We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethereal experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kunming Lake

Kunming Lake
Inside Summer Palace, Haidian District, Beijing 100091, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 1,463 things to do in Beijing
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Ethereal experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We visited here in early November 2013 and had a dedicated guide and driver for the day taking us to the major sights including the grounds for the Summer Palace. Our all inclusive price included a cruise on Kunming Lake, the largest man-made lake covering 2/3rd of the grounds where the Summer Palace is sited. We were ushered onto the boat ahead of others to ensure we had the best seats. Being this time of year, it was quite chilly out on the water but the smog which was so thick turned the late afternoon sun into a red ball in the sky which glinted and skipped across the lake's ripples. The Summer Palace buildings were visible from the lake as we cruised past towards the dragon island and bridge where we alighted. The misty effect gave off such an ethereal feeling that we forgot it was smog and commented that it felt more like fog and created such a wonderful evocative background to our photos.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Kunming Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Beautiful and massive right next to the Summer Palace.

Great for taking pictures and enjoy a peaceful time in Beijing.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
720 reviews 720 reviews
552 attraction reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
“Peaceful lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

rent a small motor boat and drive around the lake. It was great to see the buildings and other structures up close from the water. Surprisingly, it wasn't crowded with boats.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Frozen lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

After seeing some lakes and parks around China, I found this place nothing special, in particular during winter. The lake - of course - will be frozen and that doesn't help to enjoy the surrounding ambient. Of course there are tons of frozen lake breathtaking all around China... well... that's not the case.
Just don't waste too much time going around this park.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“A nice promenade around the east side ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We entered the Summer palace grounds from a gate on the east side of the lake. It makes a nice walk then up to the Long corridor and up the stairs to the tower.
The lake itself is quite nice with a wide road lined with benches and places to stop and enjoy the view of the lake and the Tower in the distance, nice photo chances can be found all along the walk north. Too much to see all in one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kunming Lake also viewed

 

Been to Kunming Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunming Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.