We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good exercise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 1,243 Attractions in Beijing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Ancient Ruins, Hiking Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good exercise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was not crowded when we were there and we can walk and rest at our own pace. It has a very nice view too. The steps are steeper as compared to Badaling but we enjoyed this great exercise. :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,011
    1,367
    171
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's worth the extra distance from Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we went on a Monday, in order to avoid crowds. We had heard that some other Wall locations are over-run, and others are for intrepid hiker/climbers, so being good walkers who don't like mobs, we went to Mutianyu in mid-October and were pleased: very few people, fall colours just coming on. With the aid of a friend in Beijing, we hired a private driver to bring us back/forth from the city and were able to avoid an early start from Beijing. It was also a great means of learning about Beijing, as we picked his brain for all sorts of info. Total cost was $100 for two. We also thereby avoided having to go to a silk factory or other stop on a government-run tour, which is standard if you book through your hotel, it seemed from others' stories. The extra time was spent by me dealing with a bit of vertigo: I found one part of the wall to be much steeper than I expected and wasted about 45 minutes refusing to come back down! Suggest you consider bringing a walking stick to help reduce the pounding of the stone steps on your knees (I brought one as I was hiking several times on my trip). No need to climb up or down the wall: take the lift up and save your energy for walking along the wall. We road the sled down at the end: it was a gas, and much-appreciated laughs after my vertigo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Its a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the less visited section a little farther away from Beijing. Having see Badaling before, this was a very much nicer place to see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“GREAT VISIT TO GREAT WALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a driver and English speaking guide to take us to the Great Wall for the day.

It is an excellent section of the wall to walk on, part of the journey up to the actual wall is via a cable car. It certainly was a great experience to finally see the Great Wall and also walk on it. Highly recommended experience.

The journey through the countryside from Beijing was also very interesting.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good experience if a bit commercial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We'd been told that this was the 'fun' part of the Great Wall, so didn't expect something completely authentic but when we arrived it was full of people selling 'I climbed the great wall' T-shirts and other souvenirs. We then got the chairlift up, which was actually good fun, eventually taking the toboggan down. We initially turned right which was VERY steep and some sections didn't have handrails which was quite unnerving, but we made it to the end of the walkable section. There is a sign saying not to go past but a lot of people were and I really recommend that you do. The views are great, there are less people and the mountains around are stunning!
Afterwards we headed back and headed to the left section. It was almost completely flat as this was the restored part. It was nice, but not as exciting as the other side of the wall.
It is nice that you can experience the slightly more authentic side and have the option of the 'restored' side, particularly if you have mobility problems or a fear of heights.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Mutianyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.