We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redwall Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Redwall Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Redwall Hotel Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,168 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Crailsheim
1 review
“Great Value - great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had to go on a pop-up business trip to Beijing and did not have a lot of time to research my hotel options. I stumbled upon the Red Wall online and decided to give it a shot. While it is certainly not comparable to a Western-style high-end boutique hotel, the fantastic location and friendly staff made up for teh lack of some of the amenities in the rooms.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for Linda at the reception - speaks perfect English :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    141
    116
    51
    32
See reviews for
33
75
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one week. The rooms are average. They are very small, have hard beds, and the water temperature constantly changes while showering. I recommend that you do not eat or buy drinks in either of the restaurants on site as it is extremely expensive and low quality. The bellhops are very friendly, but constantly ask you to take tours. My boyfriend and I went to see the Acrobatics Show that we booked through a bellhop and it was fantastic! The staff at the front desk are not very friendly and tried to charge us extra money for a towel that "went missing." The location is convenient and it is about a 10-minute walk to the nearest metro. I would not stay here in the winter, though, as the heater did not work. Also the spa is very overpriced and also not great quality.

Room Tip: The Chinese-style rooms have a bit more decoration and I think they're more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have spended at this hotel 4 nights and I can say it is placed in a good location very near of the forbidden city. Rooms are ok and bed is confortable. I have found the staff friendly .Taxi from airport is arround 100RMB that meens 17USD. The bad point of the hotel is the breakfast wich is oufull in my opinion. Never had such a bad breakfast in my life. Anyway You can eat in another place not such a big problem. 50m away is the street food and some shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for four night visit to Beijing in Feb 2013. This is a clean and cheap base for staying centrally at a reasonable price. The room that we had was tidy, warm ( in winter this is really important in Beijing!!) and cleaned every day, The main thing that this place has going for it is its location, close to the forbidden city and within walking distance of much of central Beijing. Breakfast here was cheap and basic, but filling. The staff at the hotel were friendly and most of them spoke a reasonable level of English. Free Wi Fi in Lobby worked well. Dont pay anything like the advertised rack rate though!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is my 1st trip to China & I noticed that almost everyone doesn't speak a word of English. You would think if you're a vendor selling in a "Tourist Area" you would know at least a little bit, but that's not the case in Beijing. But this hotel has such friendly & helpfull staff that it just makes your day. There English is the best but they know enough to get by & help you. (Especially the manager) As far as the hotel goes... It's good, clean, great location & clean neighbourhood. The location is what makes this hoter great, walking distance from Forbidden City & Tianamen Square (20 mins), Wangfuging Street (25 mins), Jingshan Park(5 mins), Behai Park (10 Mins), about 10 mins bus ride to the Bell & Drum tower (Take the 124, cost 1 Yuen) also you can take a direct bus to the zoo (Take the 103) The key thing is they keep my room clean everyday & they are available everytime I need help on anything. If I had to nit pick to say anything negative about this place, the only thing I would say is the rooms are small, but who cares if your here in Beijing you spend very little time in your room anyways...

Also... This hotel has a GREAT PRICE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice enough hotel with all the facilities you’ll need, Very large hotel that would have been great when it was first built but the rooms today are a little run down, pleasant English speaking staff, not sure why be it took an age to check in when we first got there. Bar service was pretty bad staff had a cocktail list on display but had no idea how to make them mixed drinks and cocktails took about 15min to make?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

So I used a tour group called Contiki for my time in China. This is the start of the tour, we stayed 2 nights here and I wasn't sure what to expect. The good news is that there was a transfer fro the airport and I didn't have to explain to a cab where to go.

If you never been ti China and is from the US, Canada or any Western country be ready for a culture shock. Since all the writing is in characters and the language is Tone based - meaning that a word can have up to 4 meanings depending on how you say the word - it will be very tough for you to get around China without a tour guide or translator.

The lobby of this hotel is nice and spacious, the front desk is helpful and speaks a small bit of English... with enough effort you will be able to communicate. There is a restaurant as well as lobby bar available for your convenience. There is a small gift shop as well. Immediately outside is a convenience store for water, drinks, beer, etc...

This hotel is within walking distance to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City, expect a 15 - 20 minute walk. You can also to go the Temple of Heaven within 10 - 15 minutes.

The rooms are pretty average, nothing very fancy but it is clean. The bathrooms are pretty decent as well. You probably won't be spending much time in your room, but at least it is clean and safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,168 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwall Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.