We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baihe Vegetarian

Baihe Vegetarian
23 Caoyuan Hutong, Dongzhimennei Beixiaojie, Dongcheng District, Beijing 11000550, China
64052082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 9,382 restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Chinese, Vegan, Vegetarian
Description: http://www.theveggiebus.org/beijing.htmlhttps://www.google.com/search?q=Baihe+Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.theveggiebus.org/beijing.htmlhttps://www.google.com/search?q=Baihe+Vegetarian
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved this restaurant. I am a vegetarian, but my husband is not. However, he ordered some kind of "pork" pancake and he said if he hadn't known it was vegetarian, he would not have guessed. Food was very tasty, lots of choices, including vegetarian versions of many different meats, so a non-veg person would enjoy the food here. We loved it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    8
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little vego find - will be going again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Interesting menu - trial and error us the only way. The dumplings were 'stand out', the vanilla pancakes are great (they are not sweet!), dry stir fried shredded beef (actually mushroom) was wonderful... Wouldn't bother with the curry again (not bad but just average).

Great venue - really 'cute'.

The wait staff we're friendly but had almost zero English language.

Well worth finding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tranquility in Beijing chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Baihe is a beautiful little restaurant. You are lead through was appears to be a tea house to a quaint little restaurant. The menu is set out very well and includes colour photographs with english descriptions. Not all the staff speak english but they do try very hard to satisfy any requests. We were extremely happy with the service!

We had vegetable seaweed wraps, dumplings, spicy satay noodles and 'hamburgers'. It was all very good. Although the serving sizes are quite small which was ok for us as it meant we could try more things. My 2 year old LOVED the dumplings. He couldn't get enough.

We would definitely return here and I would recommend to any vegan/vegetarian travellers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Superb vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Baihe (Lily) is one of my favourite restaurants in Beijing. It's an elegant restful place with attentive service. A class above other vegetarian restaurants like Xi Xiang Zhai (currently number 11 on TA), Baihe is less predicable, more of an adventure. Also the best possible place to detox after too much Beijing duck.

The menu includes some unusual dishes, some of them quite expensive, but there's also a lot of reasonably priced food. Suchang 'sausage' is recommended, also crispy layered panacake with thyme. The plum tea (with crabapples) is wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stumbled across this at the insistance of a friend who had looked for veggie food for me, as I had given up. Beautiful calm ambience hidden away in a very unlikely looking alleyway. Chinese books and herbs in the entrance, and a traditional old feel to the whole place. The food was excellent though some of the descriptions might baffle a vegetarian (vegetarian pigs' intestines was a dish I couldn't bring myself to try!). However, everything we had was superb - easily beating soem five star hotel 'vegetarian' food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baihe Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baihe Vegetarian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.