We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski lift up and Toboggan down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at...
Ranked #29 of 374 Activities in Beijing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoor Activities, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ski lift up and Toboggan down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Mutianyu was great. Get there early so you can get some photos without all the other people in your photographs. I loved the toboggan ride down that was pretty awesome..loved it. 550RMB for a private car we had the use of for 8hrs...so you can miss the tourist tour and go where you like. Simon who advertises on here I recommend. great guy nice car.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,950
    1,578
    191
    32
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“must see!!! awesome. really is GREAT Wall!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went to the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall in October 2011. This was my 2nd visit to the Great Wall, the 1st time I went in Dec 2007 and visited Jiayuguan. I must say both are spectacular. if you only get one chance to see the Great Wall, then either one is fantastic, you won't be disappointed. Mutianyu is a bit nicer though, it felt less tourists, and the walk was longer. which spread out the tourists. more photo opportunities. Also, after you get off the cable car, you have the option of walking a flatter section, or a steeper one. I took the steeper one. but walked very slowly. the towers in between are interesting. From memory, the Jiayuguan one was a very steep climb up straightaway and didn't have as many towers. The 'steep" path in Mutianyu still was gradual, and it sloped up & down a bit, with a very steep bit towards later. Views are literally breath taking on either one!! I hear Badaling is the most crowded so avoid that one if you can, although I personally haven't been there. It just amazes me how people built this over 2000 years ago without machinery. just incredible. Make sure you have very comfy shoes (trainers or hiking boots) a jacket that you can easily put on/take off, and water! they do sell drinks though even cold beer!! but didn't see any toilet for like 1.5 hrs...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our visit to Mutianyu in October 2012 was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better day with clear skies. Wear comfy shoes as you will be walking a LOT! Also, bring water with you as you will need it going out to explore the wall. When we reached the top, our private guide had told us to go to the left as everyone will go to the right. He was correct and we felt like we were the only ones on the left side for at least a half hour. It was fabulous! We brought a light lunch and enjoyed a little picnic on the wall in one of the covered towers with our 2 daughter ages 7 and 9. Be sure to wear a hat and sunscreen as it was hot and sunny with no place to escape the sun except when you had walked far enough to reach a guard tower. Be forewarned at the bottom of the hill before you get to the wall or the tram that takes you up, there are lots of vendor stalls. Do not stop and look unless you really want to buy because they are persistent to make a sale. Oh, one last item, take a tripod or an X-shot telescoping pole so you can take pictures of everyone in your group and no one gets left out. It is an amazing view!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“mutianyu was interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a private guide take us there and then the airport spent 31/2 hours at the wall where the history was explained etc.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic tour, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We did the halfday tour to the Mutianyu section of the great wall during winter. There were no crowds whatsoever on the wall and our tour guide William He was excellent, very knowledgeable and was able to give us history not just of the wall but of Beijing and all of China! Highly recommend this tour anyone visiting China, seeing the great wall is a must!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.