We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean hotel with a good range of facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand View Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand View Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Grand View Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 South Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100054, China (Beijing South Railway Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #427 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A clean hotel with a good range of facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. Our room was clean, comfortable and well-provided with the expected facilities. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of foods for every taste. Staff were helpful and polite. There is a large park at the rear which was pleasant to walk around in the late afternoon or early morning.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    75
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Breda, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights while taking an organized tour in China. Not a hotel I would choose myself.

It probably was a luxery hotel in the 80's but it is now behind on renovation. Although everything you expect from a 4 or 5 star hotel is here, it is looking a bit old and outdated.

Minibar was completely empty and after asking it was filled. The room was very difficult to find. The hotel looks like a big mase.

Breakfast was horrible. Alhough it states that they serve continental and American breakfast, this is not something I would pay for myself.

The staff in the hotel bar was not nice and not like seen in other places in China. Drinks were overpriced for Chinese hotel average.

Breakfast bread tastes like it has no salt, orange juice is water with a flavour, you need to find your croissant with a magnifying glass, and the breakfast area is not big enough to accommodate that many tourists that need to eat their breakfast at the same time.

Their are some chinese restaurants, a KFC, a big chinese supermarket and a pharmacy in the neighbourhood. But apart from that this is a boring place. None of Beiings tourist locations are nearby. So unless you like a boring place or are only here to sleep, skip this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glostrup, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

This hotel is situated in the south western part of Beijing; far from everything. Contrary to many other hotels in China, this hotel has been built with very few floors, but very many rooms on each floor. It can be a bit hard to memorize the route to and from your room the first night or two.

The room I had (2157) was large, but looked a bit "worn" - especially in the bathroom. Although the bath was clean and tidy, there was the odd brown spots here and there. The room was quiet. Very little outside noise from other guests.

The hotel service was good and efficient, and the breakfast restaurant had a great selection of various kinds of food and drink, that should cater for most tastes. Even cold milk was available.

The bar and the small hotel shop catered for most needs, when in the hotel. The hotel has ATM for Visa and MasterCard and others. Lobby is large. Internet was not tested. As in most chinese hotels, you can use both european and australasia connectors for 220V 50 Hz.

Even if you're not looking for "nightly excitement", the hotel is boring. Good quality boredom, alas...

If you're looking for a hotel room only needed for sleeping, this is as good as any. Otherwise pick something else. Here you're not even taking a nightly stroll outside. There's "nothing" in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

When i arrived and went to my room i was horrified! The smell of the room was horrible, we had the kitchens right below us, all of the furniture in the room i.e. the tables and chairs were on top of the bed, there was chewing gum stuck on the bathroom side, the window was so dirty you could hardly see out of it, and the view that i had was a huge satelite dish that covered the whole window, not so grand! I went straight down to reception and asked to be moved, and we were within an hour, the next room was ok, smelt a lot fresher and was overall a lot nicer. The breakfast was ok, apart from if you go down at a busy time you have to sit on a large round table and share with other people, didn't like that so much, and this hotel is every much out of the way, i felt like i was the only english person in beijing when i went for a walk down the road to the supermarket. Would rush back in a hurry!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
1,003 helpful votes 1,003 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

I spent 5 weeks at this hotel. While the room rate is more than acceptable at less than RMB 400 its location leaves much to be desired. You will have to take a taxi to go anywhere. And there is very little of interest in the nearby streets. There are more local people than foreign tourists staying at this hotel. The foreigners are mostly people travelling in groups.

There is little as far as entertainment in the hotel except for the ubiquitous bowling alley. It was often deserted and I usually played by myself. At least the hotel was very quiet.

And beware that the staff does not speak English. This hotel might not be ideal for tourists.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

Stayed 7 days here while touring Beijing. Rooms were small, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very accomidating. Laundry was quick and cheap. The hotel has a bit of a tradional flair, which I liked. It may be a little out of the way, but I preferred that as well. Anyway, a taxi is cheap, and we spent most of our time getting around that way. The breakfast buffet was convenient but average, but at least they had good coffee. Had dinner only once in the hotel, and it was also average and relatively expensive. There are too many places to explore and eat than to eat in the hotel anyway. There was a small grungy cafe just down the street that had great food. They will throw live shrimp in your face before they cook them so be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in June. The hotel has a choice of 3 restaurants which are expectedly more pricey but affordable than say restaurants outside. In the basements there are a disco, snooker table and bowling alley which I believe are free for staying guest.

Rooms are adequate and comfortable and there is a safe in the room which is not firmly attached to the wall - so beware !!

Within the hotel there is an access to garden which is amazingly beautiful but door from the hotel closes around 3pm. Non staying guests will only have access through the main gate of the garden which you have to pay entrance fee.

Location of the hotel is on a side street with not much to see, apart from 1 or two restaurants. Its very old and dusty and not much to do unless you take a taxi.

Hotel itself is ok but I would not recommend this hotel based on location( although the hotel is quite popular for holding special events). At the time we were there, there was a special conference for the China Olympics.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand View Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Garden Hotel

Address: No.88 South Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100054, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#397 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand View Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Grand View Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Garden Beijing
Hotel Grand View Garden
Grand View Garden Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand View Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.