We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Museum

The Palace Museum
No.4 Jingshanqian Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Forbidden City (Imperial Palace))
010-85007422, 85007421
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$195*
and up
Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with...
Ranked #14 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 5,420 Reviews
Type: Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Consisting of more than 9,000 rooms and spread over 250 acres, this huge palace complex was built in the 15th century and later extensively renovated and restored during the Qing Dynasty in the 18th century.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Such beauty. Definitely a site to see! It is so much larger than ever imagined. We went at a perfect time and there were very few people. Must see for anyone in Beijing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,998
    1,730
    572
    93
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is huge. Gives you a good overview of how self serving the dynasties were, and how paranoid. Get a guide or headphones with narration. It's so big you'll miss a lot if you don't have someone who knows what's what.
Also, we went on Monday and they close at noon or 12:30 on Mon., so we were rushed out. This takes at least 3 hours to cover.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely, But DON'T take the Motorcycle Rickshaws Near It!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were at Forbidden City in the dead heat of summer, which isn't advised since there are little opportunities for air conditioning once inside the walls. It is a lovely, impressive museum preserved of the Ming Dynasty. As non-Chinese speakers, we were not able to understand much of the displays, however, some signs were in English. We came into this site after a frightening experience riding motorcycle rickshaws. The rickshaw operators offered to take us from the North Gate down to the South Gate. To save wear on our overheated bodies, we agreed. Once the four of us were seated into two rickshaws, they stopped and divided us into four separate rickshaws due to 'weight' issues (that should have clued us in as none of us have weight issues!). Now there are four drivers, who took us into back alleys that we assumed were a short cut to the Gate. There, in the middle of the alley maze, they made us get out of the rickshaws, and demanded 300 yuan per person. This scene got quite violent. It was only after my husband got a cell phone and pretended to call the police that they grabbed the 'low' 75 yuan that he had in his hand, and quickly left us. Then, we were left on our own, and we had to find our way out of the dangerous back alley maze. Just avoid these rickshaws, regardless how respectable the driver looks. They operate in gangs in most of the tourist spots in Beijing. By the way, KNOW THIS NUMBER: 110. It's the emergency number that can save your life. (911 does not work in China, but 110 is the number to call.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Horribly crowded but you have to go...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A must sight in Beijing but very crowded and a bit repetitive in style as you walk through the grounds. We actually preferred the view we got from the park behind it (see our separate review). Queues not bad to get in, visited around midday but we were straight in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,029 reviews 1,029 reviews
497 attraction reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
1,040 helpful votes 1,040 helpful votes
“AKA The Forbidden City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Despite my extensive research before my trip, I didn't realise that the Forbidden City is actually called the Imperial palace. The building is instantly recognisable but once inside, tickets were advertised for the Imperial Palace Museum. So we did have initial doubts if we were purchasing the correct tickets. Don't worry....you are.
We first went here on a Sunday morning, fairly early. After 20 mins of pushing and shoving we decided to come back another day. I would highly advise visiting early or later on a weekday and not on the weekend.
As everyone else has mentioned the buildings are stunning, numerous courtyards, some tiny, some vast with buildings to match. You could spend hours and hours in here, taking pictures and just exploring. It's an amazing pieces of Chinese history.
The two items which could have made this a slightly better attraction, was some more history on the buildings and a map! Personally I think if would have understood the complex more if I had these items.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.