We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand View Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand View Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Grand View Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 South Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100054, China (Beijing South Railway Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #424 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Adequate Accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

We stayed at Grand View Garden Hotel in Beijing as part of our 14 days group tour of China in May from Alberta, Canada. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the renovated hotel rooms had met our travel expectations: clean room, clean bathroom, hot shower, and working air conditioning. The rooms were small and the lighting was dim. Hotel staff did not have good command of spoken English, but it did not create a big problem for us. ATM machine was available in the hotel lobby.The quality of the Western and Chinese buffet breakfast was average. Grand View Garden is a Chinese style hotel located in a typical Beijing neighbourhood on Nan Cai Yuan Street. There are shops and restaurants along the street. I don't believe there are any hotels in Beijing, a city of 16 millions people, that is within walking distance to tourist attractions. Traffic conjestion is a daily reality in any major Chinese city including Beijing. Taxi fare is cheap; the most we paid for a taxi ride in China was 26 RMB, which was less than $4.00 Canadian. Behind the hotel is the famous Chinese garden, Daguanyuan, based on the Chinese classic "The Dream of the Red Mansion," and entrance fee for hotel guests is free. It was very relaxing to visit the garden in the morning watching groups of local Chinese doing their tai chi and exercise routine. This hotel is pretty good value for someone who wants to be a traveller in China. If you want to be a typical Western tourist, look for an American style hotel in Beijing.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — The room was small
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    75
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

Must have stayed in a different hotel from the last review. We were here as part of a Kuoni tour and we were delighted with this hotel. Our room had recently been refurbished and was lovely with even a drinking water tap. Very clean and comfortable and a good size The garden was fantastic - really peaceful when you think you are in the middle of Beijing. The breakfast was excellent with a bril choice of either western of chinese food

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonderborg
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 days in the start of April, 2007. The hotel is nice-looking, but have some major flaws.
First, the hotel is situated a long way from the - ANY attractions, and so therefore you will have to grab a cab, which is no problem. But in a city like Beijing with heavy traffic problems during rush hour, it will take you a long time to get just a few km away from Grand View Garden Hotel.
Don't go here if you just NEED to have an english or western-like breakfast - the one at the hotel is absolutely terrible! And VERY, VERY expensive! I believe we payed 135 RMB for the two of us for 1 meal...! The food was cold, and probably not made today - only a few hundred metres north of the hotel is a little 'shop', selling some kind of pancake (chinese fastfood) out the window, which is very good. 2 RMB...
Furthermore, we weren't lucky with our room, which had a GRAND view to a giant satellite dish - and the tone in the windows made the room where dark, I guess we would just have loved to wake up with the sun in our eyes. On the other hand, the bathroom was fine, fine and there was always hot water available for making your own tea.
At last, the receptionists were indeed not very good at their job; not very helpful, not very good at english or worldwide finger alphabet, and, some of them, rather arrogant.
We never got to try the hotels swimmingpool.
Our advice: Do not choose this hotel if you're in Beijing on a tourists holiday, but it might be okay if you're there on business - still you will have to order breakfast from outside, though...

  • Liked — Good beds...
  • Disliked — Bad location!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yank in Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

I was not impressed. A big difference from the BP International in Hong Kong. Front desk female was combative and rude to our travel agent; very few of the employees seemed happy to work there. Saw a couple of employee arguments during our stay.

We arrived with 3 rooms, 2 of which smelled of smoke and mildew. We asked to be moved; got a promise that they would fix the smell, and sent a guy to spray the Chinese version of glade air freshener.

We asked to have at least two of the rooms close together (for our kids to stay), and were told that they could not do this. So, our rooms were 1208, 1223, and 1265. Thanks.

The meals were not good. There's a few different resturants; but they open up at least 2 for breakfast. I found the meals to be poor - the danishes were at least 2 days old; very stale. Juice despensers were leaky...all of it was unappetizing.

We ate dinner once...and that was enough. For $20 bucks a head, we were treated to a buffet that included flat warm beer, cold egg drop soup, and other un-appetizing dishes. All while the help scowled at us and informed us that they were going to close so we'd better hurry up.

They do have a shop with a tailor and some food and trinkets. We never tried the pool based on the condition of the resturant and rooms - my guess is that it wasn't very clean but we didn't have the time to find out. The one helpful person was the female night manager - helped us out with shopping locations.

All in all, a poor location (takes about 30 minutes more to get anywhere since its south of the city), unclean hotel with unhappy staff. We would have moved out but our schedule was too busy to deal with the hassel.

  • Liked — Cheap price
  • Disliked — Cleaniless
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nighs hotel as part of a tour. We were happy with this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. And the garden was very relaxing which is hard to do in Beijing. The hotel has a definite Chinese feel so if you are looking for Hilton or Sheraton, keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

The hotel is not a surprise to us after reading all the reviews. We found it clean although there is a type of odor in the bathroom which we found not very pleasant. As one poster says, the room has a minimum of bedding/sheets; we found it a bit too hot with only the duvet available as blanket.

The shower in the bathroom is comletely pathetic - with water just triggled down!

Another thing that pissed us off is - our room was in the non-smoking floor (since we specifically asked for it), and yet a neighboring room had a guest smoking openly with his door wide open - so that the stinky smoke spilled all into the hallway. we figured we would not have got any results if we did complain, so we did not.

What we found quite unique is the garden and the classical story behind it. It would have been much beautiful had we been there say, a month earlier. We were surprised to find that the Grand View garden is also rated as one of the top 40 tourist site in China.

We do not mind going back (since the price is right) - except that we would check the shower first before accepting the room.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

The hotel is located south-west of the Forbidden Palace and on the 3rd inner ring road. Locatioins to most tourist attractions are within 10-30 minutes away by mini-buses (private).

The facilities and staff friendliness is a very welcoming experience. Cleanliness is above average. Although the staffs don't speak fluent English (we know they are trying very hard), their warmth and smily faces is enough to tell what they're trying to say, although not all the time when you need a translator.

I would go back to this place again in near future. I have not regretted living here as it has offered me a memorable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand View Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Garden Hotel

Address: No.88 South Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100054, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#395 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand View Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Grand View Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Garden Beijing
Hotel Grand View Garden
Grand View Garden Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand View Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.