We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jinshanling Great Wall Tours-Day Tour

Jinshanling Great Wall Tours-Day Tour
Gubeikou Town, Miyun District, Beijing, China
13552527373
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$115*
and up
Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West...
Ranked #51 of 309 Activities in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 434 Reviews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jinshanling Great Wall hiking towards to Simatai was amazing !"Not been on the Great Wall, not a great man."—Chinese proverb.The least spoiled part of the Great Wall.The hike from the west Jinshanling to the east Simatai is the most challenging Great Wall hike in Beijing.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
dartford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A must do for everyone - fabulous veiw amazing that this could have been built so long ago. Walking the wall gave me a real buzz Ive never experienced before and Ive been all round the world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    72
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Wall at Jinshanling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Great Wall at Jinshanling was astonishing. It is a region with many hills so the wall undulates up and down the beautiful Chinese hills. The hills are a great backdrop to the wall in your photos. It is a partially restored section of the wall (last in 1984) so you get to see the wall as it was in the past with its great guard towers and walk-ways but you also get the deteriorated look in some parts as well. Some parts are quite steep so you will get a good workout. If you have balance problems or cardiovascular problems this is not the section for you. Since it is about 2hours and 20 minutes outside of Beijing by car you encounter few tourists. Most of our pictures had no people in them. There were also no locals following us to sell us goods (though they were waiting to sell you water and T-shirts in some of the guard towers). While I have not visited any other sections of the Great Wall I cannot imagine a section that is more beautiful. Simitai is still closed so we turned around and retraced our steps when we reached the Simitai section.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Vermont
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our Visit to China!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hiking this section of the Great Wall was the highlight of our trip to China. We spent 3 days in Beijing and another day visiting the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall. But the Jinshanling section of the wall was far beyond any of our expectations. We must have taken more than 100 photos. Words don't describe how awesome an experience we had, so perhaps the photos shared will help.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Because of a closed acces to Simatai because of Wallrestauring and roadrecontructing issues I went with a taxi from Beijing to Linshanling. As its not so popular because of the distance to Beijing and dificult to hike unrestored parts of the Wall there are no busses taking you there. I took a taxi for 1000 RMB. It took me 1.45h to get there, hiked the wall for 4 to 5 hours and my totally thrustworthy cabdriver who waited for me at the parkinglot took me back to the hotel in 2 hours.
Wallexperience: Fabulous weather, almost touristfree, entrancefee 65 RMB, and hiking on a wall where i couldnt stop enjoying and being amazed. Walked towards Simatai and had to hike the same way back. But without a touristinvasion this was wonderfull too. It did not bother me.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This the kind of place that each time I go I see as many foreigners as locals. Quieter than badaling and more magnificent a great place for a day out. Bus 975 from Dongzhimen north bus station goes there at the week-ends. A great day out

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jinshanling Great Wall Tours-Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Jinshanling Great Wall Tours-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinshanling Great Wall Tours-Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.