We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Yellow Cab Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at...
Ranked #1 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 7,523 Reviews
Type: Ancient Ruins, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“John Yellow Cab Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

John is the BEST guide, driver and company in Beijing. He is reliable, courteous, adaptable, knowledgeable and fun to be with. Knows the best spots and the ways to get there. Excellent English, eager to learn more.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,748
    1,544
    190
    32
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mutianyu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

if you want see the wall in 'as original condition as possible' then you have to go to Mutianyu, avoid the other recommended sections of the wall as they are crawling with tourists, and tragically then have been completely restored the look of this incredible feat of ancient human engineering

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring-a privilage to be there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Its not for the feint hearted and you need to be in reasonable shape, to navigate the walk but what a phenominal site, it was just so so amazing to see and experience this site. It was well organised and the wall and facilities were in good condition and enabled us to live the experience and the sheer grandure what we were privilaged to be a part of.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu, philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went up twice in this amazing place.the first time, my husband and I climbed it all the way to the top. The second time we used the cable car since we were with the family..we went all the way to the right side of the wall until we came up with the closed area.still, we went farther to the "actual" wall which was not restored.the view was breathtaking!if we would come back to Beijing, I would still visit mutianyu!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

obviously the most stunning part of the wall. for this we planned almost one day... a must see during a beijing vist!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.