We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Vietnamese food tucked away in a Hutong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Susu

Susu
Qianliang West Alley No. 10, Beijing, China
010-84002699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 9,416 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese food tucked away in a Hutong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a great dining experience. It's a little tricky to find as it's tucked away down a Hutong alley. but you will not be disappointed. The spring rolls, curry were delicious. the setting is very peaceful and tranquil and is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Beijing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Vietnamese !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good selection of rolls and their original Pho came with a very tasty broth. Cocktails are powerful ! General dining ambience was pleasant, low noise level with chill out music piping through. What I liked was it was at the end of a hutong (red door) and looked so unassuming until you opened the door and entered into another world !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Best to make a reservation and get the telephone number to give the taxi driver, as we had difficulty finding it, but one of the staff came to the end of the lane and watched for us coming. We had a fantastic meal here, lovely setting and very good Vietnamese food the fresh spring rolls very nearly as good as I had tasted in Vietnam.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEIJING
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Vietnam food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As local residents of Beijing, we start to look for nice dinning places from TA which seems quite ironic but it really works! Save time and quite effective. We learnt SUSU from TA and my wife and I decided to have a try. Not difficult at all for us to find the place as we are both local beijingers and living here for over 40years. Although the city has a tremonderous change and still we have had advantages. The restauant is located in a couryard in a very small Hutong which could be not easy for foreigners or not locals to find. Not very big one, but nice environment. We had reservation, and seating near the wall had not any scene. It would be good to sit in the open air yard but depends on the weather.
The food is good, especially we love the spring rolls which is traditional Vietnamese food. They have a nice winelist and reasonable priced. The BAR-B-Q fish is also nice.
Susu proved to be a nice place for Vietnam food, anyway, service need a little bit improvement, as some staff not quite good at serving wines, lack of trainning we think.
Would recommand and return for next Vietnam food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth to find-refreshing Vietnamese food in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend to make reservations on the roof patio (only 3 tables) or at least outside in the courtyard. We really enjoyed the food here, prompt and well presented as well as a good selection of wines(Sardinian, my favorite, which went brilliantly with our order). Get the fresh salmon roll and fried fish cake.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susu also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Susu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.