We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Great Wall at Mutianyu like an insider
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at...
Ranked #1 of 1,463 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Amazing place, nice view and energy! I felt like I returned 2 thousand years ago, I really recomend this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,545
    1,679
    204
    34
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury East, South Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“One of the worlds great wonders.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Take the cable car, for a cost of 80 Chinese dollars it's worth every bit as the walk along the wall to the end (as far as the reconstructed section) is a hike and then there's the stair climb, be aware that the walk to the cable car is lined both sides with hawkers and pedlars trying to sell t shirts and junk items at inflated prices. The view from the wall was is stunning, we were there in April with the surrounding trees in blossom which added to the photos we took. So glad we walked it. The very end section is steep steps which is a climb but again worth the view. Start early as there is a crowd.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asianexpert
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The better part of teh Grat Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Compared to BaDalin, this is a much quiter part of teh Great Wall. Worth to travel the extra time (maybe 40 minutes more) and try to be there early morning. At around 9/10 am all the tour buses from Beijing arrive.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Do go to try please DO VISIT THIS ATTRACTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were truly stunned by it grandiose beauty from the travel TV until we got here It was a double surprise stunning feeling. What a great legend man-made beauty attraction of all the time. Walking along the wall just like it doesn't a ending point. Just amazing and can say this is the best place to visit in Beijing as well as China.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was the best option to see the Great Wall for our family. We loved the guard houses and the views. The cable/chair lift was helpful to get up to the wall. Two of our grandchildren were with us on this trip and they thought The Great Wall was their most favorite part of our trip to China. They could have walked on and on!
I was a little disappointed to find the restrooms to be on the unclean side for such a popular tourist sight. The tackiness of the vendors was also not what I expected, but the Wall itself made up for that.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.