We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run and owned by the local police force” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peixin Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peixin Hotel Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5A Peixin Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China (Chongwenmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #942 of 5,216 hotels in Beijing
beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“run and owned by the local police force”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

this is run and owned by the police force in the area. totally corrupt. check out the huge jade statue in the lobby shop. must weigh over a tonne. this has been sold and resold and resold over and over again for huge sums of money but has never left the hotel. a way to launder money. just check out all the police cars always their. used to keep their girlfriends and whatever .

but good hotel nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    33
    18
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
8
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have stayed here a number of times and have found it one of the best hotels in Beijing that I have used.
It is tucked away in a back street which makes it nice and quiet but you aren't in the center of a tourist area. That said you are only a 10 minute walk from the busy and trendy Chongwenmen area where there are shops and restaurants galore as well as metro stations. You are also only 10 minutes from the Temple of Heaven and The Pearl Market (best shopping in Beijing!). I have also found it easy to get a taxi in the side street where the hotel is located.
Right outside the hotel gate is a nice little Chinese restaurant with a good English menu
Rooms are clean and spacious; breakfast is pretty good. English language is limited!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We have stayed in four hotels in China and this was the best maintained. Staff was very friendly too. We did not find the location so bad actually. Different from other reviews we found it very close to the Temple of Heavens and not far from the Forbidden city (considering it is Beijing). Also we liked that the hotel was in a residential are with people dancing outside in the evening so we really saw how people live there. Not far away is the Carrefour supermarket.
We loved the restaurant on the corner, next to Mr. Lee. If you face Mr. Lee it is the one just on the right or the second on the right. It has not so many seats downstairs, but a lot upstairs. They serve delicious, fantastic "Fondue chinoise". You have a hot plate in your table and you can order whatever you like to cook in your soup. Staff was enourmously friendly. Maybe the restaurant is called "Phoenix Legend", but we are not sure as the card we took is all in Chinese and only these two words are in English.
The only thing we missed was a business center as we dont carry a laptop with us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

This hotel was nice enough. Booked through wotif.com and it was a mystery hotel so the price was reasonable and we were upgraded to a nicer room because they had over booked. I would recommend keeping your booking print out to show the reception. (just to show you didn't use a travel agent and what sort of room you have booked, and to show you have paid, otherwise they might ask you to pay a service fee or change your room)
The shower was either boiling or cold but the room was nice and very spacious. The staff were helpful and nice.
We struggled to get to the hotel because the taxi drivers didn't know where the hotel was, so I would recommend printing out the name, address and phone number in Chinese.
We caught the airport shuttle bus to the Railway station (13 Yuan) and then got a taxi to the hotel. (16 Yuan)

The location isn't great but if you are happy to catch a public bus or taxi it wouldn't be too bad.

They also asked for a deposit of 500yuan

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and enjoyed our stay. We were in a large room with a free internet connection available directly on the TV. The hotel staff was very friendly although their english was a bit poor.

The hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from the city center. Except that it is not really conveniant, it's not a big deal since taxi fares are really low and it is usually easy to find one.

We would definitly return it that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

I am writing this review at the Peixin - the computer in the room is an excellent bonus! I have just read the previous reviews and would like to comment that this is my 7th hotel in China and the beds are the same firm matress everywhere, so that is a non-issue. There only IS one English language TV channel - CCTV channel 9 - in China, so you can't blame the hotel for that! Yes, the hotel is a taxi ride from Tian'amin Square but the ride is 12 Yuan - les than $2 - and takes 10 minutes, which makes this hotel great value. The rooms are clean, my single has a king bed, and the room is quite spacious. The breakfast buffet is very good and great value for 20 yuan - served from 6:30 to 9:00. I had a problem with this computer and housekeeping was at my door within 5 minutes to solve the problem. The hotel is non-smoking which is a pleasant change from most hotels in China, and is listed as a "Green Hotel". I booked on-line and the price was a lot cheaper than the posted rack-rate at the hotel. I would definitely recommend the Peixin - great value for the money.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and inexpensive
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

The hotel is very near Hongquiao market and some malls. The staff are quite friendly and helpful, though some may have difficulty in speaking English. You can exchange your dollars to yuan at the front desk. Before going out, ask the front desk clerk to write in chinese characters the place where you would like to go to. The room is big enough for two people. There are no good views though, one side faces a school area and some residential areas. Overall, i think the place is wonderful and i will definitely will stay there again when i go back to Beijing.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — no free internet
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peixin Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peixin Hotel Beijing

Address: No.5A Peixin Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peixin Hotel Beijing 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Peixin Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Peixin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peixin Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.