We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutianyu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Private Layover Tour of Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,441 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

if you want see the wall in 'as original condition as possible' then you have to go to Mutianyu, avoid the other recommended sections of the wall as they are crawling with tourists, and tragically then have been completely restored the look of this incredible feat of ancient human engineering

Visited March 2012
Thank DrLoukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring-a privilage to be there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Its not for the feint hearted and you need to be in reasonable shape, to navigate the walk but what a phenominal site, it was just so so amazing to see and experience this site. It was well organised and the wall and facilities were in good condition and enabled us to live the experience and the sheer grandure what we were privilaged to be a part of.

Visited October 2012
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu, philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went up twice in this amazing place.the first time, my husband and I climbed it all the way to the top. The second time we used the cable car since we were with the family..we went all the way to the right side of the wall until we came up with the closed area.still, we went farther to the "actual" wall which was not restored.the view was breathtaking!if we would come back to Beijing, I would still visit mutianyu!

Visited October 2012
Thank quee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

obviously the most stunning part of the wall. for this we planned almost one day... a must see during a beijing vist!!!

Visited February 2012
Thank BjoernKarmaat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Go further to get away from crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Brilliant trip. You can walk up or take the cable car. At the top there is a viewing platform which makes it easy to see both ways along the wall. We went right and at first it was busy, but keep going and the crowds soon thin out. At the end of the walkable (restored) section we were alone. Beware- if you get tired easily or finding steps hard, the steps along the wall are frequent and steep in places. There is a slide down, but it was shut due to drizzle when we went.
Worth noting- if you go with a guided trip (and it's hard not to) you WILL be taken to a silk factory even if you say you don't want to. We had to be very firm indeed.

Visited March 2012
1 Thank chaletaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing