We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not crowded but steep steps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 1,243 Attractions in Beijing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Ancient Ruins, Hiking Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
SUNNYVALE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not crowded but steep steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We decided to go walk up and down and that was quite sporty. But you are rewarded with the most wonderful views. Not crowded at all. The souvenir stalls are fun, and actually reasonably priced (which we discovered in retrospect).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,999
    1,363
    171
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Surreal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

You almost have to pinch yourself when you ascend onto the wall, it is spectacular. Take the tram ride up and the mountain slide tobagon down, it makes the wall that much more exciting. Give yourself time to leisurely walk along the wall, to appreciate the history, geography and architecture. Some sections are steep, so good practical walking shoes are helpful. Camera is essential. Its not that far from Beijing and a private guide & driver makes it an easy 1/2 day outing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not boring!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You've seen and heard a lot about the Wall on TV, in magazies, in books and comics, in all facettes...it still is worth seeing it for yourself. It's gigantic. Horizon to horizon, you see the watchtowers on hills far away in the myst. I bet if you put all the walls together to build a castle, you have hundreds of Versailles or Forbidden cities or Kremlins. And it has consequently been build along the ridge of the mountains. Stunning! Don't let the sales people annoy you, it's part of the deal. We went in Winter, maybe it's calmer than in summer ;)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Book a Guide if you're short on time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was passing through China on a 22 hour layover and found out that getting to the Great Wall was definitely doable. I got a stopover permit in the airport for free (DON'T pay for a VISA if you are just doing a 24 hour or less layover).

I booked a guide ahead of time and was so glad I did! it was a HUGE timesaver. I didn't realize how few people in China speak English (even students!). I found "Jonny" on a travel website and found his fees were the most reasonable (charged 500 Yuan for the day to pick us up, bring us to the Great Wall and drop us off at the Royal Palace). He is a great communicator via email. He self-taught himself English, so it's good enough to get you places and give you a little information, but please don't torture the guy with conversation or a bunch of questions. He's such a nice guy and just trying to make an honest living... he was perfect for what we needed! His email is jonnyzhangcn@hotmail.com

Seeing the Great Wall was amazing... have to see it to appreciate this Wonder of the World. We were there in late December and were the only ones there for a good hour which was awesome for pictures and just taking in the serenity of the area. We took the chair lift up and the tobaggan down.. definitely recommend that!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go with a private car!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having been there last week (in cold winter), I definitely recommend any traveler to go there with a private car and not try to take a collective tour or public bus in particular if you want to combine it with another site (e.g. Ming tombs).

Indeed, we went the same day to the great wall at mutianyu (north east of Beijing) and the ming tombs (dingling tomb and the sacrdd way, north west of beijing) and did not have so much extra time that day. If you go with a public bus, well you will waste a significant time in the bus and also in finding your way (very few Chinese people have an adequate level of English). If you go with an organized tour, you will likely waste some precious time in a silk / jade / craft factory (for which tour operators get either a commission if you spend a certain amount of time in their shop or a percentage on what you buy should you buy anything!).

Having said that, after a missed tentative to go to the great wall with a tour (in the car they started negotiating on how many factories we should visit and we decided to leave the car), we booked a car via the hotel for a big price (RMB900 for the day).

I can recommend the driver we used who was punctual, polite and understood an adequate level of english and with whom you can have a better price than via the hotel:

LIN YONG - email: LinYong-driver@hotmail.com - 13501055560

Visiting the great wall at Mutianyiu was definitely worth it in any case !!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.