3 lousy couches and it smelled like sewers (the lobby)

Everywhere you go and with every question you ask you are offered to book a trip, acorbatic show or dine in their one of their 2 awful restaurants. Apart from that, the beds were not comfortable, the elevctricity in the room is an enigma, every night another outlet went dead.

Location is nice if all you're interested in Beijing is the forbidden city. And not even, the hotel is located close to the exit from the forbidden city and you need quite a walk to get to the entrance. Apart from that, it is far from any subway station and the area is quite boring, nothing but frames shops and banks. I don't reccomend coming to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

With my stay in Beijing I found that I don't think there is anywhere particularly nice. The was a funny sewerage smell in the lobby, but then again, most of the city did. Checking in & out was painless. We opted for the traditional Chinese style room which was basic. Small room with a bed, telly, toilet, shower and coat stand (no wardrobe to hang clothes) it wasn't luxurious by any means but if you are just wanting a place to lay your head after a long day exploring then that's fine. Wasn't overly impressed with the food, the place isn't overly clean but it doesn't seem to be harmful grime! Probably would stay again due to the fantastic location but would opt for a better room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel does essentially what it says on the tin. You get a bed and a bathroom. If you want more than this, then this is not the place for you.
The bedroom was small but comfortable. It was modestly furnished but generally well maintained and clean. The bathroom, again, was small but functioned reasonably well. The shower was not the world's greatest but that was never expected for this price.
The level of English among staff is not fantastic but basic communication is possible if you have a problem that needs addressing. That said, if you arrive in China without having bothered to learn a few words of Mandarin than i would expect you to struggle.
Our experience with checking in and out was fairly quick and easy and problems we had with our drains was dealt with swiftly and without fuss. We had breakfast on two occasions in this hotel, once eating Chinese fare and once eating their attempt at a continental breakfast. The Chinese food was well prepared but the attempt at a continental breakfast was a flimsy imitation and was not to our taste. Best avoided, i would suggest. Go eat breakfast at a local restaurant.


The location of this hotel is its selling point and its strength. It is perfect for access to the city's main tourist attractions; the Forbidden Palace, Tian'anmen and Jingshan Park among others. My advice would be to take taxis to places you don't wish to walk and ask the driver to use his meter. That way, you can get around the city very cheaply, usually no more than £3-5 per trip. The rickshaws are very good fun and a real experience but, unfortunately, there is a minority of unscrupulous operators who give the majority a bad reputation. Never get into a rickshaw without first agreeing a clear price and, if you are traveling in pairs, do not ever allow yourself to be separated, this is a scam.

Overall, if you intend to spend all day out and about and are simply using the hotel for a bed and a shower, i would say the Red Wall is fairly good. If you want top service, good food and pampering, do not book here.

Room Tip: We chose a 'traditional Chinese' room which was small and functional and reasonably priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because the hotel was free through my airlines and its location is near all of the tourist attractions (Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, etc.) as well as the Wangfujin shopping district. We stayed in the deluxe room which was clean, modern, good sized, with nice a bathroom and shower. The shower heads were decent and we had strong water pressure. The room was better than I expected. The beds were hard, Chinese style, not all that confortable at first, but eventually we got use to them. The air conditioning worked and kept us comfortable.
There is free wifi in the lobby, but it was very slow and not always working. We told the front desk and we eventually had WiFi. Also you had to call the front desk to make a call out from the phone in the room. We used the phone but once anyway. There was always someone at the front desk who spoke good enough English to help you with questions and give information on getting around Beijing. The bellboys were helpful for this as well. The front desk staff was always very helpful and friendly. Cannot complain about service.
There is western bar where coffee, capaccinos, espressos can be made to order. No one was really stationed in there in the morning and we had to wait for someone to come. We had a nice coffee pot that worked in the room, but did not get refills of instant type coffee for the mornings. I did not ask for more either. The Breakfast was average in the restuarant.
I had a decent stay here. The location is good. I would recommend this to someone on a budget and who is not expecting
luxury as you would see in other
high end hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel was not good, personal speaks very little English and tour desk was a nightmare...

I booked two tours, one of them was great wall and the other was a city tour.First day we had two car accidents and guide said she is not coming to the wall, just left us at the entrance. The group insisted her to come then she changed her mind. She told very little about the wall and the history.They took us to some jade, silk shops and 5 minutes foot massage and forced us to buy something and treated like we have to shop from there!

The second day was even worse. I was told by the tour desk, we will have 4 stops and three shopping stops but the guide said it is only 3 and there will be 3 shops which are same as yesterday! So I could not see the Tiananmen Square which I wanted to see most and I did not go there before because I wanted to learn sonmething about the history of the place..! In the morning the guide just said hi, introduced herself, Jessie, and asked for a very high tip and said we have to pay that tip. I refused to give that high amount of tip and all day she reminded the tip for her and driver. I wanted to leave the tour early and see the square myself but she did not let me go just because of the tip and I got back to hotel. The guide can speak very little English and knew nothing about the historical places, the only info she gave about the forbidden city is "this is where the emperror sleeps and here is where the empresses sleeps!" Guide did not come in to the summer palace and we could not get any information about the place, when we asked, you should come in, she said it is just a garden no history!!!
At the end of the tour we did not tip because the tour and the driver was awful, but she did not let us go to our rooms, we argued at the loby of the hotel, in front of the tour desk and front desk, no one from the personel asked what is going on there. I had the worst two days of my life thanks to the Redwall Hotel staff and the tour company they are working with..

Room Tip: You can prefer non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights last week. The only advantage in staying at this hotel is its convenient location of being walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.

The service offered by the porter is practically nil. I am a crutch user and yet the porter did not offer any assistance. I have to carry my luggage myself.

When the need arises to change room, I asked to have my luggage transferred to the new room. Yet when I returned, I found my luggage held in the reception area. Again, no help was offered and I have to do it myself.

Upon check-out, I asked the porter to book a taxi for me while I wait at the entrance. After waiting for 10 minutes, I noticed that he has gone to sit at the reception counter. When I enquired, his reply was that he has call for the cab but it is up to the cab whether he wants to come or otherwise.

He did not even bother to inform me while I waited outside. I ended up lugging the luggage by myself to hail a cab by the roadside.

As for the business center, the staff on duty do not speak English and when I ask for assistance to book a air-ticket to Guangzhou, he said as it is Sunday, no service is available and that I should book my ticket elsewhere!

Don't think I will ever want to stay in this hotel again. I am sure there will be better hotel elsewhere of similar prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #944 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwall Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.