We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The HuLu Hotel

Save Saved
You added The HuLu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The HuLu Hotel
No.91 Yanyue Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen/Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Convenient location. Nice coffee and breakfast. The room was comfortable. Good selection of movies available. Didn't have any issues with the WiFI and at least one of the reception staff members speaks english.

Room Tip: you can use the website or ask receiption.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at Hulu Hotel for three nights, and I was thoroughly impressed with everything: the ambiance, the service, the room, the shower. It was a great place to end my 2 weeks in China. The employees working the front desk were always cheerful and quick to assist with anything, including call me a cab for the airport.

It is worth noting that taxi drivers have a hard time finding the hotel, even when I showed them the address in Chinese characters. This is a newer hotel that is in a narrow hutong, though, so I wasn't surprised when taxis didn't know of it. You can always tell the driver to go to the Regent Hotel and walk the 200 meters to the Hulu.

For a small hotel with courteous service in a relaxing and simple environment, I highly recommend the Hulu.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Thanks to the Hulu hotel team,
the place is comfy, the Hutong is lovely, staff is nice,
it is a perfect place to stay when you visit Beijing, after heavy walking day, you can relax, and feel like home.

I'll come again to this pace when m back to Beijing, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a lovely courtyard in great location, once a arrive with the long fight, the garden is a prefectly welcoming and warm feeling with helpful staffs, they help us to arrange the trip to the great wall and good resturants around the area, and actually we walked to the food street in wongfujing and the tiananmen square, it is an interesting way to visit the center of beijing. The shower is great and bathroom is clean. And the bed is super, very good sleep.

Room Tip: every room is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in this small hotel to avoid the larger commercial chains, and we had a great experience. The hotel is clean, nicely decorated, comfortable, and private. The receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly, and spoke very good English.
Location-wise, this is a great spot. We walked to Tienanmen and Forbidden City, as well as the famous snack street. The metro is just across the closest street. The only time we had trouble was trying to flag down a taxi during rush hour.
The little alleyway, or hutong, where you can find the hotel is too small for cars to use, but the main road is nearby. We had a great time strolling through the hutongs and buying chicken skewers from street vendors.
Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, as were the comfortable beds and pillows. I've never had better in China, even in the much more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay in Beijing. Very clean, cozy beds, accommodating staff. The breakfast is very basic and the walls are a bit thin so you can hear people outside talk but i would definitely stay here again. The staff speak English and it is also walking distance to the metro station. Just make sure you ask one of the staff to give you the code to open the main door when you arrive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happy place
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the most comfortable beds and pillows I've had in a hotel! These guys do not have the mattress that creates a sinkhole everytime you lie down, which I've experienced across China. They also provide ample supply of pillows and have the longest bath towels I've encountered. Also, the only place I know that uses Sensodyne as the free toothpaste. Plus points on that, and the subtitle function on their TV!
Staff spoke good English and were very helpful. They even allowed us to check out very late.
Another bonus is the location. Apart from being a few meters walk from the main road and two subway stations, Hulu is in one of the CLEANER and better hutongs I've seen around Beijing.
Drawback though is there's no breakfast menu. They only serve continental breakfast, which was good but would like it if there were other options.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The HuLu Tea m, Owner at The HuLu Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Rose,
Thank you for choosing us,we are very pleased to tell you that we offer daily buffet breakfast now. Thank you for all your feedbacks,it really means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The HuLu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The HuLu Hotel

Address: No.91 Yanyue Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen/Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HuLu is a courtyard hotel in the middle of the old Beijing city. Just 10 mins away from The Forbidden City (by bike). The courtyard is combined with vernacular wooden houses and new modern building together. All rooms are well renovated with wooden furniture and equipped with floor heating and cooling system. The HuLu is an ideal place to experience the traditional context with modern comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and T4B so you can book your The HuLu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The HuLu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.