We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to see it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Palace (Yiheyuan)

Summer Palace (Yiheyuan)
19 Xin-jian-gong-men Rd, Haidian District, Beijing 100084, China
010-62881144
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 1,238 attractions in Beijing
Type: Parks, Castles, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Gardens, Biking Trails, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Once a summer retreat for emperors, this 290-acre park is still a retreat for the crowd-weary tourist, who can relax here or stroll around ancient pavilions, mansions, temples, bridges and huge lake, stopping occasionally at a shop or tea-house.
Suzhou, China
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“You have to see it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a great morning here looking at the different areas and hardly touched the total attraction. It's a huge, huge place and you could spend days exploring. The kids enjoyed the board on the lake and we also had fun climbing up the pagoda steps with an amazing view back towards Beijing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,960
    1,703
    361
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place itself - but beware of the rickshaw drivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice place for a really long walk - up and down the hill, quite easy to get lost. Especially the Garden of Harmonious Interests - really nice and calm. If you are to chose betweek Summer Palace and Forbidden city - go for the first one. Avoid public holidays/free days.

When you leave the Palace by the Eastern Palace Gate, after a really long hours of walking in the Palace gardens, you may want to take a rickshaw to the metro station (there are many rickshaws waiting). Beware, you may be cheated very easily. When we decided to take it, we agreed the price of 5RMB (it was also shown on the front tablet of the rickshaw), but when we were leaving the driver took away the piece of tablet that was masking one "0" and wanted us to pay 50RMB instead of 5RMB. I think it is just a general rule - always have a lot of change money with you, so you don't have to leave the cheater more than agreed. We payed 10 RMB because we had no change and we left.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rent a boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visit that place every year. I like the lake there very much. if you go there do rent a boat!
If you go there, do avoid the national holiday period (Oct 1-7). would be too clowded

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, bad weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this park and think it would have been my favorite stop in Beijing had the pollution cooperated. Beautiful manmade lake and interesting history with Empress Dowager Cixi who supposedly diverted money from the navy to furnish the palace.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“weather foggy and cold but still most enjoable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

we had our own personal guide and driver.. she was very knowledgeable . she gave us a historical overview. and explained what each emperor added to the place. i am a real estate developer and love the construction and skill of the artisans. a month later the spring flowers would be out and since we had been travelling for 6 weeks in S/E asia we had been south so i coud imagine the white and pink of the blossoms.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Palace (Yiheyuan) also viewed

 

Been to Summer Palace (Yiheyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Palace (Yiheyuan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Summer Palace (Yiheyuan) to your Saves list