We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish Hotel, Rude Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jinglin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jinglin Hotel to your Saves list
Jinglin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1B Nanping Dong Li, Capital Airport, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100621, China (Beijing Capital International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,714 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rubbish Hotel, Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night and picked it because of its proximity to the airport. If you phone the hotel they will pick you up from the airport. However it was clear once we arrived that things were not quite as nice as the website and brochure suggests.

Our path to our room took us under an archway dripping with water. There were buckets dotted around to catch the water but they weren't doing much good.

Despite asking for a double room when we arrived we found the room was a twin. We went back through the leaky archway to the reception and we were very rudely told that they had no double rooms and there was nothing they could do.

The beds in our room were uncomfortable, the decór was faded and the carpet was stained. We also discovered that there was no hot water. We called reception and they sent someone, who confirmed there was no hot water and said that we needed to change rooms.

We were told that we would be upgraded, but the room was identical to the last - a dirty twin room with no hot water and toiletries half opened.

After complaining to the people behind the desk we were told there was nothing they could do and after demanding a lower price to compensate they offered a better room. It was late at night and we had a flight early in the morning so we did not wish to switch again, especially since they weren't helping with our bags. They did however arrange a free bus to the airport at a time before they usually start shipping their residents. The restaurant was actually OK, although service was slow.

Apart from its proximity to the airport there's nothing good about its location. There's nothing to see in the local area.

I'd find another hotel if I ever had to spend a night in Beijing before a flight again. The staff were rude and the rooms were dirty and defective.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
1
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband and I were travelling to Beijing with our two young children, and we used this hotel for one night as we arrived extremely late at night. It was the most miserable stay - the first room was too terrible for us to stay in, and the second room was a bit more tolerable. The beds were clean, but that was about it for the rest of the room. The carpets had ground-in dirt and a ridiculous amount of cigarette stains. I would not let my children sit on the furniture. We had breakfast included, and after an arguement with staff (they would not honour it at first) we went for breakfast, however it was completely inedible. I am not a picky person and have stayed in a great many hotels in China. This was by far the worst. I have never written a review before complaining about a hotel, but I had to make sure the word was out on this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Don't believe the glossy brochure they show you at the airport hotel counter if you're looking for a place to stay for the night. The pictures show a fabulous spa, swimming pool, fitness center, and beautifully decorated rooms. The actual hotel is an aging property well past its prime. The entire hotel reeked of stale cigarette smoke but at least the room didn't. The bed was comfortable and clean but the rest of the room was not. The carpet was especially disgusting, faded with stains everywhere. They said the room had free internet but I could not find a connection anywhere. Also, I walked all over the hotel but couldn't find the fabulous spa/pool/fitness center that was shown in the brochure. At least the Chinese restaurant on the ground floor had decent food and very reasonable prices.

So if you're stuck at the airport due to a flight cancellation, the Jinglin is OK for a one night stay. It's close to the airport but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2006

I used this hotel for one night for an unscheduled airport delay. It was only 10 minutes from the airport and only 15 minitues taxi to city center (excluding rush hour). The room was satisfactory and the food ok.
The hotel information has very little English so I missed breakfast.
The staff has enough English if you ask questions.
I could not get the phone to direct dial out.

Overall, satisfactory but a bit short of 4 star.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinglin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinglin Hotel

Address: 1B Nanping Dong Li, Capital Airport, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100621, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Capital International Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,714 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinglin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jinglin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinglin Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinglin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.