We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but too crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Great Wall at Mutianyu like an insider
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at...
Ranked #1 of 1,463 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place but too crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went there on a Saturday and they had their Telecom's fundraiser (at least that's how I understood it from the guide's description, might have been people were just asked to do it?) where people climbed a large section of the wall, so it was extremely crowded. It was also very polluted with poor visibility. But the Wall is great, the views are great, and the toboggan ride down is definitely something very fun and to remember.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,540
    1,678
    203
    34
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When you get to the top you feel amazing, it makes the steep climb well worth it ! Have been twice now and cant wait to share the experience with my son in 2015.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent trip with Johnny Yellowcar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This part of the wall is excellent. We arrived early and avoided the crowds. The weather was perfect and so were the views.
It is a walk uphill even to the cable car so you have to be in fairly good shape. Carry water, sunglasses and hats for sure cause the sun beats down on you relentlessly.
There are some restaurants where you can have lunch after you return. We bought some Great Wall T- shirts here.
Our entire trip to Beijing was enhanced by Johnny Yellowcar's taxi service. He is an excellent English speaking driver and his service enhanced our entire trip in Beijing.
I highly recommend John.
He has no hesitation speaking to us about China and giving us a lot of input since this was our first trip. He even helps with the tickets, etc.
I also commend him cause he is extremely professional and helped us get fantastic guides and taxi services even in Xi'an and Shanghai.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the best travel experiences I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visiting the Great Wall Mutianyu has always been on the top of my wish list.
Challenge, pleasure, great scenery, awesome Wall structure, excitement, and more are found at this attraction site. On top of it all is the challenge to one’s physical fitness to continuously going up and down numerous types of stairs inside watchtowers and along the Great Wall which is a unique experience. I’m sure everybody would appreciate visiting this Wall. It is advisable to visit this attraction when the weather is moderate or a little bit cold as there is much walking involved.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mutianyu is better than Badaling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

On the morning of 8th Nov 2013, my godson and I went to Mutianyu. Both of us had been to Badaling before. I climbed there in April 2008 and he climbed there Oct 2013. Mutianyu is definitely by far better than Badaling, in terms of scenery and the view of the great wall rolling up and down the mountain hills. Mutianyu is well organized in terms of spreading the crowds. You can choose different routes up to the wall and down from the wall.That is probably why Mutianyu is less congested. There are altogether 24 observatories along the stretch of the great wall. We chose to climb up to number 8 and then walked up to 16 and then took the cable car down to the foot. Leaving an even more exciting root in the future : taking the cable car up to number 16 , then up to 24 then down to number 6 where we can take the toboggan ride down.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.