We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at...
Ranked #1 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Bulgaria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is one of the most ineresting attractions in China. Trip to this part of the Great Wall could be easily organised by the staff of the hotel (mine was Regent Beijing) and cost no more than a RMB 700 for a driver and a car for the whole day. Very nice views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,742
    1,543
    190
    32
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Pretty much what you'd expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you've visited tourist attractions in China, then you know to expect large crowds. The walk up to the wall is lined with touristy souvenir sellers. There's a Subway for North American visitors who like familar food outlets. Once on the wall itself, the crowd thins and if the weather is clear, the views are spectacular. The toboggan ride provides an alternative way down, which is fun as long as you're not stuck behind someone who's too cautious!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Highlight at trip to China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Snow on the ground, sunny with a bright blue day and no crowds made our visit to the wall perfect. It was one of those OMG moments when we first saw the wall and it is the highlight of our trip to China.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Private car to Mutianyu and Bird Nest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from 16 days trip to China. After spending days doing my homework from valuable input by fellows trip-advisers, we had decided on our itinerary of Beijing - Datong - Pinyao - Xian - Shanghai. We decided to do Mutianyu simply because its less crowded and after visiting many websites we decided hiring a private car as the charges is about the same as others and we have the convenience of door to door pick up. The private car we engaged came from a Chinese websites popularly used by backpackers and so the drivers speaks only minimal English. But all we needed is to drive us to the destinations and best of all, they provide service of booking train tickets Datong to Pinyao on our behalf. Driver came on time in the morning to pick us up and helped us to buy the entrance ticket to Mutianyu (there was no line at the ticket windows, just a lot of people pushing to get to the window.) When we came down, driver was already there waiting with bottled water and then proceed to our next destination. We were lucky that we had our unlocked iphone that worked well with a prepaid card there. Parking was a problem at the Bird Nest and driver had to make his rounds and we would call him when we came out to meet up with him. Overall, it was a smooth arrangement and we were pleased to have a hassle-free visit to these places (4.5 hours for Mutianyu 1.5 hours for Bird Nest) hiring private car without any shopping pit stop commonly known by those tour buses.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Autumn Crystal Clear Day at Mutianyu By Captain Rick Stewart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's who you meet on this part of the Great Wall that makes this world wonder a top world attraction. This section is so steep in parts, It reminded me of the stairs in "The Leaning Tower of Pizza", once navigated in 1982. The highlight was meeting a group from Finland at the Summit and as a New Zealander meeting northern most travelers on an ancient Redoubt viewing the spine of Mongolia and the many Watchtowers was indeed added value to the whole experience.
Helligen Gelligen as they say in Finland and we toasted our climbing prowess and marvelled at what went in to creating this bastion of a border. This section of the wall is not for the physically challenged, I suggest regular exercise prior to attempting it's 60 degree steps...best way to complete is walk up the stairs in a diagonal fashion to conserve energy and allow 2 hours to really enjoy the feeling of absorbing ancient history and you becoming a small part of it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.