We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique hotel and great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jade Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Jade Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Nanheyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 5,457 Hotels in Beijing
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cute boutique hotel and great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Jade Garden Hotel is designed with a lot of authentic Chinese character. The neatest part about the hotel is the wall of the hotel's history. Great location as well - close to the forbidden city, the famous night food market and the major modern shopping area. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms cleans. The restaurant had a skylight which was a wonderful place to eat and get your day started. Breakfast food had flavor, variety and was tasty. The spa is cheap (if paying by USD or EUROs or Pounds), their is also another spa a few doors down which is just as cheap but elegant and clean and is open until midnight. Skip the hotel bar and go explore Beijing with the locales. Overall great value for the hotel and service. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    194
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
104
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. There is internet access available via the TV. The staff spoke English and were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of Tiananmen Square, and the Forbidden City. It is close to Wanfujing Street where there are many shops and restaurants. We particularly liked the choice of restaurants in The Oriental Plaza Mall. It takes around 15 minutes to walk to the nearest subway station which connects to all the tourist attractions in Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel staff are attentive and communicate well enough in English albeit strict on my behavior that is good to upkeep the quality of the hotel. The room is well-equipped spoiled with so many TV channels and cute night light and service was prompt when I asked for a tea-spoon. The locality is superb, within walking distance to the Forbidden City Tiananmen, National Museum and Wan Fu Jin street. The streets besides the hotel are not too busy and allows easy walk and stroll. Many of which are well landscaped and feel like in a garden or a park. It easy to locate eateries around for all the Beijing foods and a Subway outlet just in front if you long for toast and bread. I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room at higher floor to overlook the Forbidden City
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We kicked off our China trip in Bejing, where we stayed at the Jade Garden for three nights.

The hotel is very well located - near to the Forbidden City, right next to Wan Fu Jin Street where a hub of shops and restaurants can be found. We spent one evening wondering along the food market, munching our way through kebab sticks, dumplings and sampling numerous deep fried treats. This hotel seems to be well known by taxi drivers, making it easy to find your way back.

The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The TV doubled as a computer from which you can access the internet. There is also wifi in the lobby, but no access in the bedrooms which we found was the norm for China. My only complaint about the bathroom is the bath tub - the lack of sloping makes it impossible to lie back and read a book - but this is a small comment and clearly would not deter me from staying here again.

The breakfast was excellent - a large variety of both chinese and western food. The restaurant is large, but crowded if you managed to hit peak time with the other guests - this hotel appears to be popular with tour groups so can get busy.

The reception staff did not speak great English, but still managed to recommend restaurants and write down instructions for taxi drivers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our China trip, and I was definitely spoiled by the breakfast - the rest of the hotels didn't quite compare. There was a wide, plentiful selection of both Western and Chinese breakfast foods - croissants, congee, dumplings, fruit, eggs, cereal, rice, steamed vegetables, etc. It's within walking distance of a couple banks and plenty of restaurants, plus a street food area and a fun market where you can see some interesting delicacies such as scorpions! :) It's also close to the Forbidden city.

Amenities were good - robes, slippers, toothbrushes, shampoo/conditioner/lotion, bottled water, blow dryer, etc- I did not feel lacking for anything. They had outlets that fit American style plugs, which was convenient. I was chilly the first night, apparently the heat could not be turned on per room and the staff brought me a space heater. Not all the staff speak English particularly well, I had to use my dictionary but I got what I needed.

We were on the fourth floor and did not always get hot water though. One morning I turned the water on, I waited and waited and the water never turned much more than lukewarm. I did have hot water the next day, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The best location - five minutes from the Forbidden City. Five minutes from Wan Fu Jin Street. Everything is most beautiful - the building, the public spaces and the room. Everything is clean and inviting. Staff is professional, very polite and helpful. Breakfast is superb.
Next time in Beijing - only in this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Between Forbidden City and Wangfujing street, this hotel is very clean, nice english spoken staff. Booked by Agoda.com. Definitely stay here again. A helpful desk can arrange tours and book air or train tickets. Exchange is possible for reasonable rates. I didn't try the restaurante, but was used by many guests. A good choice for a moderate price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jade Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Garden Hotel

Address: No.1 Nanheyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jade Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jade Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jade Garden
Jade Garden Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.