We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park)

Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park)
Tiantan Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100050, China
86-10-67028866
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$133*
and up
Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao...
Ranked #7 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Parks, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1420 with a total area of 270 acres, this is the largest building for religious worship in China, which was originally used by the Ming and Qing emperors to pay homage to Heaven and to pray for a year of rich harvest.
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very clean and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice place to take a stroll such a large park with a lovely temple. Lovely gardens with roses and peonys - hundreds of flowers. It was nice seeing the local people there playing cards, etc. For a Saturday afternoon, it was full of people but is such a large area that it did not seem crowded.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,257
    1,432
    348
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not heavenly, but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

'Heaven' to me conjures up images of beautiful flowers, smells, and sounds, but this temple isn't like that. Our guide explained the function of the temple which was interesting, but it wasn't what I expected.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Place to Take Your Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We planned on spending a half day, but we easily could have used a full day. There were people all over enjoying the outdoors. It was great to watch the musicians, tai chi, jugglers, badminton players, chess players, singers, etc. playing in the park. The structures in the park were very nice and we didn't go to all of them. I particularly liked the incense burners down by the sacrifice altar. Remember to ask your guide about the number 9. If I had a choice I would go here rather than the Forbidden City which was historical but very repetitive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A must see while visiting China. So much history. Lots of walking in a nice park like setting. Take your camera as many photo opportunities.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This is a Can't Miss Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a Can't Miss Attraction, But it was not part of our Gate One Tour. We had four hours before we had to go to the airport, so we went the the Temple of Heaven.
This was a great Decision. The buildings are beautiful, the gardens are wonderful.
The sacrifical altar was Unusual in that it was circular and is known as the Circular Mound Altar. One of the Buildings had lists of the animals sacrifaced during the Qing and Ming Dynasties
The Echo Wall was nice, but too many people around it made it difficult to hear the echo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park) also viewed

 

Been to Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.