We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super yummy food in a great modernized hutong of Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Veggie table

The Veggie table
No.19A Wudaoying Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly 闲散光音咖啡馆) (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-64462073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 9,467 Restaurants in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 43 Reviews
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Suzhou, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Super yummy food in a great modernized hutong of Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This vegetarian restaurant is located in one of the few modernized hutongs of Beijing, very close to the Lama Temple.
The food is purely vegetarian, but not boring in any way at all.
One can choose from a variety of veggie burgers and pastas, as well as falafel, pizza, homemade fries and even toasted PB and J for the kids.
Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious and more than enough to fill us up.
I have been a vegetarian for many years and as such a bit picky about vegetarian foods and restaurants, but I can guarantee anyone that this one is absolutely top notch.
Very cozy atmosphere and totally suitable for families with younger kids.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great vegan restaurant with poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food was good and fresh. The flavors could have had a bit more kick to them, i.e. the hummus was good but very mild, it was lacking a bit of garlic and tahini kick.Same with the falafel...The chocolate smoothie is great and the sweet potato fries are delicious, the burgers are big and yummy! The mezze appetizer was served with bread, which is ok for tapenade but for hummus?! They should serve half bread/half pita. The mayo is free but you have to pay extra for ketchup, which I think is crazy when you get a burger and fries...
The service was AWFUL!!! It took 45 minutes for the falafel to come! Exactly 40 minutes after the first dish came. People sat down after us and got their food before we did! There were no cold drinks, though they said they came from the fridge (I guess it wasn't plugged in). the waitresses were a bit clueless, strangely eager to remove plates with a loud "EXCUSE ME!" but not so eager to actually bring what we ordered...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great place whether you're vegetarian or not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I like the Veggie Table a lot. It's a relaxed vibe, a good mix of local and ex-pats (on my last visit, it was full, and I heard Mandarin, English, Spanish and German just on the tables around me).

Don't worry if you're not a vegetarian, there is plenty to eat here. Personally I like the southwestern burger, with fries. Yeah, it's not meat, but it feels and tastes like a burger and frankly - given the quality of a lot of meat in China - I feel a bit better eating this. It certainly doesn't feel like some weirdo tofu concoction.

I live nearby so I come quite a bit, and whatever wobbles they had a year or two back with service times they seem to have fixed. It's popular, and for good reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite food in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Veggie Table has my favorite food - of course it's not traditional Chinese, but as a resident of Beijing, I often feel like I'm banging my head into a wall trying to find vegetarian AND organic (and God forbid vegan) options that aren't heavy on the texturized soy products. I can eat a meal without worrying where the food has come from. I've even seen the organic farm delivery sitting on the front porch and talked with the owner about their sources. Wonderful vibe, really sweet staff, and very very consistent tastes. Highly recommended for those who don't want to worry about oily, MSG-y, chemically sprayed with-bits-of-meat-in-it food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great cafe next to lama temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Great cafe in a hIdden hutong next to lama temple. Its an organic cafe that only services veggies. Dont worry u meat lovers will love their mashroom burger and falafel sandwitch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veggie table also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to The Veggie table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veggie table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.