We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While the Campus is beautiful don't put it on your itinerary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tsinghua University

Tsinghua University
Haidian District, Beijing, China
86-10-62785001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 309 Activities in Beijing
Type: Educational Sites, Performances
Attraction details
Daly City, California, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
“While the Campus is beautiful don't put it on your itinerary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Sure it's right near the old summer palace. And it's easy to get to if you want to visit wu dao kou, Bei Da, old summer palace and to see some shadow puppets but only do this if you have time.

If you are only spending 3-4 days in Beijing I wouldn't recommend you going all the way out there just to walk on their campus and take pictures at the gate.

Inside it really has beautiful architecture and history. The outside is quite beautiful to look at and you could spend an hour walking around enjoying the scenery.

Summary-
Don't go out of your way to see this unless you have a friend there you want to visit.
It's a beautiful campus with a lot of history.
A lot of students from all over the world come here. Mostly Korean and Japanese.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    64
    19
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Wouldn't go out the way for it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited the University because a friend had a lecture. I spent a good four hours walking around the park and the lakes. I didn't realise they were there until I took a wrong turn! I sat and watched a lot of dancers who seemes to be doing a strange mix of ballroom, lindy-hop and disco dancing. Very interesting and made for a nice day.
I wouldn't recommend it if you're not in Beijing for long but it is a nice university campus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
singapore
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great walk around shady campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

As we stayed at Holiday Inn Haidian, the East gate of Tsinghua Uni is only about 10 mins away. Had my morning walk there during summer and it is a huge place. The paths are shady with lots of trees. I can imagine that it would look very lovely when the leaves of the gingko trees turns yellow in autumn It is fun to see the graduating students taking photos with their families and friends..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Like a park, with sense of history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I like Tsinghua University. The campus is like a huge park, with all the old tress and ponds and lakes. Though there are many new buildings, we like the old traditional Chinese buildings, which give a deep sense of history. Of course, one finds monuments of great scholars and historical events. By the way, we like the Ten-Year Cafe very much. It's cozy and quiet, It serves nice juice and sandwiches till midnight. The only fault is that there are too many tourists taking photos everywhere on campus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The sillicon valley of the east!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was the biggest campus I've have ever visit. From sports to nanotechnology. Tsinghua has it all

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsinghua University also viewed

 

Been to Tsinghua University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsinghua University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.