We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for Beijing duck fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1949 The Hidden City

1949 The Hidden City
98 Jin Bao St., Beijing, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 8,701 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Chinese, Imperial Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Branch of restaurant by the same name in Sanlitun, Beijing
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must for Beijing duck fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The dinner there was excellent - including options for the kids. The Beijing duck is clearly the highlight - don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pampered duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We could not leave Beijing without sampling the local dish so famous the world over. What an experience, with the combination of ambience, formal service and succulent duck fusing to create a memorable Peking evening.The chefs caressed each duck as it exited the oven, then it was carved and presented at the table with the flourish of a gong.
The only (tiny) flaw was the rapid service, with new dishes appearing in quick succession.
The structure of the building was enhanced by bronze warriors, great lighting and an uncrowded table arrangement.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Peking Duck - a night to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Five of us visited 1949 and enjoyed a bottle of wine prior to dinner. We then sauntered over to the restaurant, enjoying the statues and art along the way. We were delighted with the service, food, and experience we shared at this restaurant. The Peking Duck, always presented first, was a feast! Delicious, delicious, delicious. The additional plates were all fantastic as well - pepper beef, vegetables, scallops. Enjoy this restaurant. If I lived nearby, it would be a frequent visit for us!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Although a little difficult to find walking from wangfujing area hotel, it's a really nice place. We came here for the Beijing duck and weren't disappointed. I'm sure there are more local places (this feels like eating at Emeril's in Chicago) and cheaper places, but it's a very fancy and nice place. The service was fast, formal, and efficient (as always), and the food was great.

If you don't know anyone in Beijing, this is a great place to have your first Beijing duck.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Friends who live in Beijing took us to this restaurant. My review will be short. The food was excellent and the service was excellent. I can't comment on prices as our friends treated us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1949 The Hidden City also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to 1949 The Hidden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1949 The Hidden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.