We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make it wild” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at...
Ranked #1 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“make it wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Facing the wall from the south, go left and keep climbing past the incline of many steps, past the extent of the wall's restoration, and keep going along the wild part. That is the best!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,735
    1,540
    188
    32
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“perfect day on The Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

thrilling place to walk on even in the coldest of winter, fun to ride the chair lift up and then tobagoon down

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Impressive !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Visiting in winter has the advantage it's not so crowded. Visibility was not soo good when i was there.
If you don't like souvernir shiops the walk from de entrance to the parking lot is a challenge...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good exercise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was not crowded when we were there and we can walk and rest at our own pace. It has a very nice view too. The steps are steeper as compared to Badaling but we enjoyed this great exercise. :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“It's worth the extra distance from Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we went on a Monday, in order to avoid crowds. We had heard that some other Wall locations are over-run, and others are for intrepid hiker/climbers, so being good walkers who don't like mobs, we went to Mutianyu in mid-October and were pleased: very few people, fall colours just coming on. With the aid of a friend in Beijing, we hired a private driver to bring us back/forth from the city and were able to avoid an early start from Beijing. It was also a great means of learning about Beijing, as we picked his brain for all sorts of info. Total cost was $100 for two. We also thereby avoided having to go to a silk factory or other stop on a government-run tour, which is standard if you book through your hotel, it seemed from others' stories. The extra time was spent by me dealing with a bit of vertigo: I found one part of the wall to be much steeper than I expected and wasted about 45 minutes refusing to come back down! Suggest you consider bringing a walking stick to help reduce the pounding of the stone steps on your knees (I brought one as I was hiking several times on my trip). No need to climb up or down the wall: take the lift up and save your energy for walking along the wall. We road the sled down at the end: it was a gas, and much-appreciated laughs after my vertigo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.